We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Moon New York”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #393 of 467 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Blue Moon New York”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a quirky and unusual hotel in the Lower East side with historical interest as an original tenement house. Its opposite the Tenement museum in a lived in neighbourhood of little restaurants for brunch and dinner, near the subway. The staff are friendly and helpful and my room was big and comfortable, with a complimentary breakfast. If you want to pay a bit more the rooms at the top are more modern with views as they have built a few floors above the original.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    127
    41
    33
    58
See reviews for
103
195
79
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
glasgow
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 23rd-28th April and had no complaints at all, we had the `ella Fitzgerald Room` spotless with everything you could want including free wi-fi and breakfast, also very handy for the subway, you can be up to midtown in 10-15 mins easy, great hotel away from all the madness.bed was super comfortable...............

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foodtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My stay was short, but Blue Moon will get return business from me. It was very comfortable, very much an old-style boutique hotel with a great vibe. If you need a break from chain hotels, and you need to be on the Lower East Side, you should consider it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DBCLEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilghman, Maryland
Level Contributor
469 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel reels you in with its charming colors, artwork and architectural features. The lobby is a great place to relaxed with a cup of coffee or complimentary wine in the evening. It features art, artifacts found in the building, colorful pillows and a view to the street. We stayed in a deluxe room, as we had been upgraded for some reason. The room had old world charm and offered a balcony with a view of the bridge in the distance. The bed and bedding were very fine and offered a great sleep. There was noise from a night club on our side, but the heavy curtains did muffle it enough that it was not a problem and I have to emphasize that this is a quiet hotel. There is NO street traffic sounds at all, though it is located close to a busy street where you will find plenty of activities and the subway, so it is so convenient. We will definitely stay here many times in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born_to_go61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This small hotel is across the street from the Tenement Museum and fits perfectly into the neighborhood. I felt like I was staying in an apartment rather than a hotel. The room was clean and quite spacious. There is a balcony for my room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MBW30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in January 2013 during the off season. Very impressed with the 1940's feel to the rooms. Spent a very comfortable evening there while checking out Little Italy and Chinatown. Very good value during the off season.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vincenewm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Booked this hotel following a mates recommendation... A spot on recommendation.

If you want a hotel with character, a neighbourhood with character and staff who are characters then this is the hotel for you.

Lower East Side offers plenty of fab places to eat and drink and with the metro round the corner from the hotel, the location is perfect.

I cannot praise the staff enough.

Breakfast is free (unlike many US hotels) and although basic, it is fresh and filling. There is access to the gym - although I'm not sure it extends to daily access for those who like to train regularly

Rooms are great, big and comfy.

If you are considering booking this hotel my advice would be ... do it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tourist04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,516 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#300 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,346 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#436 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#387 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing