We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Sparkling clean, quiet, perfect location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seafarers & International House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seafarers & International House
Ranked #365 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Sparkling clean, quiet, perfect location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Friendly staff, quiet serene atmosphere, clean rooms and bathrooms, adequately comfortable beds with newly laundered linens, what more could you ask for? Perfectly located near grocery stores, Subways and Starbucks and Panera. We stayed from Fri-Sunday and they kept our luggage for us until we were done exploring the city. We will be back!

Room Tip: Get the rooms on the upper floors with the private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank pacurn25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    99
    39
    13
    8
See reviews for
37
59
67
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here in 2009 but just going back retrospectively and reviewing places i have visited. For new york, manhattan island, this hotel offers excellent value. Great location, quiet room, comfortable bed and and good strong shower pressure. For the price i cannot think you will find better value in NYC

Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank bardrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Level Contributor
297 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here more times than we can count. That said, however, this time both the female (can't mention names), as well as the male attendant at the desk were brusque and downright unfriendly. Both, during our stay, made rude comments to us, and we left because of this. We felt as though we were nearly 'family' by now (so many visits), but weren't treated kindly. Perhaps these two have worked here too long? For being a Christian organization, we weren't treated accordingly. Sorry...thought we'd never say that, but those are the facts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank IAmEve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdrege, Manager at Seafarers & International House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I have contacted this reviewer and assured him or her that we at Seafarers and International House continue always to make our front desk experience more pleasant for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
304 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 362 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

Location: 2 short blocks (5 min walk) from the 14th and Union Square station which has multiple MTA lines (L,N,Q,R,4,5,6). Near Walgreens, Food Emporium Supermarket, Whole Foods, and Union Square.

Hotel: 11 floors (higher up equals less street noise). Simple lobby with free WiFi. Free baggage check. 25 cent coffee. Friendly staff. 24 hour front desk security. 2 slow elevators. Mostly adult guests, no partying college students. Quiet and modest.

Rooms: 10 rooms per floor. 2 toilets and 2 showers. Never a line for the bathroom. Rooms include A/C and radiator. All rooms have twin beds. Small flat screen cable TV and phone. Some double rooms have private bathrooms and a mini fridge. Bare essentials. No shampoo or conditioner. Includes soap and towels. bring your shower slippers. Beds have soft mattresses. Carpet is worn. It's simple living. Room sizes are pretty good by NYC standards. Housekeeping makes your bed and change your towels, but does not change your sheets. No bedbugs.

Costs: As of Dec 2012---Single w/ shared bathroom $106 (sun-thurs). Single w/ shared bathroom $109 (fri-sat). Double w/ private bathroom $136 (sun-thurs). Double w/ private bathroom (fri-sat) $145. Double rooms have 2 twin beds. Check in at 3pm, check out at 11am. Need to call or email for availability and reservations. No online booking. No tax! It's a Lutheran church-sponsored guest house, so room prices are not taxed. (Otherwise the tax rate for hotels is about 15%)

I would definitely stay here again. You cannot find a better deal for a low-budget hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for several nights before leaving for Turkey. The room was simple and very clean and comfortable.
It couldn't be more convenient and we were happy that we were in a lutheran establishment because we forgot to remove our room key from the door!
Obviously the good Lord was watching over us!
.25 coffee is to good to be true and the front desk attendant was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tishusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2012

The seafarers really is a great place to stay inexpensively in NYC. It was my second time around, and I still would come back.

Good:
- Price!
- Great location right at Union Square.
- Rooms are clean and have okay views out of the windows.
- facilities are all clean
- coffee (25 cent) in the lobby
- helpful staff
- couldn't find any evidence or reports of bed bugs

Average:
- Rooms and house certainly aren't the most beautiful you have ever seen. Not a place to hang around a lot, but a good base for tourists who are much in town either way.

Room Tip: The higher the more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you need a clean, secure place to lay your head for under $100 in downtown Manhattan, this is it. For that price, you get a humble lodging - a room with a singe bed, a desk, a tv and a sink, with a shared toilet and shower in the hall, brilliantly located right off Union Square. That was all I needed (except the tv) - and with a little imagination and all of Manhattan waiting outside, who needs more, really? They have wifi and computers for use on the mezzanine, free coffee in the lobby, laundry and vending machines in the basement. Note that visitors are not allowed above the lobby level. No extra charges, taxes or hidden fees, although donations are welcome.

This outfit is run as a nonprofit hospitality ministry by Lutherans, but they welcome anyone and are very pleasant and not at all pushy about the religious mission. Services are held in the ground-floor chapel at 11am, if you are so inclined. The front desk staff are pleasant but not obsequious, and they are flexible about holding luggage before check-in (3pm) or check-out (11 am) times.

No food is served on the premises, but Joe Junior's was the staff recommendation for breakfast -- a most excellent and inexpensive short-order dive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BetsyPlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#320 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#229 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#259 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#385 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#431 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#423 of 464 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafarers & International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarers & International House

Property: Seafarers & International House
Address: 123 E 15th St, New York City, NY 10003-3594
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Seafarers & International House 2*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seafarers & International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarers & International House Hotel New York City
Seafarers And International House
Seafarers International Hotel
Hotel Seafarers International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing