We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Comfortable friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #376 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Just back from an enjoyable weeks stay in the Blue Moon. We were shocked at how expensive hotel rooms are in New York and had to book the basic, pied a terre room as we really couldn't afford any of the others - so no balcony or whirlpool bath for us :(

However we did have a lovely big, comfortable room with a good shower, large bath and excellent heating system. The staff were very friendly and some of them very entertaining! Made for good chat a breakfast time. Enjoyed our bagels and coffee in the morning too, nice start to the day. The rooms were tidied up with fresh towels every day.

Our room faced the front street and although it was on the 4th floor it was noisy at night. Sirens, horns and general New York traffic mostly. There are slatted shutters and heavy curtains that help a bit, but ear plugs might have been an idea. This hotel wouldn't be for everyone but if you have a look at the pictures on the website you will know if it's for you or not.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    118
    34
    32
    51
See reviews for
97
187
70
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This is a great little hotel. We had a Deluxe level room, fifth floor with an awesome little balcony. Perfect for a family travelling with a teenager as it had a nice sleeper bed with a trundle, a table and chairs, a fridge stocked with drinks and a microwave. Two closets and more than enough storage space. Big, updated bathroom. Great space for the city and the cost. I cannot say how much we enjoyed having a tiny bit of outdoor space - with views of the Williamsburg Bridge and a tiny ESB view as well. As mentioned in an earlier review- a great place to contemplate being in the big city.

We did not have any issues with noise but we are not super sensitive. There is a nightclub close by but it wasn't bothersome to us at with earbuds and sleeping music (something we do when all together in any hotel room).

Location was great, simple to get to the subway and in a beautiful neighborhood full of life. Easy stroll to Chinatown and we walked over to the Village one night - not too taxing of a walk at all. The LES is full of great places to eat- acclaimed spots so read up and ENJOY! Also our teenager was surprisingly interested in the history of the neighborhood and the tenement living. Just one more reason to go back.

Check in and out was easy and I really enjoyed the young lady who was the daytime manager on 11/3- I should have gotten her name- she gave us the history of this gorgeous building and its refurbishment and she is a treasure on par with the hotel itself.

Only issues we had were the small number of large towels available (which we worked out quickly) and a squeaky bed. Small issues and not enough to make us consider another hotel the next time we are in New York -and we will hope for the Benny Goodman room again or consider upgrading to a suite.

A charming, memorable alternative to a standard issue hotel room in New York.

Room Tip: East side, with a balcony. Bring earplugs if noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jensam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is a small, friendly hotel located in a remodeled tenement building, in what used to be an immigrant neighborhood. The staff was very helpful and friendly, always available to chat and suggest places to go.The room we had was huge. It was called the Fanny Brice, after an old movie star, and had a large living room with a seperate bedroom with doors that closed for privacy. There were 4 of us, 2 teenage girls who hate to share a bed, and in this room there are 2 large twin bed size couches with pull out trundle beds under each. We could have slept up to 4 kids in the living room and 2 adults in the attached bedroom. The decor is old fashioned, but it was clean and comfortable. It was reasonable for such a large size room in NYC. The only complaint we had was the toilet was difficult to flush. low water pressure in an old building. it would work but after 3 or 4 tries usually. The subway is 2 blocks away, very easy to find, and there are many small restaraunts and stores close by to walk to. Near both China town and Lttle Italy. Parking was 3 blocks away, and $25 a night with the hotel discount.

Room Tip: choose the Fanny Brice, only available directly through the hotel itself, if you have a large family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nancye_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Blue Moon works hard on being adorable and it mostly works. The hotel is tiny and since I was driving into the city went around the block twice before I found it. The rooms are named after movie stars and are all individually furnished with name specific memorabilia. The rooms are enormous, particularly by NYC hotel standards and come with a refrigerator. Service is highly personalized. For example, even though breakfast is usually served at 7, when I asked if we could get it at 6:30, they happily accommodated this request. They offered me a complimentary glass of wine at the end of a
particularly long and grueling day. They don't valet park, but they offer a discount with the garage around the corner - it only cost me $25 a day to park, unheard of in NY! The place is very clean and in the heart of the east village, so if that is your destination, Blue Moon is a really good deal.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
214 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is not your average boutique hotel. It takes a certain personality to enjoy this level of quirkiness. We loved our room on the 4th floor rear room. No view, but a nice balcony and quiet. The tub was big enough to soak in, which we did after days of walking through the city. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The elevator was slow at times, so we used the stairs a lot. I am gluten free, so the breakfast didn't do much for me, but luckily, there is a gluten free bakery around the corner! Babycakes Bakery. This is a very hip neighborhood- they were filming "Girls" in front of the hotel one day!

Room Tip: If you want quiet- get a room in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jstarr23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Arrived at 1am and nervous that my booking would be lost. No problems at this hotel. Very charming. We had a great suite called the Fanny Bryce room (it was much much bigger than a room and included a balcony which unfortunately did not have any view, but was a great space for contemplate being in New York!). The building was also a great place to spend some time reading all of the prints on the walls, especially in the back area, which provided a rich history of the tenement and the area). I loved the story pertaining to the framed cards which were delightful, if you like that sort of thing.. and I do). Incredibly reasonably priced, which included fantastic breakfast of bagels and coffee. Staff were great, especially Louise, who loved a chat.
Would definitely love to go back and stay there again.

Room Tip: Did hear some complaints from other visitors regarding noise from a nightclub at the back of the bui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

i was here on a monday , on the 8th floor. the sound proofing was bad, could hear traffic all night long. the door lock was very tricky to operate. the beds were creaky and old. the wifi signal was weak. i will not return here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank me m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#257 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,261 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#230 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#311 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#427 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#378 of 479 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing