We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Funky, ethnic and wonderful place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #380 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Funky, ethnic and wonderful place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

I booked a room here because I needed to be on the lower east side and didn’t want to pay the $400 a night for the Bowery Hotel. This renovated tenement is oozing with personality and charm. Rooms don’t have numbers, but names of jazz musicians. I was in the Duke Ellington. From the out spoken hostess (the owner, I believe) to the incredible view of the Williamsburg bridge from the tiny terrace in the room. This boutique hotel is an experience in itself. I would happily return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rogerhomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    120
    38
    33
    52
See reviews for
99
189
72
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Such a pleasant place. Nice size rooms pleasing decor, free breakfast at a good price. And the location...across the street from the Tenement Museum, good restaurants all around, and the subway just 2 blocks away. A friendly staff greeting you with a glass of wine and willingness to answer any questions. Altogether a gem of a place

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OffBreatenTrail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

If you just need a place to sleep, don't choose Blue Moon. If your want the accomodation to be a part of your experience of New York, you have to try Blue Moon. The style is old Manhattan luxery, and compelely done with old furniture, spacial rooms and spectacular views of Manhattan. We had a luxery room at 8 level, with a 300 degree view from the Chrysler building to Number 1 at ground Zero from our balcony and windows. Amazing! The breakfast is basic, but the neighborhood just outside the hotel has many small cafe's and restaurant if you need more. There is 100 meter to the nearest subway with many lines, and the wifi is perfect, so Manhattan is just outside the windows. Go try it!

Room Tip: Choose a room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hojland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2014

Staff was friendly and attentive. Louis made us feel very welcome when we checked in. Rooms were comfortable and felt much more "homey" than your typical hotel room. I have already recommended your hotel to family and friends. Thank you for a wonderful weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsbacalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Moon for two nights. We stayed in the Duke Ellington room.

First the good: Nice staff, friendly and helpful. The Hotel was relatively clean in appearance. Good location in lower Ease Side Manhattan. Unique entrance and decor.

Now the disappointment: No one asked how we enjoyed our stay. They seemed to be in a hurry to get us checked out so I did not voice the problems. The closet door handle was previously broken and fell off when we opened the door. The handle on the bathtub faucet also fell off every time we turned it on. It made me wonder if the cleaning staff was diligent enough to notice these problems and did not tell the management or just didn't notice, which made me question how well they clean. And if the management was told, did they ignore the problems instead of fixing them.
The breakfast on the first day was gone by the time we got to the lobby at 9:40 am. It was supposed to be served until 10 am. The second morning, there was no orange juice left and only very little else to eat. The television reception in the room was terrible as was the wifi. The noise level from the street and in the hallway made it difficult to sleep.
This is a 3 star hotel and we were not expecting much but were still disappointed.
If the price is right (it changes), it may not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank daytripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your kind words about our clean hotel, and nice, friendly, helpful staff. Our complimentary daily continental breakfast and complimentary guest wifi are extremely popular amenities. Every effort is made to accommodate our guests, because at the very least, we want each and every guest to have a comfort level whereupon they will be a repeat guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a chance a spend time at the blue moon with a friend and it's truly a special place. Calvin and other hotel staff go out of their way to make sure guests are taken care of. If you're looking for a fun and friendly boutique style hotel, this would be an excellent choice. The location is amazing.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 5719ariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross River, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Booked a room a month ago at the Blue Moon for Valentines Day and were planning on meeting friends from PA. Because of the continued snow in our area, I called 48 hours in advance to cancel. (All other NYC hotels it is 24 hours notice). We were not going to make it to NYC so I thought we could cancel or even use a credit for another night. I asked to speak to the night manager named Kelvin who was not at all interested helping me. He was rude and curt with me. He said he could not make a decision and that he would have the manager Javier Green call me Monday (This is Thursday). I asked for the spelling of Javiers name and Kelvin said he could not do that and hung up on me! WOW! In all the years have we been to NYC (we live 45 minutes away) we have NEVER been treated with such unprofessional and childish behavior.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Heather41721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Our cancellation policy has been in effect since we opened. It is imperative guests avail themselves to read this information prior to and during the booking process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#260 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#222 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#314 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#219 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,511 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#385 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#432 of 477 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing