We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like I was at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Terrace
Ranked #6 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Felt like I was at home!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Exactly what you want in a stay in NYC - close to Central Park and great restaurants...quiet neighborhood...beautiful, spacious rooms...fresh food in the refrigerator for breakfast. I stayed in the Rose Room, which had a lovely deck out back. Thanks for a WONDERFUL stay

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    58
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
77
207
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Ivy Terrace is everything you could want in a place to stay when visiting NYC.
Comfortable, clean, convenient and has many options of restaurants and food stores in the area.
Thank you Jeff for leaving well stocked breakfast items and cooking utensils in the kitchen. It allowed us more flexibility in our food & restaurant choices.
The Ivy room has a gorgeous terrace that overlooks the street. A little noisy at times, but the air conditioner did a great job masking the noise overnight.
My highest recommendation for this lovely apartment that we will return to when and if we return to NYC.

Room Tip: Ivy Room has a beautiful terrace overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellnwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

This B & B was in a great location. Check-in was hassle free, bed was extremely comfortable; room was immaculate and fresh looking when we arrived. Although there is no formal breakfast, the fridge was stocked with eggs, juice, milk, bagels, cream cheese, yogurt, english muffins etc. Fresh fruit, coffee, and a variety of teas were also available. (The room where we stayed - the Rose Room - had an apartment size kitchen, which was very well stocked with supplies.) The Rose room is located one flight up in the back of the house. The terrace was lovely, but we couldn't use it because of the extreme heat in NYC during our visit, and the window units of the nearby apartment buildings were extremely loud. (Probably nice in autumn when all the air conditioners are turned off.) With windows closed, the room was very quiet - no street noise or outside air conditioner noise. The air conditioner in the room, and the ceiling fan kept the room nice and cool - a wonderful thing when the heat index is 100+ degrees! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank POODS53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Waverly Room was just the right size for the two of us. The kitchen was well stocked with cereal, coffee (regular and decaf) and filters (and a four-cup coffee pot), tea (and a tea kettle), milk, eggs, bagels, English muffins, yogurt, orange juice, butter and cream cheese. There are silverware, plates, bowls, mugs, glasses, stemware, a bottle opener, and pans for the stove.

The Waverly Room seemed quiet to us - no road noise, no neighbor noise. The B&B location is safe and fantastic - just a few blocks from the subway, Starbucks, and Bloomingdales, and a handful of blocks from there to Central Park.

Both innkeepers were attentive and helpful, willing to offer recommendations for our time in NYC. We plan to go back to NYC, and we plan to stay at Ivy Terrace again. Thank you, Jeff and Vinessa, for making the experience so lovely!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingAdvice4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Segovia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had never been to Manhattan before so was guided by comments already made about Ivy Terrace. We were not disappointed with Location Convenience and Comfort all great.No washing machine but laundry right next door.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Our recent return visit to Ivy Terrace for a week's stay was as wonderful as the first visit 2 years ago. Beautifully appointed and comfortable rooms and a great location with easy access to the Subway, Central Park and excellent local restaurants. Thanks again to Vinessa and Jeff for being wonderful hosts.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank chris191156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I used to stay at the Beekman Hotel but it was recently sold and we like that area of Manhattan. A friend of ours lives nearby and found this wonderful little hideaway for us. Bloomindale's is around the corner, Whole Foods is parallel for things that you need and the nearby restaurants are superb. We were pleasantly surprised and it could not have been more perfect or romantic from start to finish. This B & B is the equivalent of a 5 star hotel. The sheets are the softest we have ever experienced, the ambiance, décor, snacks, food and Blackberry Brandy night cap were outstanding. Jeff & Vinessa are awesome to deal with, very responsive and caring. In addition to all of that the building is well maintained and pretty much sound proof from the street level noises. We will definitely be back and highly recommend this establishment. Thank you Jeff and Vinessa :) The Rizzo's

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherylcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,737 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#275 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,842 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#8 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Terrace

Property: Ivy Terrace
Address: E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like having your own apartment in Manhattan! We are in a safe, central location near midtown shopping,Central Park,5th Avenue and Felidia restaurant. Enjoy breakfast each morning, free Wi-Fi and personal service, perfect for your extended stay. Ivy Terrace B&B is ideal for business travelers, romantic getaways and families alike. Our lovely accommodations will have you feeling like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Terrace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing