We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual Bed & Breakfast with a great atmosphere”
Review of Candy Hill Harlem

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Candy Hill Harlem
Ranked #29 of 76 New York City B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We booked the room last minute because we wanted to extend our stay in NY in Harlem. We got Big Mama's Room on the top floor. Nice and spacious room with everything you need.
The bed was a little soft to our taste, but you cannot discuss this of course. Bathroom was big and clean and had a nice vintage look. The whole building is just fantastic. It's got a special feel, hard to describe. You have to see for yourself.
Jeremy, the owner, was very helpful and got us on track to discover Harlem. He gave us some valuable info on the real Little Italy in the Bronx. We had an excellent dinner in Arthur Avenue thanks to him :-) We also ended up in a pretty cool bar just around the corner. A good tip!
The introduction mail we got from Jeremy was already a very good start. He explains a lot of stuff in a simple and funny way. Very different from the impersonal style of a lot of other big hotels or B&B's. Liked it.
This place is not a place for shiny happy people or perfectionists. Book this B&B if you want a different and authentic experience in Harlem Heights. You will love it !

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 464 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay, July 21-24, 2013. Marion's room was great for myself, my wife, our 3 teen-aged boys, and golden retriever. Being in the Convent Ave location had a benefit in being very near the 147th St entrance to the 145th St Subway Stn.
The properties are beautiful, and practical with shared kitchen area, and very convenient to good Harlem restaurants that Jeremy recommended (Tonali and Covo); as well as convenient to the subway (15mins to 72nd st and Central Park ).
We felt completely safe at all times in Harlem, returning by Subway at 10pm, and walking back from restaurants between 11pm and midnight.
Jeremy had great and very practical advice, on ways to see NYC sights without spending 3 hours lined-up, and $100, at every turn. As well as for some shopping desires for my kids.

Room Tip: Trust the proprietor, Jeremy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My sister and I stayed here on our first ever trip to New York. We loved the idea of staying off the beaten track, but having access to easy transportation and feeling safe and clean! Sugar Hill Harlem Inn delivered.

Our room was on the top floor, Big Mama's room, and we purposely chose that room to avoid the creaky staircase waking us up at night! There are stairs to climb for every room so be prepared for that. Everything was clean in the room and the house in general, as well as the neighbourhood.

The subway station has two major lines but it is a few blocks away. The walk is minimal, but be prepared for a hill on the way back from the subway station!

It was very hot and humid while we stayed here and we were so
happy that the air conditioner in the room worked very well.

Two things that caused us to dock points were the Internet and our breakfast. Other reviewers had mentioned the owner's predilection towards quote serious breakfast table talk and we found the experience quite awkward. He was very helpful at showing us the subway map and also gave us many local things and places to do and see and eat at. He also let us use his printer to print some passes to a tourist spot on the city.

The Internet did not work very well, and that was very frustrating for us. It would be a consideration against staying here again, but otherwise we really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianDragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you are looking for a place full of character and charm, this is the place to stay. Nice and clean and the owner is really helpful. The location is good as well, if you do not mind taking the train downtown. It is only a short train ride with the A-train. The area feels quite safe as well, we never felt unsafe in the immediate neighborhood. On Sundays, you can attend the service at one of the nearby churches, an experience not to be missed!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneli M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Can't say anything negative about our experience... from check in to check out. The staff was exemplary and the room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. Our room had its own walk out patio which was very handy. The "pet friendly' option was a great addition. The Inn is conveniently located within walking distance of the subway and only a 20 minute subway ride to Times Square. For the value in relation to the amenities and location, this Inn is a definite to consider. Having the ability to retreat to a nice, quiet location after a busy day in Manhattan is a great end to any traveller's day. Many thanks and highest regards! Two thumbs up!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It was a pleasant surprise to find Bernadette & Julio (inn staff)upon arriving late Sunday afternoon who helped us settle down in our cozy Satchmo's room at the inn. From day one, we felt at home. Breakfast is more like a community gathering over fresh baked cookies and hot breakfast with great coffee to perk you up for the day. Two train lines service the area and estimated door to door travel is about 25 mins. to 59th Street in Midtown Manhattan. For airport transport back to JFK, Jeremy, our host, organised a taxi service for $65 plus tip which took us only about 30 mins during off peak hour. Rooms are tastefully decorated and neighbourhood is quiet and pleasant. We felt safe coming back to the inn on late nights.
I must say Jeremy even went out of his way to help us retrieve a lost parcel on our 2nd last day. A real nice guy!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KDLSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed in Harlem inn for 1 week. The rooms are designed in antique style. The breakfast are served by host, who makes so good cookies and gives advice about places in NY and if you like philosophy, you will spend half day talking with this man. I highly recommend this hotel for staying in NY.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lena's room, it was big and really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manna179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#11 of 76 in New York City
58 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#23 of 76 in New York City
62 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 76 in New York City
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Park Ave North
#17 of 76 in New York City
72 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#31 of 76 in New York City
594 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 76 in New York City
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candy Hill Harlem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candy Hill Harlem

Address: 460 W 141st St, (between Amsterdam Ave and Convent Ave), New York City, NY 10031-6234 (Formerly Sugar Hill Harlem Inn)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $139 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Candy Hill Harlem 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Candy Hill Harlem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hill Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing