We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, ordinary ambience”
Review of A Voce

A Voce
Ranked #2,527 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Flatiron District
Cross street: 26th Street
Description: The word is out: Marlon Abela, the restaurateur behind London's Michelin one-star with two-stars rising Greenhouse, has opened a new modern Italian restaurant A Voce ("word of mouth") on the edge of chic Madison Square Park. The emphasis is on grown-up, deeply delicious Italian cookery set against a back drop of Italian style and organic East Coast elements.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great food, ordinary ambience”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Had dinner here during a trip to NYC with family. Food was very good. Ambience was nothing special. Nice views of Central Park.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelaussiefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    72
    37
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have a real fondness for Italian food, and this upscale Manhattan restaurant is excellent in all respects. The service is attentive w/o being intrusive and very responsive to each and every request. We enjoyed a number of delicious pasta entrees, but the highlight was the roast suckling pig. Tender, delicious and served nicely.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good food with a nice view!”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We made reservations as it was our anniversary and were given an excellent table. We did come early though (for dinner) as we had symphony tickets. The food was very good and we were not disappointed, the wine list was decent but the cocktails were very nice. At the start of the meal we had attentive and courteous waitstaff but somehow during the meal our waiter left to attend to another table and another waiter took over....they also got busier so there a little of a lack luster ending. We had to wait for our last two courses and the check.

The price was slightly better than we expected though and the food is presented well with wonderful flavors so definitely worth a trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 007Damselfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Splendid Night Out”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a splendid restaurant for a special night out. Great service and food, could make a special romantic evening. Most importantly, the atmosphere is lively, but not loud, so you can have that special conversation.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdehaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
220 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The menu needs some interpretation. It's hard to figure out what the main dishes are and which ones are good for sharing. Service was good but could be better if they focused on providing a bit more personal attention...but then again this is New York and that is sometimes a lost art in the East Coast. The food was very good and it was fun to try some different flavors infused together.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gecco2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Voce also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to A Voce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing