We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ivy Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Terrace
Ranked #6 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sebring, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Ivy Terrace was really a great place to stay. Jeff was very accomodating, and took my bags up and down the stairs! The room was very comfortable, well appointed, and well supplied with breakfast food and fixings, much of which I didn't get to!

The location is great. It's within walking distance of a lot, and you have buses stopping on almost all the
intersections surrounding it. There are two wonderful Indian restaurants below, to boot!

I would definitely stay again, and try for the deluxe room with the terrace!

Room Tip: All are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    58
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
77
206
37
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

The Ivy Terrace is the perfect place to stay when visiting New York. The location couldn't be better as it is within walking distance of so many must see sights, plus it is close to the subway at 59th and Lex which makes it very easy to get anywhere in the city. There were great restaurants on the same block of 58th and in the area. During our recent visit my husband and I had the pleasure of staying in the Zen Room, a quiet and beautifully decorated room on the 3rd floor. The bed was very comfy, the towels were big and fluffy and everything we needed was in the room. We made our own breakfast with fruits, bagels and more that were in the fridge before heading out to explore the city. Coming back to the Zen Room in the evening, we felt like we were coming home. We will always stay at the Ivy Terrace when we are in New York, and highly recommend it. Thanks very much to Jeff and Vinessa who made sure that we were very well taken care of.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DBAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

My spouse and I recently stayed in the Greenwich Room, which was well furnished and amply supplied with clean towels, paper products, and breakfast goods. I agree with all the positive reviews of Ivy Terrace but wanted to add a couple of things. First, I was happily surprised at how quiet this room was despite being on the front of the building facing 58th Street. We could not hear street noise with the exception of some construction work (jackhammer). No noise at all from passing cars or pedestrians. Second, this room is on the second floor of the inn, but the third floor from street level. (There is a restaurant on the ground floor of the building.) In other words, it's a European second floor but American third floor. This was just fine with me, but for those who need to limit their stair climbing a room on the inn's first floor would be preferable. I received excellent service from Jeff and Vinessa and would definitely choose the Ivy Terrace for a future stay in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RedTurtle91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2012

Having been recommended the Ivy Terrace by a friend, my husband and I booked an extended stay for December last year, with our 6 kids (11years to 17years old)! I cannot fault The Ivy Terrace, from our arrival, when Jeff and Vinessa met us at the door, to the day we had to sadly pack ourselves up to leave.
We had taken 4 rooms for the 8 of us. All were spacious, warm and equipped with everything we needed for our stay. Each room had great little kitchen, ensuite, comfy beds, plenty of storage for luggage and clothing, a great range of breakfast goodies and beautiful decor. My Husband and I had the Greenwich room which was really beautiful, looking out onto the street. It felt like a home to us and was just the most perfect place to return to after a day of walking the streets of NYC. The central location would be hard to beat, we walked mostly everywhere. The Subway is close by for journeys further afield. I highly, highly recommend the IVY Terrace and will not stay anywhere else when we visit New York again one day. I have stayed in hotels in New York before but never again. Thank you Jeff and Vinessa for your warmth and friendliness and for providing us with such a wonderful place to stay. A Home away from Home.

Room Tip: I loved staying on the street side, being able to look out onto the activity below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

For our recent stay (in may) we booked the Ivy Terrace because my daughter didn't want anything else: she had stayed there two times before and had had a very nice stay on both occasions. Location is for us both the most important thing (relaxed, safe , not 'touristy' but where locals eat, drink and shop, on walking distance from musea, trendy shops, 5th avenue and Central Park) and the Ivy's location is perfect.
Our room (Zen-room) was like a small appartment with everything you need (safe, airco, tv, kitchen, etc). I especially liked it that our fridge was full of nice things when we arrived (bagels, orange juice, milk, cheese etc.)and it is filled up everyday (there is no breakfast-facility) with new nice things. There is no reception but the service is very good and friendly:when we had a small problem in the bathroom we just called and it was fixed while we were out dining in one of the restaurants next door (there are a few very nice ones in the same street!).
Jeff also helped us to bring our suitcases down (this is a thing to know: when stairs are a problem don't take one of the rooms on the top floor..) and he showed us some other rooms, newly decorated and as nice as our Zen-room!
This third stay for my daughter and first one for me was a very, very pleasant one and next time New York it will be the 'Ivy' again: like somebody wrote before, we felt happy and free, living like a New Yorker!

Room Tip: The Zen-room is on the back and decorated with love and a real "Zen" room but you are in N...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ivy Terrace, responded to this review, July 12, 2012
Thank You so much for your kind comments about your stay with us. We are happy you felt at home at Ivy Terrace. The Zen room is in the back of the building, so it is one of our most quiet rooms, Jeff and I are pleased that so many of our guests return again and again, like your daughter. We hope that we see you again as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

When we were planning our trip to NYC, we were originally planning to stay in a hotel. After a bit of research, we came across Ivy Terrace.

What attracted us to Ivy Terrace was the proximity to the metro station 59th/lex and also the fact that it was a self-contained apartment with a stove and breakfast items provided.

When we arrived, we were pleased to see how clean the room was!

The room size was comfortable, with ample space to store your luggage and the immense amount of shopping that was conducted on our trip!

Highly recommend it, and will definitely stay here on our next visit!

Thanks to Jeff and Vinessa for a wonderful place to stay!

MYL & SL

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MYL1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Positive: Rose room is large, comfortable, clean and well equipped, like a small apartment. Large and comfortable bed. The location is perfect. Jeff helped immediately when there was a problem. Negative: The Internet and TV did not work when we arrived. The problems were solved quickly, but it should have been checked beforehand.The air conditioning was loud. The terrace was only useable for breakfast and also the window could not be opened after that, because of the strong curry smell from the neighbouring restaurant. It was necessary to take a large step up to the terrace and and lower oneself back into the room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucie015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#223 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,735 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Elysee by Library Hotel Collection
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,831 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#8 of 75 in New York City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Terrace

Property: Ivy Terrace
Address: E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like having your own apartment in Manhattan! We are in a safe, central location near midtown shopping,Central Park,5th Avenue and Felidia restaurant. Enjoy breakfast each morning, free Wi-Fi and personal service, perfect for your extended stay. Ivy Terrace B&B is ideal for business travelers, romantic getaways and families alike. Our lovely accommodations will have you feeling like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Terrace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing