We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Moon NYC”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #399 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful room. I loved the decor & interesting room names. They had a welcoming ambiance and an even more welcoming staff. Great location on Orchard Street near the Tenement Museum. I had a great late dinner at Dinner on Ludlow right around the corner. I definitely enjoyed my 2 day stay there and will recommend friends..

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tyler S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Blue Moon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

225 - 231 of 542 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

This boutique hotel was very quaint. We typically stay in either large chains in midtown as well as having stayed at The Plaza and the Waldorf so staying in this area was new to us. The staff was extremely attentive and hospitable. The room was very comfortable and easy to get around to other parts of the city. The hotel has a charm to it from the shabby chic decor to the room names (ours was Louis Armstrong). We stayed for 5 days and got to know some of the staff from our comings and goings. They recommended great restaurants and offered assistance whenever we needed some help. I would definitely stay again and recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good things about this hotel: located in a real neighborhood, with diverse group of neighbors and lots of good places to eat and drink, right across the street from the Tenement Museum which is fascinating. The hotel itself is in a historic building and is certainly not cooker cutter. We had a lovely balcony. Bagel, fruit, coffee breakfast was a nice perk. Not as good things: it is a little bit shabby, and not spotless. We found a long hair in our bed and had to dust off the kids sheets a little as well. The staff warmed up to us, but was very gruff at first and CONSTANTLY on her cell phone, so we always needed to wait. There was indeed loud booming base from a club that we could hear through much of the night, but we were exhausted, so tho it woke me, I was able to go back to sleep. Overall I'd say too much money for what we got...will continue my search for the perfect NYC hotel

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kcbundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a quirky and unusual hotel in the Lower East side with historical interest as an original tenement house. Its opposite the Tenement museum in a lived in neighbourhood of little restaurants for brunch and dinner, near the subway. The staff are friendly and helpful and my room was big and comfortable, with a complimentary breakfast. If you want to pay a bit more the rooms at the top are more modern with views as they have built a few floors above the original.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 23rd-28th April and had no complaints at all, we had the `ella Fitzgerald Room` spotless with everything you could want including free wi-fi and breakfast, also very handy for the subway, you can be up to midtown in 10-15 mins easy, great hotel away from all the madness.bed was super comfortable...............

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foodtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My stay was short, but Blue Moon will get return business from me. It was very comfortable, very much an old-style boutique hotel with a great vibe. If you need a break from chain hotels, and you need to be on the Lower East Side, you should consider it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DBCLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel reels you in with its charming colors, artwork and architectural features. The lobby is a great place to relaxed with a cup of coffee or complimentary wine in the evening. It features art, artifacts found in the building, colorful pillows and a view to the street. We stayed in a deluxe room, as we had been upgraded for some reason. The room had old world charm and offered a balcony with a view of the bridge in the distance. The bed and bedding were very fine and offered a great sleep. There was noise from a night club on our side, but the heavy curtains did muffle it enough that it was not a problem and I have to emphasize that this is a quiet hotel. There is NO street traffic sounds at all, though it is located close to a busy street where you will find plenty of activities and the subway, so it is so convenient. We will definitely stay here many times in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#221 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#292 of 468 in New York City
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $79 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing