We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good for the Price! EXCELLENT VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seafarers & International House
Ranked #367 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 26, 2014

There are many nicer places to stay in NY, but none close to the price here. the value is GREAT and the location is GREAT. The place is clean but sparse and being NY it is not the quietest place, but I don't think its the Seafarers issue, I think NY is in general a little noisy.
The location is great! Subway nearby (hub-so you can catch many subways), Panera bread, Starbucks, Trader Joes, grocery store, Walgreens, Five Napkin burgers, are all a couple blocks away. the lobby is nice and you can get a cup of coffee for a quarter. The chapel inside is really nice also if you need some quiet time. The room looks and feels like a dormitory-plain, plain, plain. In our double we had a refrigerator and a small tv. The bottom line is great value and I would stay here again because I usually don't spend that much time in the room and the bed was comfortable enough that I had no problems sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank G K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

92 - 98 of 257 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here early June. Very comfortable and clean basic accommodation in a great area. Basic but all I needed. I felt like I was in school camp.. ywca or some such. Union Square close by with wonderful market on Friday and Saturdays. All in all a great place at very reasonable rates. Good decaf coffee in lobby and comfy beds.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank acushla54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This hotel is in a great area. It makes getting to NYC for a weekend really affordable. Sure, it's not luxurious like other hotels in Manhattan. However, it's safe, it's clean, it's cheap, and it's in a fabulous area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Robby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

My wife and I love this little place. Every time we visit NY we stay here. The price is so cheap and the facility is impeccably clean. Even the shared bathrooms are clean. I am so grateful to have found this wonderful sanctuary in the city.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Chrisdelo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Returning to Seafarers nothing much has changed except the reception desk has moved and the mezzanine has been updated. There is also a workable WiFi in the lobby and a couple of computers if you need to pick up Emails or print your boarding cards. The rooms are very basic but kept clean. The elevator is slow and busy in the morning, but never let me down. Buy a dough nut on the street and the 25 c coffee in the lobby for a quick breakfast or get the New York Times and sit down for a full breakfast at one of many eating places in the area.
This is a bargain place in the interesting Union square area, but not for you looking for luxury. Good enough for me and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Higher floors, less street noice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Henrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We wanted an inexpensive place to stay close to East 20th Street -- and the Seafarers & International House was perfect. Our double room with shared bath cost only $108, and because the hotel is a non-profit there were no taxes added on.

Positives: Everything was spotlessly clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. The neighborhood (close to Union Square) is great. And the price -- certainly a deal.

Considerations: The second bed was a rollaway, but still perfectly comfortable. It's not a full-service place, and there's no breakfast. But you'll find breakfast at any price point within a block or two. And, while clean, it's not especially charming. None of these detracted from our experience.

Room Tip: Note: There was some outside noise from night life on 15th Street. That didn't bother me at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ArthurFink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

For a safe and affordable place to stay in NYC nothing beats it. And the location is superb. The rooms are spartan. But if you plan on not spending your vacation in your hotel room then this is the place for you!!
There are no taxes because it is run by a nonprofit. You can save money and feel good about it!! Recommend a room on a higher level to lessen street noise. Elevators are slow, fine for going up but best to just walk down if you are able.

Stayed: July 2013
5  Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#442 of 469 in New York City
856 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#293 of 469 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#318 of 469 in New York City
1,568 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#381 of 469 in New York City
731 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#406 of 469 in New York City
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafarers & International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarers & International House

Address: 123 E 15th St, New York City, NY 10003-3594
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $94 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Seafarers & International House 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seafarers & International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarers & International House Hotel New York City
Seafarers And International House
Seafarers International Hotel
Hotel Seafarers International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing