We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place in the big apple”
Review of Ivy Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Terrace
Ranked #9 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2008

we stayed four nights in the waverly room. Such a nice change from the big commercial hotels. Lovely room, so nice having a kitchen stocked with our breakfast food. We enjoyed the neighborhood and all the great restaurants so close. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank sherriana40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

342 - 348 of 392 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2008

Had a great stay in the Victoria Suite at the Ivy Terrace. This was our second trip to NYC and we really appreciated the location (convenient for shops, museums, sights and restaurants of upper east side and midtown), flexibility and spacious accommodation offered by this place. It was more like staying in somebody's studio apartment than our usual b&b experience, and this really suited us - nobody hoovering outside your door at 7am to encourage you to go out, somewhere pleasant to sit between sightseeing and going for dinner etc..

Although I would recommend the Ivy Terrace there are a couple of points worth noting, especially if you are a light sleeper. Despite being a narrow street, East 58th seems to be heavily used as a cut-through and there was a lot of traffic noise in the Victoria Suite which is at the front of the building. I imagine that the rooms at the back would be quieter, and that requesting one of these would be wise if you're not used to traffic or are planning a short stay - we got used to the noise after a night or two. Also, the curtains didn't keep out the light very well (big gaps around the sides) so if this is something that bothers you, an eye mask might be in order.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank MsVacationLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2008

We just returned from a fabulous week in New York, and our accommodations at Ivy Terrace made it all possible. As other reviews of this B&B note, staying at Ivy Terrace is very much like having your own NYC apartment -- in the East 50s. My husband, teenage daughter, and I stayed in the Waverly Room. It was quiet; the beds were very comfortable; the room was tastefully decorated. The kitchenette had everything we needed, including a refrigerator stocked with breakfast items. Jeff graciously found a solution for storing our bags (we arrived in NYC early in the morning) until we could check in, and he followed up with us several times to make sure we had everything we needed. The location was perfect for us: Ivy Terrace is on a quiet street, away from the tourists and very close to a subway station. We tubed everywhere, taking a taxi only once (after a performance at Lincoln Center). One caution: finding a hotel in NYC can be daunting, particularly if you are traveling on a budget; if you are interested in staying at Ivy Terrace, plan to book early. We will, the next time we visit New York. --Rebecca, Studio City, CA

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank RLFLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2008

Great location,as stated before, we managed to walk almost everywhere, just used subway for trip to Statue of Liberty and ground zero.

Stayed in Ivy suite, which was very quaint, clean and cosy. Only real issue is noise from street, lots of bin men at 3 in the morning due to surrounding restaurats. But this did not deter from a great place and great neighbourhood.

Jeff was very helpful with recommendations for local eats.

Top tips for eats in local area:

Patsy's pizza restaurant (on 60th between 3rd and 2nd) just round corner has fab pizza, share a large, we made mistake of ordering two small and was too much.

Bar vetro for nice romantic italian.

Diners that are great: tramway, just round corner and moonstruck on 58th. Turn right out of Ivy terrace for both.

If want great burger try pop burger on 58th street, near 5th avenue end and near apple store.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank M1azza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2008

Booked a 4-night stay at Ivy Terrace on the basis of TripAdvisor reviews and we were not disappointed !

We stayed in the Waverly room which is at the back of the building and as quiet as you could wish for in the middle of NY - there was some noise from air-conditioning units outside but these switched off around midnight and did not stop us sleeping after a day on our feet !
The room was large and comfortable and it was great to have breakfast items provided and made it easy to get up, eat and hit the town for a full day's sightseeing. There was plenty of food for our stay which comprised tea, coffee, milk,fruit juice, yoghurts, fruit, eggs, pancake/muffin things (very nice), butter, cheese and jam. The room also had a good range of guide-books.
The bathrooom was well stocked with soap, shampoo, conditioner, bath salts and plenty of towels.
The only minor drawback for some guests could be that the stairs are relatively steep.
Overall, the accommodation was bigger, nicer and cheaper than your average hotel room and as other reviewers have said made us feel a little bit more of a resident than if we had stayed in another bland hotel.
As for location, there are plenty of restaurants and shops in the immediate vicinity, the nearest metro station is just a couple of blocks away and (for most people), sights such as Central Park,
Rockerfeller Centre, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building and the Theatre area are within walking distance.
Jeff made us feel right at home and was very helpful with tips and advice.

We would thoroughly recommend Ivy Terrace to anyone planning a trip to New York.

PS the best (and cheapest) donuts are those to be bought from the street-vendors.$3 for 2 coffees and 2 donuts - it would cost that for one coffee in London!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tonyd45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2008

We just stayed in The Ivy Suite at The Ivy Terrace in New York two weeks before Xmas. We loved the B&B- the location, size of room, decor, cooking facilities,provisions.... And compared to the prices I was quoted for hotels at that time, it was a bargain! We will definitely stay there on our return trips.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Ozetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2008

What can I say - for proximity to shopping, theatre, etc., the location of the Ivy Terrace can't be beat! Overall a great experience - room was relatively quiet (a bit of construction nearby but wasn't too early) for New York I suppose, and the food selection left for breakfast was great - bagels, fruit, eggs, etc...subway station nearby, shopping, fairly close proximity to theatres...the one thing that could be improved upon was the overall cleanliness of the room - could use a good spring cleaning...basics were done, but tops of tiles in bathroom, wall hangings, etc. hadn't been done in a awhile it seemed. Found an excellent diner on the corner - the Moonstruck Diner - very well priced, huge portions, and very friendly staff, especially Manny! For my first big girlfriend's trip, and first trip to New York, this B & B helped make my visit to New York memorable, and hopefully not my last!

Stayed: January 2008
1  Thank Babs14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,016 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
616 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#12 of 78 in New York City
369 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 78 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Terrace

Address: E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $225 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like having your own apartment in Manhattan! We are in a safe, central location near midtown shopping,Central Park,5th Avenue and Felidia restaurant. Enjoy breakfast each morning, free Wi-Fi and personal service, perfect for your extended stay. Ivy Terrace B&B is ideal for business travelers, romantic getaways and families alike. Our lovely accommodations will have you feeling like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Terrace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing