We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, noisy restaurant ”
Review of Cafe d'Alsace

Cafe d'Alsace
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 7/16
8:00 PM
OR
Ranked #817 of 16,387 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Yorkville
Cross street: 88th Street
Description: With Cafe D'Alsace, Tour De France NYC bring their expertise in Alsatian cuisine to the UES. Chef Philippe Roussel interprets the cuisine with a contemporary New York flair. Cafe D'Alsace has one of the city's most distinguished beer selections - including a beer sommelier to assist you in selecting the perfect choice.
Reviewed April 8, 2019 via mobile

Ate here for lunch on a Wednesday, lots of business people were here during their lunch hour & the restaurant was busy. One person in our group was in a wheelchair and restaurant staff was unsure how to make accommodations. After suggesting to the hostess which table would work out best for the wheelchair, we were seated within 10 minutes and ordered. Service was friendly and quick. The menu selections were delicious. We tried the eggs benedict, the grilled hangar steak salad, roasted chicken salad, burger and grilled chicken club sandwich. Portions were large. The popover muffins served before lunch were buttery & delicious! We definitely would go back to try other menu items.

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank pomcentral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 331 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2019 via mobile

The food here was fine. And the prices match what you would expect. They had a few interesting dishes, and I would try this again.

Date of visit: April 2019
Thank eddieNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2019

when it is cold out, nothing beats a great choucroute or sauerkraut, I have been looking for it for years and I finally found it at Cafe d'Alsace
It is delicious, the sauerkraut is perfect and the meats are plenty and tasty
Am going back again

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zoe646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2019

Ever since Sandrines in Harvard Sq. closed, we have been looking for another good Alsatian restaurant. I think we found it, although it is in NYC not Boston. We dined here recently for the first time on a cold damp Sun. night. The service was friendly and efficient. The food was all very good. Portions were just about right and the pricing fair for what was served. Steak frite, Scallops, Venison sausage. Creme Brulee for desserts.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019 via mobile

Decided to try someplace new to have lunch with my mom. Cafe D'Alsace was definitely worth the visit. For appetizers we had pleasant sausage w sauerkraut and cream of celery soup. Soup was the right level of creaminess and perfect for a cold February day. Sausage was well-seasoned and properly tasting of pheasant; the sauerkraut was a great balance.

For entrees we had the squash and wild-mushroom risotto and the steak frites. Risotto was a touch overdone but still rather flavorful (and only overdone if you enjoy a proper risotto that would not stay standing after removing a ring mold, say). Steak was an incredibly tender, extremely flavorful piece of beef; frites were crispy and just salty enough; the bone marrow was an excellent accompaniment.

Would definitely return for another meal to try other dishes.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Hansen_0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe d'Alsace also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cafe d'Alsace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing