We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location for real NYC experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sugar Hill Harlem Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sugar Hill Harlem Inn
Ranked #33 of 74 New York City B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location for real NYC experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were pleased with the location, cost and amenities of this B&B. We had some confusion leading up to the stay where our room and even building were switched up on us --- and they had forgotten we needed accommodations for 4. That is the only reason for 1 fewer star. Clean rooms, but the entrance way/waiting room was a bit messy.

On the positive side, we were able to add one more person at a moment's notice and the staff were more than accommodating to bring in another bed. Having our own kitchen and refrigerator in our room was a feature we appreciated.

Access to 2 different subway lines is useful. Proximity to coffee shops and bodegas was a great plus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeandougsra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    152
    33
    16
    46
See reviews for
110
219
26
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodz, Poland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

This old romantic victorian style house is a great place to stay in NYC. Not far from two different subway stations and lines. Rooms are big and cosy , perfectly furnitured.
Josephine room has great jazz flavour plus fireplace, fully exuiped kitchen, huge bad so all you need to chill yourself out after energetic NYC sightseeing.
All house with its dinning and livingroom area is lovely furnitured with great details.
Breakfast (extra paied 7 $) is tasty and a good value.
Harlem doesnt seem to be dangetous at all and offers some nice restaurants not far from b&b.
Atmosphere of this b&b is amazing and unforgetable to me. I do recomend it to anyone who looks for something more than just an ordinary hotel room.
Prices seem to be different depanding on time and season. I paied very risenable price and didnt have any problems with reservations and owner Jeremy himself.
If only I go back to NYC I stay thare again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank very-sunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lordflea3, Owner at Sugar Hill Harlem Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Josephine room has great jazz flavour plus fireplace, fully exuiped kitchen, huge bad so all you need to chill yourself out after energetic NYC sightseeing.
Just in case you do not understand the writing, they meant to write a fully equipped kitchen and a huge bed. Most people will understand but if your English is a bit rusty (not frequently spoken) then this sentence might confuse you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This was our first trip to New York City and our accommodation's were quite comfortable, clean, and close to the subway. We had a full kitchen available to us in our room along with a lovely breakfast available to us each morning. Our host and hostess were very friendly in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. My daughter and I are already planning our next visit to New York City and it will include our new favorite B & B. Thank you to the owner and staff for your hospitality!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay. I took my wife and three Children to stay and to celebrate my wife's 40th.
We were made to feel extremely welcome. The apartments are exemplary in standard and the service was second to none. The Sugar Hill Harlem Is a charming place and has a wonderful feel to it. You really know you are in NYC when you stay here. Fairly priced and very homely. I would stay again. Good links to the subway, plenty of shops etc.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Wir hatten Satchmos Raum und es war echt schön, sehr gemütlich und sauber. Ein Cafe gibt es gleich um die Ecke das sehr gut war. Mit der A-Metro ist man in 3 Stationen am Columbus Circle.

We had Satchmos Room and it was really nice, cosy and clean. There is the Cafe One right around the corner where we had Breakfast each day. There is public transportation only 2 Blocks away and it only takes 2 stations to get to Midtown.

Room Tip: Wir waren sehr zufrieden mit Satchmos Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in December 2012. The host was an interesting character who liked a good chat. The whole place is decorated in african american entertainment memorabilia which is a nice funky touch. The room was massive, with a huge bathroom and little adjoining courtyard. Great location in Harlem. Dont be afraid to stay in Harlem! People are friendly and mind their own business. We explored the area by foot and LOVED IT. Just some of the must do's in the area: Apollo Theatre, Sylvias restaurant, The Red Rooster, Shrine Bar, shops and stalls on 125th Street (buy a cheap old school CD from one of the dudes!), get a haircut at a local barber and if you're there on a Sunday - check out the gospel music at one of the churches!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MEANDYO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We are a family of 10 people and for our first time in NYC, we stay from December 22 to January 3 guests at the Sugar Hill Harlem Inn. Jeremy, the owner of the house, since we need several rooms offered us the perfect solution of an entire Victorian house on the 147 st.
We arrived late on the first evening (2 hours for passport controls at JFK…creepy), and following the valuable information provided by email from Jeremy, we found the keys and we entered without any problems.
The house is wonderful, as you can watch on movies: 4 floors including the basement, connected by a beautiful old wooden staircase.
At the entrance, there is a huge living room, practically an entire floor and common area with sofas, armchairs, tv, computer with free internet and wi-fi (yeee!), stereo .. and we found the house beautifully decorated with lights and Christmas decorations! So sweet! Only this thing, already made us feel like at home!
The rooms were all beautiful, with canopy beds huge and comfortable, very spacious and with a private and full-equipped bathroom (except for the room in the basement that had a toilet, without shower, outside). In addition, each room was equipped with TV, I pod docking station, extra heater, towels and bathrobes .. In short, that were almost suites! The littler and a bit more sacrificed was the one in the basement, but we were all together in the family, and to have a shower we only have to share the shower on the other room, not a big deal, but you must know it. Room cleaning and stuff like this were provided almost every day by Bernardette, a funny lady from Trinidad!
Always in the basement there were also a nice kitchen, equipped with a bit of everything such as stoves, fridge, microwave, dishwasher, kettle and different crockery .. useful for people that want to save a bit of money, and decide to have dinner at home!
The breakfast was delicious, as promised by Jeremy, and every morning our meeting point was at the headquarters of the b & b on the 142st, where we upheld the scent attractive of a thousand delights things cooked at home right from Jeremy: chocolate chip cookies, cakes, jam, cake Spanish (with potatoes and onions ... yum!), waffles, pancakes, meringues ... and every day there was some surprise, to enjoy reading the phrase of the day!
Jeremy is a really nice and interesting guy, an Irishman who moved to NY and knows and suggests a lot of alternative ways to discover the city, instead to the usual sightseeing, in particular we enjoyed the trip to Chinatown plus walk on the Manhattan bridge, breathtaking view..
To sum up, Sugar hill Harlem Inn is a very special experience for those who do not want to stay on the sterile environment and the usual soulless hotels, but who wants to live in a house, with all the pro and con, and re-evaluate a particular neighborhood really nice, but unfortunately a bit haunted by bad name, as Harlem. (“Don’t forget you’re in the hood”).
Thank you for the beautiful experience Jeremy, hope to see you soon!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elena L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Harlem
Heart of Harlem
Heart of Harlem
#4 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#11 of 74 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Harlem
The Central Park North
The Central Park North
#25 of 74 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
Allie's Inn Bed and Breakfast
#22 of 74 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 74 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
The Park Ave North
#20 of 74 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Hill Harlem Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hill Harlem Inn

Property: Sugar Hill Harlem Inn
Address: 460 W 141st St, (between Amsterdam Ave and Convent Ave), New York City, NY 10031-6234
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sugar Hill Harlem Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience a piece of American History. From the forgotten Weckquasgeek Tribe, to the first middle class families that moved to this block in 1906 to the Harlem Renaissance. Since 2007, we have been using solar power at Sugar Hill Harlem Inn. In 2008 we won best of Bed and Breakfast.com awards. In 2008 we expanded. We have another building that we rent out to large groups. We have 10 rooms each with private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Sugar Hill Harlem Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hill Harlem Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing