We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The Blue Moon Hotel- NYC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #377 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Blue Moon Hotel- NYC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This boutique hotel was very quaint. We typically stay in either large chains in midtown as well as having stayed at The Plaza and the Waldorf so staying in this area was new to us. The staff was extremely attentive and hospitable. The room was very comfortable and easy to get around to other parts of the city. The hotel has a charm to it from the shabby chic decor to the room names (ours was Louis Armstrong). We stayed for 5 days and got to know some of the staff from our comings and goings. They recommended great restaurants and offered assistance whenever we needed some help. I would definitely stay again and recommend this boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    113
    32
    32
    49
See reviews for
94
183
69
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
memphis, TN
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Good things about this hotel: located in a real neighborhood, with diverse group of neighbors and lots of good places to eat and drink, right across the street from the Tenement Museum which is fascinating. The hotel itself is in a historic building and is certainly not cooker cutter. We had a lovely balcony. Bagel, fruit, coffee breakfast was a nice perk. Not as good things: it is a little bit shabby, and not spotless. We found a long hair in our bed and had to dust off the kids sheets a little as well. The staff warmed up to us, but was very gruff at first and CONSTANTLY on her cell phone, so we always needed to wait. There was indeed loud booming base from a club that we could hear through much of the night, but we were exhausted, so tho it woke me, I was able to go back to sleep. Overall I'd say too much money for what we got...will continue my search for the perfect NYC hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kcbundy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a quirky and unusual hotel in the Lower East side with historical interest as an original tenement house. Its opposite the Tenement museum in a lived in neighbourhood of little restaurants for brunch and dinner, near the subway. The staff are friendly and helpful and my room was big and comfortable, with a complimentary breakfast. If you want to pay a bit more the rooms at the top are more modern with views as they have built a few floors above the original.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 23rd-28th April and had no complaints at all, we had the `ella Fitzgerald Room` spotless with everything you could want including free wi-fi and breakfast, also very handy for the subway, you can be up to midtown in 10-15 mins easy, great hotel away from all the madness.bed was super comfortable...............

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My stay was short, but Blue Moon will get return business from me. It was very comfortable, very much an old-style boutique hotel with a great vibe. If you need a break from chain hotels, and you need to be on the Lower East Side, you should consider it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBCLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
353 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel reels you in with its charming colors, artwork and architectural features. The lobby is a great place to relaxed with a cup of coffee or complimentary wine in the evening. It features art, artifacts found in the building, colorful pillows and a view to the street. We stayed in a deluxe room, as we had been upgraded for some reason. The room had old world charm and offered a balcony with a view of the bridge in the distance. The bed and bedding were very fine and offered a great sleep. There was noise from a night club on our side, but the heavy curtains did muffle it enough that it was not a problem and I have to emphasize that this is a quiet hotel. There is NO street traffic sounds at all, though it is located close to a busy street where you will find plenty of activities and the subway, so it is so convenient. We will definitely stay here many times in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This small hotel is across the street from the Tenement Museum and fits perfectly into the neighborhood. I felt like I was staying in an apartment rather than a hotel. The room was clean and quite spacious. There is a balcony for my room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#267 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,225 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#224 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,382 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#229 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#304 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,147 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#375 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#423 of 478 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing