We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Rome in Manhattan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park
Ranked #118 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Wasn't at all what I expected! When I opened the door it was like stepping into a small apartment in Rome. Colors were vey New York and an elegant touch. The kitchen area was small but the design made it efficient and quite attractive. The bathroom was roomy with a great shower with terrific water pressure. The bed was comfortable and although small, it was just right. The size was made up in the " Great Room" where breakfast was served, the room was floor to window with most people sitting looking out, watching Manhattan wake up. Breakfast was great, food good in taste and variety. You can also come to the "Great Room, throughout the day to use computers or stretch out and read. " They also have adopted the "new" card key system, showing an interest in security. Lights are also powered by the key system, showing an interest in being energy efficient. Staff was friendly and seemed interested in our being comfortable. Wi Fi in the rooms was FREE! We will be back.

Room Tip: High floor either city or time square is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HalloweenOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,287)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

897 - 903 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

I booked a room for a weeks holiday treat for my partner. While the hotel has a 'business feel' (only one armchair in a room means its more for singles than couples) we had a very enjoyable and comfortable stay in our city view room with a view of central park to the north.

The room was quite small for a residence inn, but it's in NY, and theres that view.

Throughout the week the staff were superb, made their duty to appear friendly seem authentic, maybe it was!

I'd stay here without hesitation again.

Great location with useful subway stations within a few blocks for most destinations. In addition its very close to an E line subway station, which means an easy ride from the JFK air train via Jamaica station even if you have some luggage.

Room Tip: Our room on the NW corner was great, possibly XX02 where XX is the floor number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulfromNYC725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This Residence Inn is a nice new, modern property, but doesn't really feel like a Residence Inn. If you've stayed at one of the many suburban or resort RI's, you've come to expect clean, functional, large rooms with apartment-like features. While this hotel is clean, neat, and functional, it remains Manhattan-sized. It's more like a Courtyard with a small kitchenette.

Beyond that, it's a nice hotel with some minor growing pains that I expect will get figured out ( e.g., a bad/incomplete layout to the fitness area, a bathroom layout that makes it difficult to reach a towel from the shower, etc...small stuff)

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonAreaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

As a Marriott Lifetime Platinum, I've stayed in my share of RIs. They're a very good product when needing an extended stay. I picked this one for a 10 day leg surgery recovery because the website's "Hotel Details" under 'Bathroom Amenities' stated "separate tub and shower", which promised my wife her bath and me an easy step-in for showering. The "Room Details" for the simplest room, a Studio King City View, under 'Furniture and Furnishings' stated "Sofa" and "Chair", promising me a spot to stretch out my leg post-op.
Alas, both descriptions were not true.
After much Front Desk involvement and an email to Marriott, the GM and others responded quickly, nicely and professionally, offering a room change to either RI or the CY in the same tower but, neither would have the options I had expected - and printed out and screenshot as proof, which I sent to Marriott staff. The unfortunate truth is that there are no rooms that match the descriptions - and to staff's credit, they offered to move in an extra chair and dinner on the house one night. None of this would be of much benefit and, via another email, we received 5k bonus MR points instead. A tad meagre perhaps but, better than nothing.
I see on the website now (2/17/14) )that the "Room Details" sheet for the room has been updated: the "Sofa" has been removed. However, the "Hotel Details" still shows that "Separate tub and shower". Travelers, be forewarned.....
All this aside, the hotel as such is great. Small as the rooms are (really not larger than your average hotel room), they've managed to shoehorn a highly efficient small kitchenette into it, including a min-fridge, freezer and dishwasher (drawer system, very Euro) and a microwave. OK, dishwasher broke down once (rotating sprayer arm fell off) but Engineering fixed it in 5 minutes. The decor is sleek and modern, with white paneling and dark wood tones, and the bathroom has a space-age looking shower handle (in the tub, remember, not separate) that despite being on the 58th floor managed to produce a decent amount of flow. Expansive views through large windows - and a small one at the bottom that blew open during the recent big snow storm, which gave us a bit of a fright, as the curtains got sucked outside! Nice to have fresh air... but the in-room A/C system is more than adequate. Bed has nice side lamps as well as individual reading lamps: great touch; I wish more hotels offered that! Internet is a bit limited: one can only connect up to 3 devices in the room, even with the paid extra-speed Internet, and that's not enough these days (we had 5 between the 2 of us). We spent a lot of time in the really nice 3rd floor lounge (RI breakfast room) with lots of cool and comfortable furniture, a couple of workstations - and access to both the RI and CY WiFi. There is a "bistro" and lounge on the 4th floor as well but, we found the actual bistro closed/unstaffed a lot, although one could still use the lounge.
Last but not least, the location is great, especially if you need to go downtown: Subway lines 1 & 2 at 50th and 59th. The area itself has tons of restaurants etc and is 6 blocks from Central Park, all great for walking around - if you're not recuperating from leg repairs plus, all that snow needs to be dealt with after the ferocious storms of the past week!
I do have to come back to NYC in a few months and will definitely keep this hotel on my radar for a future stay - now that I know what to expect. And, let's hope Marriott does fix that website description so that others don't come in with the wrong expectations either!

Room Tip: Stay away from the noisy elevator shafts. Our 5804 is close to them and we hear noise all the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlasCon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have to add my kudos to the existing reviews.... Although they are still 'settling in' to the new construction, the staff was very attentive and the facilities were better than expected. Although they have chosen to use the Courtyard and Residence branding for this location, it has the Manhattan feel to the property - it could easily be a full service Marriott in many tier 2 cities. The lobby is modest and efficient, and the staff were terrific. Check-in, greetings upon entrance and exit - they were representing their management well.

My wife and I stayed here over five days in February, 2014, and had the opportunity to stay in both a Residence King (XX06 room) facing Times Square, as well as a Residence Double (XX09 room) facing the park. The king was small - to be expected - but the bed comfy. The double was larger, to be expected, with leisure seating. Although we loved the Times Square view (falling asleep to the lights of Times Square - awesome!) - we actually preferred the Park view. It felt much more "local".

Breakfast was typical Residence Inn fare and the bistro floor was spacious. Drinks were not a great deal - I suggest visiting the bar directly across the street if you like people watching and local dives.

Probably the best feature is the location - steps away from theatres, Times Square, Columbus Circle, and only 15 minutes walk from The Plaza and 5th Ave shopping. Also, for the Broadway geeks, 54 Below is on the same block - be sure to check their schedule for the late (11pm) shows where Broadway stars relax after hours.

And - with the exception of some elevator related noise which was being repaired while we were there - the rooms were QUIET - as you would expect 46+ floors up. But welcome for folks who aren't used to the city noise.

HIGHLY recommended especially at the current room rates while they are building their business!

Room Tip: Residence Rooms ending in 01,02,03,04,05 face East - 06, 07 faces Times Square, and 09 faces Central...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globaltiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Friendly staff .clean great breakfast .stayed on 41st floor looked out over the city and Hudson river wow .would stay there again close to times square and central park .would go higher floor if stayed there again .rooms are compact .comfy beds .want to stay again .

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5,364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

My wife and I stayed here two nights last week. We had a corner room (city-view) on the 42nd floor. There is a very spacious lounge/breakfast area on the fourth floor. The hotel is steps away from the Blue/Orange subway line so it is very easy to explore the City from here. This is a great property. Stay here next time you’re in NYC. You will love it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank awenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Courtyard by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park
Courtyard by Marriott New York M...
#230 of 469 in New York City
1,183 reviews
Midtown
WestHouse Hotel New York
WestHouse Hotel New York
#116 of 469 in New York City
1,759 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan / Midtown East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Moderne Hotel
Moderne Hotel
#82 of 469 in New York City
1,875 reviews
Midtown
Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Times Square
Residence Inn New York Manhattan...
#210 of 469 in New York City
2,417 reviews
Midtown
The Blakely New York
The Blakely New York
#134 of 469 in New York City
1,447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park

Address: 1717 Broadway, New York City, NY 10019
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #118 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $231 - $640 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park 3.5*
Number of rooms: 261
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the tallest hotel in New York, Residence Inn by Marriott New York Manhattan/Central Park offers incomparable views of some of the most famous NYC landmarks, including Central Park and Times Square. Our Central Park hotel in NYC is an all-suite hotel providing guests with modern design and amenities, for a comfortable yet stylish stay in NYC. Out hotel features a Nosh eating area with light snacks and coffee, and we offer a daily free breakfast. There is a business center in our hotel and several meeting rooms that are perfect for small and medium functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TravelUp, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Residence Inn New York Manhattan/Central Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing