We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful evening”
Review of Buddakan

Buddakan
Reserve with OpenTable
Buddakan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #71 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A,C,E to 14th Street. L to 8th Ave.
Description: The surreal atmosphere of this awe-inspiring restaurant in the Meatpacking district of Manhattan combines the serenity of Asia with the flamboyance of 16th century Paris. The menu features fanciful interpretations of Chinese dishes and delights even the most discriminating palates.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Just loved this place ! In NY for long-weekend ambience was fantastic and food fabulous ! Reasonable prices for us London girls for Chelsea venue will definitely return

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dozadavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,762
    1,148
    341
    104
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just wonderful”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I booked a table at Buddakan for my boyfriend's birthday, and it lived up to all expectations. The place is funky, the cocktails are delicious and the food is to die for. The portions are a healthy size (what else would you expect in America!) and the dumplings are the best I have ever tasted. We absolutely love it. GREAT PLACE.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beepb0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Feast for the Senses”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I dined at Buddakan on January 29, my first visit to the classy, upscale but not overpriced NYC restaurant. The decor was simply amazing, architecturally very interesting. The lighting was superb. Our dinner consisted of several courses, all shared within our group including a filet that practically melted in my mouth. The entire meal was a wonderful culinary and artistic experience. Celebs were sighted which made the evening ever more fun. This restaurant is definitely a must on my next trip to New York.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teachertype22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syosset, New York
Level Contributor
304 reviews
218 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“expensive for good food”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

The food was very good but not exceptional. I dont believe it was worth the price. It popularity allows it to charge more. The deserts were the best part of the meal. Dont get me wrong the food was very good but it did not blow my socks off.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stentdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Must Go!!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

A group of 7 girls went here for dinner on valentines night and it was an amazing experience. The food, the atmosphere, the staff - everything was great!! If you go to NYC Buddakan should be top of your list for an outstanding dinner!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Buddakan also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Buddakan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing