We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“After Many Stays, This Time We Were Met With Unfriendly Staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Seafarers & International House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Seafarers & International House
Ranked #371 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“After Many Stays, This Time We Were Met With Unfriendly Staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here more times than we can count. That said, however, this time both the female (can't mention names), as well as the male attendant at the desk were brusque and downright unfriendly. Both, during our stay, made rude comments to us, and we left because of this. We felt as though we were nearly 'family' by now (so many visits), but weren't treated kindly. Perhaps these two have worked here too long? For being a Christian organization, we weren't treated accordingly. Sorry...thought we'd never say that, but those are the facts.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank IAmEve7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mdrege, Manager at Seafarers & International House, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
I have contacted this reviewer and assured him or her that we at Seafarers and International House continue always to make our front desk experience more pleasant for guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    85
    38
    10
    7
See reviews for
33
50
56
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
268 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 345 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Location: 2 short blocks (5 min walk) from the 14th and Union Square station which has multiple MTA lines (L,N,Q,R,4,5,6). Near Walgreens, Food Emporium Supermarket, Whole Foods, and Union Square.

Hotel: 11 floors (higher up equals less street noise). Simple lobby with free WiFi. Free baggage check. 25 cent coffee. Friendly staff. 24 hour front desk security. 2 slow elevators. Mostly adult guests, no partying college students. Quiet and modest.

Rooms: 10 rooms per floor. 2 toilets and 2 showers. Never a line for the bathroom. Rooms include A/C and radiator. All rooms have twin beds. Small flat screen cable TV and phone. Some double rooms have private bathrooms and a mini fridge. Bare essentials. No shampoo or conditioner. Includes soap and towels. bring your shower slippers. Beds have soft mattresses. Carpet is worn. It's simple living. Room sizes are pretty good by NYC standards. Housekeeping makes your bed and change your towels, but does not change your sheets. No bedbugs.

Costs: As of Dec 2012---Single w/ shared bathroom $106 (sun-thurs). Single w/ shared bathroom $109 (fri-sat). Double w/ private bathroom $136 (sun-thurs). Double w/ private bathroom (fri-sat) $145. Double rooms have 2 twin beds. Check in at 3pm, check out at 11am. Need to call or email for availability and reservations. No online booking. No tax! It's a Lutheran church-sponsored guest house, so room prices are not taxed. (Otherwise the tax rate for hotels is about 15%)

I would definitely stay here again. You cannot find a better deal for a low-budget hotel in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for several nights before leaving for Turkey. The room was simple and very clean and comfortable.
It couldn't be more convenient and we were happy that we were in a lutheran establishment because we forgot to remove our room key from the door!
Obviously the good Lord was watching over us!
.25 coffee is to good to be true and the front desk attendant was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tishusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The seafarers really is a great place to stay inexpensively in NYC. It was my second time around, and I still would come back.

Good:
- Price!
- Great location right at Union Square.
- Rooms are clean and have okay views out of the windows.
- facilities are all clean
- coffee (25 cent) in the lobby
- helpful staff
- couldn't find any evidence or reports of bed bugs

Average:
- Rooms and house certainly aren't the most beautiful you have ever seen. Not a place to hang around a lot, but a good base for tourists who are much in town either way.

Room Tip: The higher the more silent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Felix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

If you need a clean, secure place to lay your head for under $100 in downtown Manhattan, this is it. For that price, you get a humble lodging - a room with a singe bed, a desk, a tv and a sink, with a shared toilet and shower in the hall, brilliantly located right off Union Square. That was all I needed (except the tv) - and with a little imagination and all of Manhattan waiting outside, who needs more, really? They have wifi and computers for use on the mezzanine, free coffee in the lobby, laundry and vending machines in the basement. Note that visitors are not allowed above the lobby level. No extra charges, taxes or hidden fees, although donations are welcome.

This outfit is run as a nonprofit hospitality ministry by Lutherans, but they welcome anyone and are very pleasant and not at all pushy about the religious mission. Services are held in the ground-floor chapel at 11am, if you are so inclined. The front desk staff are pleasant but not obsequious, and they are flexible about holding luggage before check-in (3pm) or check-out (11 am) times.

No food is served on the premises, but Joe Junior's was the staff recommendation for breakfast -- a most excellent and inexpensive short-order dive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank BetsyPlatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Seafarers has a lot to offer its guests. It is right near Union Square where they hold the famous Farmers Markets on Mon, Wed, Fri & Sat, and a huge variety of other stores, restaurants and cafes in the area. Walking distance to Greenwich Village, East Village, Flatiron Building, and Macy's.

Across the street is Irving Plaza where some great musicians continue to perform. Back in the late 70's it was a popular rock venue where the B52's, Talking Heads, and Ramones used to perform.

If you stand right outside Seafarers at night and look directly north you will have a stunning view in the distance of one of my most favourite landmarks in New York City - the magnificent Chrysler Building, glistening its all its glory.

Only a 2 minute walk to a major subway line 14th St (Union Square Station), easy walk even in the highest of heels. There is a supermarket "Food Emporium" diagonally across the road, if you want to pick up some goodies.

Rooms are comfortable and practical, with the convenience of having your own sink and mirror. Bathroom facilities are shared, which included separate shower and toilet. On my floor there were approximately 10 rooms, with 4 showers/toilets. I never had trouble waiting for a shower or a toilet.

Simply a very reasonable place to stay, in more ways than one.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are on the eastern side. Single rooms aren't equipped with a fridge, but some dou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank gogirlnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

This hotel (kind of backpackers) has all advantages for people wanting to stay for a limited budget in NYC.

Situation is very good and not far from walking distance to a subway which allows you to easily travel in NYC.

Room are basic, with a TV and air con but clean (and this is all we were really expecting)! We stayed 5 nights there with no private shower bedroom, but all was fine!

I think other review describe well this hotel, I recommend it for pple who are not too strict and who do not need a top class service hotel !

The only bad point (but which we knew when booking the room), is that I had to sleep on a cot bed (for adult) which is of course less comfortable, but acceptable.

I will go again for sure on my next trip to NYC

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ehlstudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#270 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,237 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#302 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,175 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#374 of 475 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Comfort Inn Sunset Park / Park S...
#385 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seafarers & International House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seafarers & International House

Property: Seafarers & International House
Address: 123 E 15th St, New York City, NY 10003-3594
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Gramercy Park , Manhattan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Seafarers & International House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seafarers And International House
Seafarers & International House Hotel New York City
Seafarers International Hotel
Hotel Seafarers International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing