We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blue Moon, Lower East Side, NYC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #386 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Blue Moon, Lower East Side, NYC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

My son recently moved to the lower east side, so my husband and I have gone several times to visit. This is the first time we stayed at the Blue Moon Hotel and we have found our "go to" place! Large, comfortable rooms, breakfast and friendly staff. We took bicycles and the front desk clerk offered to let us keep them in the back room so we didn't have to leave them on the back of our vehicle. There is no club in this hotel so no late night noise or smoke. Charming architecture and great location. We'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaryKathleen21259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are honored that you would consider us as your hotel of choice when you visit your son. Far from your average hotel in NYC, our twenty-two guest rooms offer a quaint setting that ensures a relaxing escape even in one of NYC’s most vibrant neighborhoods. We're glad that you appreciated our rooms, the complimentary continental breakfast, and our staff. We likewise appreciate guests such as you, who understand the uniqueness of our property. Thank you for taking the time to share your beautiful review and the next time you visit the Lower East Side, we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    125
    40
    33
    56
See reviews for
102
195
76
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

This was on a list of hotels located near the Tenement Museum where I was attending a week long workshop. The location was perfect for enjoying the Lower East Side, walk to Little Italy and Soho. There are plenty of wonderful restaurants in the neighborhood.Bed was comfy and the hotel is near two subway lines. All of which are good reasons to stay there. The room is big by New York standards, bathroom small but adequate. It was clean and comfortable and not cut out of a hotel cookie cutter.
However, there were small things that made the place only so-so for a week long stay. I couldn't get an wifi signal on the 4th floor and neither could a colleague one floor up. You had to go to the lobby to get internet. The breakfast was the same old bagels and stale ruggelach everyday. The staff was pleasant enough but didn't go out of there way to give you attention. One guy spent his shift watching movies and told me the internet was fine. Another told me they couldn't adjust the air conditioning in my room without changing it in the room next door?? Blue Moon might be good for a 2-3 day stay when you are out and about all the time. A whole week was a bit long. However, if you are going for the Tenement Museum, it is right across the street and you can't be location.

Room Tip: All the rooms are named after actors - mine was the George Rafter. It faced Orchard Street and noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmjimenez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your review and rating. First and foremost I want to address the Wi-Fi issue. A cable was down in the area and we battled valiantly with the phone company to repair it with expediency. It was most irritating in that the service was intermittent, wrecking much havoc on our guests’ Wi-Fi and our phone and reservation system as well. We are truly sorry for any inconvenience this might have caused.

We appreciate your comments about the uniqueness of the hotel and pulse of the area. We are conveniently located near six subway lines: F, M, J, Z, B, D. Yes, we are smack in the middle of NYC’s most vibrant areas besides Soho and little Italy, just a hop skip and jump from Chinatown, East Village, Financial Center and only a 10-minute walk to the Seaport.

We are pleased you noticed the charm and character of the Blue Moon. A former 1879 tenement filled with artifacts and personal eaffects transformed into a stately 8 story hotel. We are pleased to provide a means to encounter how art and history can collide into elegant design. Blue Moon venerates our immigrant ancestors’ way of life, complements the neighboring Tenement Museum and historical district alike.

Yes our rooms are big, up to 4X the standard NYC room size. Your bathroom is considerably sized as well, with a glass-enclosed shower and full deep bath to soak after a long city day. All are far from standard in this city. We receive daily deliveries from Kossar’s bagels and Gertels pastries, both venerable and local bakeries. They embody the culture of the Lower East Side. In addition we serve juice, fresh fruits, spreads, gourmet coffee, fine teas. Although continental breakfast is gratis; taste is subjective and if not to your liking try a myriad of choices right outside our door. Our concierge is always most helpful; all you have to do is ask. Antonella, an artist, is abreast of all cultural events, speaking four languages fluently. She is available 5 days a week. She will gladly answer any questions and add helpful advice on how to enhance your stay; in fact she compiled a directory on how to live and love local.

The Blue Moon is most ideally suited for long stays. Sinatra might say Forget about it if you can’t stay here you can’t stay anywhere. Our rooms, as you so correctly stated, are immaculate and provide a cozy night’s sleep with our Palatial Crest pillow top bed and fine linens. Our smallest room at 320 sqft is more than twice the city’s average and is set up as a 1930’s period apartment including an inviting and romantic wrought iron bed, table, chairs, secretary desk, historical memorabilia, artifacts and modern amenities: 4.5 cf refrigerators, IPod dock, free glass of wine on arrival and daily gym pass. In case you just have an urge to step outside two thirds of our rooms have balconies, some with the most amazing views in the city.

History, Art, Preservation, Design, Space, Breakfast, Deep Tub, Free DVDs 30’s -50’s,Vino, Gym Pass, and Balcony.

Blue Moon likes Dorothy’s “there is no place like home”; nonetheless our preference is Rosemary Clooney’s “Come on-a My House ".

Randy Settenbrino
Artist and Developer, Blue Moon Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2012

I booked this hotel purely for size and location, after reading the great reviews the hotel had i was really looking forward to staying here. The room was a good size, but the toilet kept getting blocked, we didnt bother complaining as the day staff were as happy as a cat hopping on hot coal and as helpful as a wet tissue. The one and only time i got up for breakfast, i asked where the glasses were for the juice, the response was: 'you have to use a mug, but you cant take the mug upstairs, you have to bring a glass down from your room' What do say to that ?
Stayed at the Washington Square Hotel prior to checking in here for the same price which included breakfast. The staff there were fantastic. The Hotel is worth a stay, but I suggest the Manager actually takes note of the complaints about 'the not so helpful staff' instead of responding to all negative reviews with a 'dig' at the customer and running documentary of the hotel history !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank c s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for the acknowledgement of the great reviews. They are indicative of the experience the Blue Moon affords our guests. In fact we have earned the Tripadvisor Award of Excellence as well as many other accolades. Unfortunately your review does not concur with them; therefore please allow us to adress your issues:

With regard to the toilet: Actually, you did complain, as rightfully you should, so that we were able to assess the situation and deal with the problem.

This staff whom you have denigrated in no uncertain terms chose not to inconvenience you with a repair but to upgrade you to a nearly 700 sq. ft. suite with a 26’ wide terrace and a view that makes you feel like you own NYC. This is a beloved suite, chocked with artifacts and memorabilia, antiques, custom fabrics and a 6 ft hydro massage tub. Coming across something this sweet even in NYC is a white elephant.

Regarding the glasses, there are dozens of glasses right on the shelf behind the bar where the pastries and bagels are kept. I apologize on behalf of the front desk, who ought to have provided you with a glass; however, guests having breakfast in our sumptuous lobby are not restricted from accessing anything from that area.

Regarding the mugs, they are Blue Moon insignia mugs with our logo; very often guests who take them to their rooms do not return them. Alternatively, every room has solid black mugs which they can bring to the lobby, or you can use the in-room coffee maker provided for your convenience.

Regarding your stay at another hotel: We are glad you have a hotel that suits your taste and preferences, and thank you for the unintended compliment about our comparative value. We are not in competition with anyone. Our hotel is a unique, five year art preservation and design project turning an 1879 5-story tenement into a stately 8th story hotel. We offer rooms up to 4X the average NYC standard, two thirds of which have terraces. We have rave reviews here and elsewhere; many read like poetry. Furthermore, this meritorious award-winning project of outstanding recognition boasts 40-plus major articles and prestigious accolades via National Geographic Traveler, New York Magazine Critic's Pick, Citysearch’s Best Boutique Hotel, and Rizzoli’s Best 100 Little Hotels.

Regarding errors on our part: If there is a faux pas on our behalf then I apologize if the front desk was not at its best. However, knowing the details, we cannot offer a perfunctory amends as typical chain hotels do for their anonymous customers. The Blue Moon offers only 22 rooms in an almost 16,000 sq. ft. building. We know our guests most intimately. The Blue Moon believes respect is paramount and that is why we respond the way we do.

Regarding the digs you referred to: We merely state the facts unabashedly. Often, reviews like yours draw an imaginary line and only state what they didn’t get, not what they did get: premium size, premium view and accoutrements all multiplied by the value of NYC. The Blue Moon is an art project and is much like a museum, having maintained the building’s integrity, and preserving the artifacts and personal effects was a labor of love which came at much personal expense. I believe that is worth an acknowledgement. Therefore the obvious must be stated. All aspects of our reviews, like our hotel, are custom and fretted over by myself.

Randy Settenbrino, artist and Developer of the Blue Moon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

a little note to say thank you again for your lovely hotel and warm hospitality.

Our family got to the Blue Moon quite randomly through aeroplan/travelocity, we figured it would be a nice change from the more generic, standard place that we have stayed at on the Upper West Side. We are ever so grateful we did. The Blue Moon was a real find-a hidden treasure in the Lower East Side. It was so much more interesting being in a lively, diverse neighborhood full of New York character, in a hotel that reflected exactly that. The décor was thoughtful, tasteful, with a twist. The history reflected in the decor, in the collages and memorabilia was interesting and enriching. The staff was warm and friendly and the feel of the place was comfortable and homey. The location was convenient- a short subway ride from everything. Being an orthodox Jewish family, we also had an unexpected bonus of a kosher breakfast and kosher wine. Now that's unusual!

Thank you Blue Moon for a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
For a unique NYC experience, you certainly picked the right place! We thank you sincerely for your glowing review, as it's wonderful to learn that you have named us a Hidden Treasure on the Lower East Side. Your kind recognition of our attentive staff as well as the artistic and historic restoration is deeply appreciated, as we have likewise paid fastidious attention to every detail. At the Blue Moon Hotel, we aim to cater to each and every one of our guests, so we are pleased that you were happy with our complimentary continental breakfast and wine. It was our pleasure to host you and we're truly grateful that you have taken the time to share your experience with us. Thank you and we hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irwin, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed here in the beginning of March 2012 for 3 nights (sorry for the delay in the review). Took the train from Pittsburgh and definitely did not want to spend time at a chain hotel. My 16 year old daughter and I were in the area to attend two shows at the Bowery Ballroom, so we definitely wanted to put our money into the area and local business owners (not big chains). We wanted to do local. The hotel was charming. The size was perfect. My daughter and I stayed in the Tommy Dorsey room. Had a little difficulty with the door lock, but we had it figured out by the first morning. We could walk everywhere or hail a cab on Delancey. The tennament museum was a must visit. I would highly recommend. Look forward to coming back. Walked to Little Italy and had great meals. All staff were extremely kind and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank indiapaleale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was so excited about staying at the Blue Moon Hotel - I had looked forward to this for months. As an artist, I have been travelling in Europe for 3 months, really on a tight budget, so this was my special treat. However, due to circumstances beyond my control - the system for the Border Control went down and I was unable to get my ESTA visa and fly to New York - this affected hundereds of travellers on Saturday. I notified the hotel twice that there was a problem and then advised them in the afternoon that the system had still not come up. They have charged me the full cancellation fee which I think is a very harsh line to take. I can understand paying a percentage, however the chances in the summer holidays that they rented out this room is pretty good. So if you are travelling and could be held up, please don't book this hotel you will just end up disappointed. And to cap it all they have sent me a link today to rate my stay at the hotel, talk about rubbing salt in the wound.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
While we can understand your frustration, we'd like to mention that our website is a wonderful resource for gaining information pertaining to our policies, including our cancellation policy. On our Policies & Disclaimers page on our hotel's website it states that cancellations or modifications for a hotel room reservation must be received 72 hours prior to 3pm EST day of arrival. If cancellation or modification of a reservation is not made by the required time, the hotel reserves the right to charge up to 100% of the first night's accommodation or 20% of the total booking, which ever is higher. We understand that this situation was beyond your control and sincerely regret any inconveniences that you encountered as a result. We appreciate you reaching out to us and hope that you will someday get another opportunity to travel to NYC and stay with us at the Blue Moon Hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a five-night stay at the Blue Moon Hotel. It is our kind of place.

If you are expecting a doorman to help you with your luggage when you arrive, you will be disappointed. This is not that kind of place. The opposite of a fancy boutique hotel, it is small, quaint, and intimate. Our room was very spacious, especially for New York.

We enjoyed the quiet, the good service, and the morning juice, coffee, bagels, and rugaleh. We especially liked the fact that there was a mezuzah on every room door!

The lower East Side is our favorite NYC neighborhood. This hotel is directly across from the Tenement museum, right next to Delancey, and a short walk to Soho, Nolita, and the East Village.

If you like a small, clean, totally unique place to stay in New York, you will love the Blue Moon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#265 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,650 reviews
Upper West Side
Morningside Inn
Morningside Inn
#435 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#400 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Property: Blue Moon Hotel
Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Best Value Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing