We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
johnicester
Decent cheap hotel NYC
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 25, 2019
I had to visit for an early appointment so...
Its about $100 a night-double
Its on 15 st. East side
The TV has about 6 or 7 channels
The internet is glacial
The bed is ridiculously short
It would be ok except for these drawbacks
A place to sleep,if not tall,and that's all.
Apparently it was for seaman off ships and we all know what sailors are used to.
Nuff said
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Traveled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
0.7 miles from Seafarers International House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Premium King
1.4 miles from Seafarers International House
Free Wifi
Pool
Park Central Times Square view Two Queen room
2.1 miles from Seafarers International House
Room service
Fitness center
1.8 miles from Seafarers International House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.2 miles from Seafarers International House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
1.4 miles from Seafarers International House
Free Wifi
Fitness center
Exterior
1.4 miles from Seafarers International House
Free Wifi
Fitness center
Arlo SoHo Lobby and public space.
1.2 miles from Seafarers International House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
0.6 miles from Seafarers International House
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in New York City
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveler rating
92
133
65
23
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
92
133
65
23
13
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 326 reviews
Reviewed May 16, 2019 via mobile

Its ok for a week-stay. Don’t expect too much. Great location and price. Restaurantes and shops in the neighbourhood. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The employees were nice too. Good stay.

Date of stay: May 2019
1  Thank veronikaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mdrege, General Manager at Seafarers International House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hello Tour761149,

Thank you for your positive feedback about our great location and pricing! We are happy to hear how clean and comfortable your stay was and we hope our nice employees get to see you return back with us in the future. Please reach out to us directly to tell us more about your stay and how we can better our experience for future stays and future guests!

Grace and Peace,

Lucas
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2019

I would advise anyone considering staying there to think twice. This place is infested with bed bugs and despite the fact that the manager told us they have an exterminator visiting regularly, the problem is far from being solved. We had several bed bug nests on the sides of one of our beds, really hard to miss and I don't understand how cleaners haven't noticed and got rid of that bed immediately. The presence of adult stages, eggs and larvae indicates that the bed bugs have been living on that bed for weeks if not months.
While investigating the beds we also found that the floor was pretty dusty and full of hair which makes me think that cleaning is not even a priority there. Now you know...

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JulienM1725
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mdrege, General Manager at Seafarers International House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Hello JulienM1725,

Thank you for expressing your concerns for your stay at our hotel. We work with exterminators as do most hotels throughout the hospitality industry of New York. We have preventative visits and do our best to keep the building to meet our guests standards. We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations and will sit with our management team to follow up and continually work to improve our service.

Grace and Peace,

Lucas
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019

This hotel made our trip to New York quite miserable. The room we were at (1106) was infested with bed bugs. It was not just a single bed bug, but multiple nests of bed bugs at different stages of development in one of the mattresses that are evidence of long-term infestation. Luckily, I was travelling with an entomologist that quickly identified the plague and took photos and videos of the infestation to document the whole thing. We are in the process of sharing this with the hotel management.

As soon as we noticed the infestation we immediately left the room and contacted the staff. The staff was apologetic but seemed surprisingly unphased by the situation. They offered to change the room but at that point, we were too concerned that the infestation was widespread so we decided to leave. We were then left at 1 am, homeless in search for a hotel with a vacant room in Manhattan. This ended up costing us substantially more since it was a last minute search

Despite leaving our contacts in the hotel we were the ones that had to call the manager the next day. The manager was indeed apologetic and agreed to refund our stay but refused to pay the difference in price for the new hotel.

We also found out that they are aware of the issue and have an exterminator that goes there twice a month. Looking through the reviews of Seafarers International House here and in other places it is clear that we are not the only people complaining about this issue.

How is Seafarers & International House allowed to operate a hotel and rent rooms with a known public health issue is beyond our comprehension. Bed bugs are a serious issue that will make your life miserable if you carry them with you to your house. Because of this, my only recommendation is to avoid this hotel at all costs.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
3  Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mdrege, General Manager at Seafarers International House, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2019

Dear Joel A,

Thank you staying with us at Seafarers. Your stay helps support Merchant Marines, Asylum Seekers, and those on the way. Thank you for expressing your concerns for your stay at our hotel. We work with exterminators as do most hotels throughout the hospitality industry of New York. We have preventative visits and do our best to keep the building to meet our guests standards. After speaking with you, we moved your room, sent laundry through our services and refunded your stay. We will continue to work to improve.

Lucas
Director of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2019

Stayed for 4 days on a recent trip to NYC, hotel is basic but clean and tidy you get what you pay for. They dont provide daily housekeeping and only provide shampoo and no shower gel?

I would stay again I think but would check out pricing at full service hotels. The reception is ok but not wonderful.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OutdoorAdventures_70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 4, 2019

I stayed there three times in different years, since I like its location and price was good. My last visit left me with terrible bed bugs bites. I found one of the insects, so no case of mistaken identity. The staff did not seem very surprised and did not show much empathy, their only reaction was that they will bring an exterminator (too late for me, since I was leaving).

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gabriel_9698
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mdrege, General Manager at Seafarers International House, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2019

Dear Gabriel,

Thank you for staying with us continually throughout the past few years! This is the first we have heard of this incident. We take the cleanliness and safety of our guests very seriously. We have an exterminator come every two weeks to ensure that we are clear. I urge you to contact us directly so that we may further investigate this incident.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews