We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“decent thai food on 34th street”
Review of Lemongrass Grill East - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lemongrass Grill East
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
307 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“decent thai food on 34th street”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A large selction of decent Thai food is accompanied by fast service. The duck dishes are very good, as is the Pad Thai.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    3
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Great lunch deals”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This seems to be a popular restaurant for locals and particularly for their unch deals of $7.95 + tax where you can choose the dish you want from say half a dozen different items, get a small salad and some "spring rolls". It was very tasty, very quick and great service at a great price

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DougoOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great for first night in New York”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Staying at the Affinia Dumont we really enjoy having dinner in this delicious Thai on our first night. Always made welcome, the food is great, the portions generous and the quality really good.
We will be back!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DrDuckie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
160 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
“The Little Thai place round the corner from the Affinia”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

The Lemongrass Grill is an unpretentious Thai restaurant next to the Affinia Dumont - worth visiting if too lazy to venture out at nights and wanting a good Asian meal that is not too pricey. We used it as our takeout place during our recent stay. The menu has a reasonable selection and the dishes are not unlike what one would find in most Thai restaurants around the world.

Appetizers are around US$5.00 with the fresh spring rolls worth a mention and a try. It is as similar to the Malaysian fresh poh piah one would find outside of Malaysia or Singapore. The mains are about US$15.00 - the duck curry and Chilean sea bass in Jean Sauce (very similar to preserved bean sauce) would be my picks. The most unusual dish I had to try was the spicy fresh mint fried rice which is recommended.

Service was variable but generally fine. Note that this is one of the restaurants where gratuity is already included in the bill.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank XmasKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ordinary”
Reviewed February 29, 2012

Very average food with little atmosphere. There are better places a shrot distance away.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sofieuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lemongrass Grill East also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing