We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise..sanctuary in the big city”
Review of Ivy Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Terrace
Ranked #6 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boylston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise..sanctuary in the big city”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I'm actually writing this review with some reluctance for a fear that the next time I visit the city there will be no room at the inn.

The Ivy Terrace is a wonderful place. I stayed in the Greenwich room, but I actually had an opportunity to see all the rooms during my stay. They are all beautiful in their own unique ways. My bed was extremely comfortable and I had plenty of pillows. I was pleasantly surprised by how well the kitchen was stocked - there were containers of cereal, lots of different kinds of tea, coffee and in the refrigerator, eggs, milk, juice, English Muffins, and bagels. The coffee maker and toaster (with slots wide enough to handle the bagels too) worked flawlessly.

The terrace outside the Ivy Suite was a beautiful perch over 58th street and the hidden patio outside the Rose Room offers a more private area outside.

I'm 6'3" tall and often hotel showers are a royal pain - not at the Ivy Terrace! I was able to stand tall and shampoo my hair because the shower head is on an adjustable arm giving me plenty of headroom. YES!

Are there any downsides? Some minor. There is no elevator and the stairway is a bit narrow - I had a lot of equipment with me and it was a bit cumbersome getting it all to the room. If one travels light, this is not a problem.

For the three nights I stayed at the Ivy Terrace it really felt like my own pie de terre. I that says something. I've never stayed at any other hotel or B&B that had that vibe.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OnSiteStudios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    58
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
78
207
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blue Springs
1 review
Reviewed October 5, 2010

The Ivy Terrace was an excellent B&B. The staff was extremely helpful with subway directions, restaurant recommendations and city attractions. My wife and I celebrated our 5 year wedding anniversary and the Ivy Terrace was a perfect retreat from the busy city. We are anxious to get back to NYC and we will definitely stay at the Ivy Terrace again. The Zen room requires some stair climbing. Actually there are 46 steps to the room, but it is well worth it. The room was spacious and quiet.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1grimzart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
320 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

So glad we stayed at the Victoria Suite in the Ivy Terrace. Location is excellent, unbeatable. Jeff was oh so nice and yes the fridge was full of yummy things and you can cook your own meal should you choose to do so.
The place is full of small details, thoughtful details that make you realise there was somebody thinking of how to help you have a wonderful time in NY. Brochures on the night table, umbrellas at the door, plug adapters for our appliances, even a blackberry liqueur that was really appreciated every evening. The amenities in the bathroom like those in a 5 stars hotel, amazing. We did not have the luck to meet Vinessa but Jeff was always so helpful.
For us it's a no brainer, when we return to NY, we'll go to the Ivy Terrace. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndieBuenosAires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2010

Absolutely FANTASTIC! We stayed in the Zen Room and it was better than I could have asked for! The room was stocked with breakfast foods that ended up doubling as late night snacks for us, and the room was cozy and quiet and a perfect get away for the weekend. The whole place is everything I love about NYC, eclectic, imaginative, and welcoming. It was right around the corner from some of my favorite places to visit when I'm in town and the subway to get to everywhere else. The bars just outside were great for a "wrap up to the evening" and I just felt really at home in our room. I would TOTALLY recommend this place to anyone looking to visit NYC. None of the pretentious airs or overdone tourism. I felt like I was "home" at the end of the night, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Manhattan after staying here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamiejlm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Superb stay at The Zen Room, Ivy Terrace. The room is located at the back of the building on the top floor, and was lovely, quiet and cool. It can be a bit of a hike up the stairs, but well worth it to get to your own self contained apartment in the centre of bustling and vibrant NYC. Wonderful b/fast items are well stocked in the fridge and kitchen (bagels, cream cheese, eggs, muffins, yoghurt, milk, OJ, cereals, tea, etc), and restocked by the lovely hosts, Jeff & Vinessa. Kitchen provides appliances etc for your own cooking if you wish.
Well located uptown, it's just one block away to subway. Felt very safe in the area.
I really appreciated the concept of this B&B. Little touches were awesome - umbrellas, guest books. Room felt so homely, terrific alternate to a city hotel. Initially I thought the price was on the high side, however went searching for something less and simply couldn't find anything for the time I was going (mid Sept). And with b/fast included, it was actually quite good value. Very happy with the stay and happily recommend for anyone staying in the Big Apple. Jeff & Vinessa go out of their way to ensure you have the best stay possible.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieKC03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsfield, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We love B&B's. To get one in Manhattan is a bonus. To get a great room, great terrace and great location, all the better. The room was clean and very accessible. The food provided plentiful. We really enjoyed our stay and it will be a mainstay of ours for years to come. Thank you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2010

We chose the Ivy Terrace as our 'home away from home' in celebration of an 80th Birthday! We rented the entire place and completely enjoyed the beautifully decorated rooms, terrace, and garden patio. It was especially nice to have the breakfast foods and kitchen area. The location is in close proximity to Central Park, great shopping, and fine restaurants. We especially appreciated the thoughtful touches in honor of our birthday celebration!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wkdwtch, Owner at Ivy Terrace, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Thank you so much for sharing your experience at Ivy Terrace B&B with other travelers. We were honored that you chose Ivy Terrace to celebrate the 80th birthday of your special family member
" G " It was exciting to have your family take all of our rooms! We know how tough it is to choose a place for an important gathering, especially in New York. Glad we didn't disappoint.
Many of our guests become like family because we see them year after year. We hope to see you, and maybe even the B'day girl again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,773 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,967 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#8 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Terrace

Property: Ivy Terrace
Address: E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like having your own apartment in Manhattan! We are in a safe, central location near midtown shopping,Central Park,5th Avenue and Felidia restaurant. Enjoy breakfast each morning, free Wi-Fi and personal service, perfect for your extended stay. Ivy Terrace B&B is ideal for business travelers, romantic getaways and families alike. Our lovely accommodations will have you feeling like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Terrace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing