We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience and great fusion”
Review of Morimoto

Morimoto
Reserve with OpenTable
Morimoto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 16th Street
Transit: A, C, E at 14th Street. L at 8th Ave.
Dongguan City
Level Contributor
85 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great ambience and great fusion”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

The fusion is not only Jap + Western. It's more than just that. Really excited the taste bud especially creative with the Duck Duck Duck entree fusing Chinese Peking Duck style with Crossant! Awesome!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank calvinwei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    811
    321
    122
    47
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West New York, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner at the sushi bar”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited this restaurant a few days ago for my birthday visit to NYC. The overall presence of the restaurant was great. The venue is absolutely beautiful. We were seated immediately upon arrival and opted for a table at the sushi bar. Almost immediately the sushi chef welcomed us. His name was Jorge. Throughout our meal he made us feel welcomed and answered all of our questions. The servers name was Sean and he was very attentive as well as knowledgable of the menu and sake list. We opted for the Omakase tasting menu and were delighted with the sake pairing the server suggested for us. This sake worked with every course of the tasting. Throughout our meal we mentioned how we had been treated horribly at Tao NYC and about how they failed to even acknowledge that it was my birthday... So to make it up I was surprised with a dessert platter that said happy birthday. Morimoto made my experience very special. At the end of dinner the manager came up to us and shook our hands and acknowledged my birthday celebration once again.

This place is a must if you are traveling to NYC and want some Japanese cuisine. Service and food was impeccable.

Love love love!

Helpful?
Thank Priscilla e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Level Contributor
308 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We were taken here by New York friends and enjoyed an excellent meal at this lovely Japanese restaurant. Very stylish, minimalist interior decor, lots of glass partitions between groups of tables so not overly noisy. Great service and fantastic food. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larnerdarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamorada, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Not only is Morimoto visually stunning, but the food is absolutely incredible. The spicy king crab is a must, as is the waygu beef carpaccio. We also loved the sushi. The yellowtail cooked at your table in the stone bowl provided a show with a delicious reward. The cocktails were unique and our service was great!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keyslinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Omakase!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Very nice dinner omakase meal, each dish was unique and delicious. Had a table in the basement with a nice cozy feel. Cocktails are great.
A la carte is exceptional also, have not been disappointed here

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelingerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morimoto also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Morimoto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing