We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very Good for the Price! EXCELLENT VALUE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seafarers & International House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seafarers & International House
Ranked #369 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Gardena, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Good for the Price! EXCELLENT VALUE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

There are many nicer places to stay in NY, but none close to the price here. the value is GREAT and the location is GREAT. The place is clean but sparse and being NY it is not the quietest place, but I don't think its the Seafarers issue, I think NY is in general a little noisy.
The location is great! Subway nearby (hub-so you can catch many subways), Panera bread, Starbucks, Trader Joes, grocery store, Walgreens, Five Napkin burgers, are all a couple blocks away. the lobby is nice and you can get a cup of coffee for a quarter. The chapel inside is really nice also if you need some quiet time. The room looks and feels like a dormitory-plain, plain, plain. In our double we had a refrigerator and a small tv. The bottom line is great value and I would stay here again because I usually don't spend that much time in the room and the bed was comfortable enough that I had no problems sleeping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    88
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
33
53
55
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here early June. Very comfortable and clean basic accommodation in a great area. Basic but all I needed. I felt like I was in school camp.. ywca or some such. Union Square close by with wonderful market on Friday and Saturdays. All in all a great place at very reasonable rates. Good decaf coffee in lobby and comfy beds.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank acushla54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is in a great area. It makes getting to NYC for a weekend really affordable. Sure, it's not luxurious like other hotels in Manhattan. However, it's safe, it's clean, it's cheap, and it's in a fabulous area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I love this little place. Every time we visit NY we stay here. The price is so cheap and the facility is impeccably clean. Even the shared bathrooms are clean. I am so grateful to have found this wonderful sanctuary in the city.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Returning to Seafarers nothing much has changed except the reception desk has moved and the mezzanine has been updated. There is also a workable WiFi in the lobby and a couple of computers if you need to pick up Emails or print your boarding cards. The rooms are very basic but kept clean. The elevator is slow and busy in the morning, but never let me down. Buy a dough nut on the street and the 25 c coffee in the lobby for a quick breakfast or get the New York Times and sit down for a full breakfast at one of many eating places in the area.
This is a bargain place in the interesting Union square area, but not for you looking for luxury. Good enough for me and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors, less street noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peaks Island, Maine
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We wanted an inexpensive place to stay close to East 20th Street -- and the Seafarers & International House was perfect. Our double room with shared bath cost only $108, and because the hotel is a non-profit there were no taxes added on.

Positives: Everything was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The neighborhood (close to Union Square) is great. And the price -- certainly a deal.

Considerations: The second bed was a rollaway, but still perfectly comfortable. It's not a full-service place, and there's no breakfast. But you'll find breakfast at any price point within a block or two. And, while clean, it's not especially charming. None of these detracted from our experience.

Room Tip: Note: There was some outside noise from night life on 15th Street. That didn't bother me at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ArthurFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

For a safe and affordable place to stay in NYC nothing beats it. And the location is superb. The rooms are spartan. But if you plan on not spending your vacation in your hotel room then this is the place for you!!
There are no taxes because it is run by a nonprofit. You can save money and feel good about it!! Recommend a room on a higher level to lessen street noise. Elevators are slow, fine for going up but best to just walk down if you are able.

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#261 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,258 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#309 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#376 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,415 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#422 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#421 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafarers & International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarers & International House

Property: Seafarers & International House
Address: 123 E 15th St, New York City, NY 10003-3594
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Seafarers & International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarers And International House
Seafarers & International House Hotel New York City
Seafarers International Hotel
Hotel Seafarers International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing