We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blue Moon Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sago Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Redford Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Windsor Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Orchard Street Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Off Soho Suites(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
SIXTY LES(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveler rating
261
147
52
39
80
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
147
52
39
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstenement museumlower east sideorchard streetwilliamsburg bridgebagelsnew yorkshared roomboutique hotelthe penthousegreat neighborhoodaround the cornerrestaurants and barssofa bedyour luggagestreet noisechinatownkatz
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 579 reviews
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at the Blue Moon for two nights. We stayed in the Duke Ellington room.

First the good: Nice staff, friendly and helpful. The Hotel was relatively clean in appearance. Good location in lower Ease Side Manhattan. Unique entrance and decor.

Now the disappointment: No one asked how we enjoyed our stay. They seemed to be in a hurry to get us checked out so I did not voice the problems. The closet door handle was previously broken and fell off when we opened the door. The handle on the bathtub faucet also fell off every time we turned it on. It made me wonder if the cleaning staff was diligent enough to notice these problems and did not tell the management or just didn't notice, which made me question how well they clean. And if the management was told, did they ignore the problems instead of fixing them.
The breakfast on the first day was gone by the time we got to the lobby at 9:40 am. It was supposed to be served until 10 am. The second morning, there was no orange juice left and only very little else to eat. The television reception in the room was terrible as was the wifi. The noise level from the street and in the hallway made it difficult to sleep.
This is a 3 star hotel and we were not expecting much but were still disappointed.
If the price is right (it changes), it may not a bad place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank daytripper39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2014

Thank you for your kind words about our clean hotel, and nice, friendly, helpful staff. Our complimentary daily continental breakfast and complimentary guest wifi are extremely popular amenities. Every effort is made to accommodate our guests, because at the very least, we want each and every guest to have a comfort level whereupon they will be a repeat guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Had a chance a spend time at the blue moon with a friend and it's truly a special place. Calvin and other hotel staff go out of their way to make sure guests are taken care of. If you're looking for a fun and friendly boutique style hotel, this would be an excellent choice. The location is amazing.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank 5719ariel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Booked a room a month ago at the Blue Moon for Valentines Day and were planning on meeting friends from PA. Because of the continued snow in our area, I called 48 hours in advance to cancel. (All other NYC hotels it is 24 hours notice). We were not going to make it to NYC so I thought we could cancel or even use a credit for another night. I asked to speak to the night manager named Kelvin who was not at all interested helping me. He was rude and curt with me. He said he could not make a decision and that he would have the manager Javier Green call me Monday (This is Thursday). I asked for the spelling of Javiers name and Kelvin said he could not do that and hung up on me! WOW! In all the years have we been to NYC (we live 45 minutes away) we have NEVER been treated with such unprofessional and childish behavior.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Heather41721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Our cancellation policy has been in effect since we opened. It is imperative guests avail themselves to read this information prior to and during the booking process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had a GREAT experience at the Blue Moon! The hotel itself was warm and welcoming. It's not a luxury hotel, but it truly made you feel like you were in New York. We could have stayed at any big name hotel, but those are the same no matter what city/state you're in. Blue Moon is unique and makes it feels like you're traveling back in time! The minute we walked into Blue Moon, we knew we were going to have a great experience thanks to Louise, the woman who worked during the day. She was absolutely amazing! She was accommodating, friendly, and extremely helpful. The first thing my partner and I both said as we got into the car to head to the airport to return back to Minnesota was, "Louise was awesome!"

I would absolutely recommend the hotel to any of my friends traveling to New York. It had a real New York feel to it, and the best staff a guest could ask for!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank azupfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Be sure to read the fine print when making a reservation. We were scheduled to stay two nights but had to change plans because of a snow storm and they charged us anyway. Also tried to charge us a third night because I cancelled 72 hours in advance but not before 3PM that day. The following are their "terms" from their website...pretty restrictive for a quality hotel:

Cancellations or modifications to reservations
Cancellations or modifications for a hotel room reservation must be received 72 hours prior to 3pm EST day of arrival. If cancellation or modification of a reservation is not made by the required time (no show/changes during stay), the hotel reserves the right to charge up to 100% of the first nights accommodation or 20% of the total booking, whichever is higher.
Notice: Cancellations or modifications must be made via the same channel as the original reservation; i.e., travel agent, internet booking engine or direct.
No credits will be given for modifications to length of stay which are made during the aforementioned 72 hour window or after check-in. Guest's credit card will be charged for the full amount of the original reservation.
» Pre-paid accommodations
No refunds will be made for cancellations or modifications to stay, no-shows or early check outs.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skimainer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Our cancellation policy has been in effect since we opened. it is imperative guests avail themselves to read this information prior to and during the booking process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews