We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”
Review of Morimoto

Morimoto
Reserve with OpenTable
Morimoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A, C, E at 14th Street. L at 8th Ave.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The food was great here. Innovative and cool and the presentation was also great. Atmosphere was buzzy and the restaurant surroundings were really fresh. Service was a little OTT but it is America! Eat here its great.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Danielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    323
    122
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Quality is always Delicious!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Went to Morimoto last night with friends. Started with the Tuna Tartar. Just downright delicious. I wanted to have Steak so I selected the Australian Wagu Beef (OMG) 16 oz instead of the 20.!! Talk about melt in your mouth, it was divine. I usually do sushi at Morimoto but if you eat meat, you must try it. This was much better than the steaks I have had at other so call fine steak restaurants. (I wont name names but Top Chefs "got nothing on this steak" ) Trust me!! Delectible cut and flavored meat. I will definitely order it again.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shangoodjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
1,720 reviews
939 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Contemporary japanese with style”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stopped by for a a bento box style lunch that included miso soup, garden salad with sesame/orange ginger dressing, hijiki, pickled cucumbers. The restaurant itself is really nice and open with access to see the sushi chefs in the kitchen from everywhere. Small taste sensations in a casual chic restaurants. Overall food was delicious and expertly prepared. I just love the japanese porclain

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phayao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Impressed by Lunch Service”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I came here for lunch. I had a Cherry Blossom cocktail, rye, cherry liquor, and yuzu; sweet, tart, and refreshing. My crispy chicken with smoked chicken jus was some of the most flavorful and moist I've ever had, and my wife loved her sushi. I treated myself to a piece of wagyu beef "sashimi" - a relatively inexpensive way to enjoy this delicacy at just $10 per piece. Try the pork gyoza appetizer. You may think it sounds boring - every Japanese place has gyoza right? - but besides tasting great, the presentation is fun and will surprise you. If you like modern architecture and styling, you'll feel at home here. I highly recommend you check this place out, even if you don't like sushi. Staff was friendly and attentive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrisby82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
Level Contributor
87 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I love Chef Morimoto when he's on Iron Chef and so had high expectations - definitely lived up to it. Everything was beautifully presented, full of flavor and high quality ingredients. Starting with the amazing lychee martini. The best appetizer by far was the wagyu carpaccio - the blend of flavors and tenderness of the meat - so good we ordered a second. The lobster was delicious in an amazing green curry sauce. The Duck duck duck was incredible - so rich and tender. The 2 sauces were both great. The skin was so crispy and yummy. Even the bread was good. The sashimi was superb - my favorites were the baby squid, the salmon was so rich, the clam was sweet and the toro was amazing! And yes - definitely check out the bathroom!! Hope I get to go back and try more things on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Morimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing