We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven in NYC”
Review of Ivy Terrace

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ivy Terrace
Ranked #9 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I just completed our third January stay at Ivy Terrace. We love the place. It's like a hidden jewel in Manhattan. The location is perfect, and the accommodations are delightful. The bed is very comfortable. Our room-- the Waverly-- had been refurbished since our last stay. Everything was in excellent working order and spotless.

I love the breakfast options that are provided. The blackberry brandy nightcap is a lovely touch!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back of the building are quieter. Our friends stayed in a room on the front and wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dianaArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (392)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 392 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in the Greenwich suite for 7 nights over Christmas in 2011 and couldn't have been happier. The room was clean, spacious and delightfully furnished in an art-deco style which created an 'old world' atmosphere that sets this accommodation apart from large, characterless hotels.

The Greenwich room faces onto 58th St but we were never disturbed by any noise from traffic. It was a very quiet neighbourhood at night and we felt very safe at all times as the building and room were very secure. Reliable, free high speed wi-fi was included.

The provisions of bagels, yoghurt, fruit, muffins, eggs, milk, juice, butter, ground coffee, tea were more than ample and very much appreciated as we arrived late at night after spending 30 hours in transit from Australia.

Ivy Terrace is very close to main subway stations and it was extremely simple to get anywhere we wanted. There are many restaurants nearby but there is a Food Emporium nearby under the 59th St Bridge which has everything you could want for gourmet self catering.

Jeff and Vinessa were very helpful if you needed their advice or assistance but left us alone to enjoy our privacy. We highly recommend Ivy Terrace and wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in NYC.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank We-really-hate-work
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights Dec 11 in the rose room.
First impression of the stairs up to rooms are not great as they really need painting. On entry to rose room it was very spacious and looked clean with a window exit to wooden outside seateing area, which was definately very useful.
It is described as a B and B but with food left in kitchen to cook yourself which is exactly what we wanted, although after the first day, nothing was ever stocked up, 2 pints of milk between 3 dont go a long way!
The position of the place was in my opinion very good, right across road from Bloomingdales and a short walk from Rockerfeller, central park etc.
After a day or two you start to notice the place is not so clean, its like cleaning a window in a circular motion if you know what i mean, the edges need a good wipe, woodwork very dusty indeed, also the external window frame was nothing less than filthy.
Bed was very comfy indeed, very warm, but OMG the noise from the heating is like a steam train-a-coming every so often all night!!!!
The kitchen utensils etc were in good suppy.
All in all, very good location, clean-ish, just needs a really good lick of paint and dust/wash down, at $325 a night i would have expected a bit more i guess.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank nigechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Our family stayed in the Rose Room for a week over Christmas. We fully recommend it. Jeff was very helpful and friendly. Furnishings and facilities were great and the room was quiet and cosy - exceeded all our expectations. The property is very conveniently located and the short walk to the subway at 59th & Lexington opens up rapid access to all of NYC sites and attractions. Highly recommend it to all. We'll be back !!

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
Thank TravellingAussies_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We booked two rooms for 4 nights at the Ivy Terrace in the spring of 2011 and I have since sent 2 other groups of friends to stay here. Excellent location, well-stocked kitchenette, comfortable beds and good furnishings. Vanessa and Jeff are helpful and generous hosts. A gem.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanetLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

I stayed at the Ivy Terrace earlier this year & I can't speak highly enough of this great place - the quality of the rooms, each a different theme, the location, the facilities & food in the fridge & the friendliness of Vinessa & Jeff. Staying at the Ivy Terrace made my visit to NYC so much more enjoyable - my only regret is there isn't an Ivy Terrace in many more cities! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AMasterCutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

I have stayed at The Ivy Terrace twice now. In the Greenwich Room. I have nothing but wonderful things to say about this B&B. It is convient to everything I want to do when I return for a visit to my home town, NYC. Shopping, restaurants, museums and people watching galore. If you are wondering where to stay on your trip to NYC, this is the place. But make your reservations as early as possible because it does fill up.

Room Tip: I have only stayed in the Greenwich. I did go into one of the rooms in the back just to see it and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CFMCKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 78 in New York City
616 reviews
Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
#12 of 78 in New York City
369 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 78 in New York City
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivy Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivy Terrace

Address: E. 58th street, New York City, NY 10022
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $225 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like having your own apartment in Manhattan! We are in a safe, central location near midtown shopping,Central Park,5th Avenue and Felidia restaurant. Enjoy breakfast each morning, free Wi-Fi and personal service, perfect for your extended stay. Ivy Terrace B&B is ideal for business travelers, romantic getaways and families alike. Our lovely accommodations will have you feeling like a local. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ivy Terrace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing