We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Check the cancellation policy before you book”
Review of Blue Moon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Blue Moon Hotel
Ranked #399 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I was so excited about staying at the Blue Moon Hotel - I had looked forward to this for months. As an artist, I have been travelling in Europe for 3 months, really on a tight budget, so this was my special treat. However, due to circumstances beyond my control - the system for the Border Control went down and I was unable to get my ESTA visa and fly to New York - this affected hundereds of travellers on Saturday. I notified the hotel twice that there was a problem and then advised them in the afternoon that the system had still not come up. They have charged me the full cancellation fee which I think is a very harsh line to take. I can understand paying a percentage, however the chances in the summer holidays that they rented out this room is pretty good. So if you are travelling and could be held up, please don't book this hotel you will just end up disappointed. And to cap it all they have sent me a link today to rate my stay at the hotel, talk about rubbing salt in the wound.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Janice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 9, 2012

While we can understand your frustration, we'd like to mention that our website is a wonderful resource for gaining information pertaining to our policies, including our cancellation policy. On our Policies & Disclaimers page on our hotel's website it states that cancellations or modifications for a hotel room reservation must be received 72 hours prior to 3pm EST day of arrival. If cancellation or modification of a reservation is not made by the required time, the hotel reserves the right to charge up to 100% of the first night's accommodation or 20% of the total booking, which ever is higher. We understand that this situation was beyond your control and sincerely regret any inconveniences that you encountered as a result. We appreciate you reaching out to us and hope that you will someday get another opportunity to travel to NYC and stay with us at the Blue Moon Hotel. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (542)
There are newer reviews for Blue Moon Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

259 - 265 of 542 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

My daughter and I just returned from a five-night stay at the Blue Moon Hotel. It is our kind of place.

If you are expecting a doorman to help you with your luggage when you arrive, you will be disappointed. This is not that kind of place. The opposite of a fancy boutique hotel, it is small, quaint, and intimate. Our room was very spacious, especially for New York.

We enjoyed the quiet, the good service, and the morning juice, coffee, bagels, and rugaleh. We especially liked the fact that there was a mezuzah on every room door!

The lower East Side is our favorite NYC neighborhood. This hotel is directly across from the Tenement museum, right next to Delancey, and a short walk to Soho, Nolita, and the East Village.

If you like a small, clean, totally unique place to stay in New York, you will love the Blue Moon.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jellish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

our family of four loved this place.it felt like we stepped back in time.the decor was elegant similar to a bed and breakfast. we stayed in milton burl suite. it had a nice trundle bed perfect for the kids. it was very clean-a must.complimenatary wine at check in was nice although my husband would have preferred a beer. breakfast was simple with the choices of a bagel, pastry or apple- some members of my family did not like these choices and ate out at mcdonalds a short walk.we walked about 8 blocks to little italy for dinner.also the location is nice with many local restaurants and taverns.also we walked to battery park from here. the hotel clerk Louisa was very sweet as she shared her personal half n half we me for my coffee. last comment- parking at private lot across the street be aware that many lots park your car with the window left open.this may not be a security issue but i wouldnt leave open food in your car. this was not a problem but freaked me out a bit. the marriott marquis times sq did the same thing. overall i would recommend this for a quiet stay with less tourism and a historical feel knowing this was where the immigrants landed after checking in at ellis island. btw the tenemant museum is across the st- wish i had time to see it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FLLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 28, 2012

We would first like to thank you for taking a moment to relive your visit with us. With our commitment to detail, we've transformed the tenement into the award-winning boutique hotel that you have come to know today. The feeling of stepping back in time is exactly the type of experience we wish to create. We're pleased that you not only found our accommodations to be a perfect fit for your family but that you also found the variety of local restaurants and taverns in the area to be beneficial during your visit.

We would, however, like to clarify that our breakfast is complimentary and includes bagels from Kossars and pastries from Gertel’s, two venerable New York bakeries for over 80 years, as well as spreads, fresh fruits, juices, gourmet coffee and fine teas. Thank you for recommending the Blue Moon Hotel, as your descriptions match the kind of experience we aim for each of our guests. We hope that you'll visit with us again and that next time you will be able to visit the Tenement Museum. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We really enjoyed our 9 night stay here. Lots of character, very clean and comfortable, in a great location: close to a subway station, and there are lots of groovy little places to eat and drink on and around Orchard, Broome and Rivington. The staff were very helpful - thanks especially TJ, Antonella and Louise

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikingstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Our sincerest thanks for taking the time to not only share a beautiful review with us but for also mentioning our staff members by name. We are glad you appreciated the unique character of our hotel, as well as our location; indeed, the trendy Lower East Side is one of NYC’s most vibrant neighborhoods, and we're thrilled that you had the opportunity to go out and discover so much of it during your stay with us. We hope that the next time you plan a visit to New York City, you will choose the Blue Moon Hotel for your home-away-from-home, as it would be our pleasure to welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Really don't want to rave about the Blue Moon too much as I'd like to be able to get a room next time I'm in New York, but in fairness I have to recommend this place. It is quirky and quaint, comfortable and homely, great staff, breakfast bagels that could fill you up to dinner let alone lunch and situated in a fantastic neighbourhood of little bars, restaurants and shops and within walking distance to lots of other fabulous neighbourhoods too. We had the smallest of their rooms, endearingly called 'Ella Fitzferald' but that was very generously sized, the shower was wonderful and the bed very comfortable. We loved this place and New York and will be doing our best to get back again soon. No need to spend weeks trying to find the right hotel this time, we know where we want to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigClearout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

We love to read our guests' rave reviews such as yours! Your descriptions match the kind of experience we hope each and every one of our guests has while visiting our boutique hotel so we can't thank you enough for sharing. With twenty-two lodging accommodations that are twice the size of New York City hotel guest rooms, we are delighted that you found our Ella Fitzgerald room to be spacious, comfortable and ideal for your trip. We certainly understand the importance of a great breakfast which is why we aim to create the perfect meal to start off your day, complete with Kossar's bagels, pastries from Gertel's bakery and more. Located within walking distance to the best dining, shops and attractions on the Lower East Side, we are delighted that you chose the Blue Moon Hotel for your overnight stay. Thank you for your kind recommendation and we are looking forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2012

The Blue Moon Hotel captures New York’s contradictions. It is a modern, comfortable hotel in an old tenement building, set in an area of New York which is a mix of the old and the new, where the migrants of previous centuries are bumping up against more recent migrants, particularly Chinese and Vietnamese. The shops that surround it are a mix of high and low fashion, cutting edge eateries and cheap Chinese noodles, and the wonderful Tenement Museum sitting directly opposite. Sitting in the dining room on the first (ground) floor over a cup of coffee, one can observe changing New York on the street outside.
Our room was large, beautifully furnished with lovely period pieces, and with a nice comfortable bed. On the fifth floor, we had a view of the Williamsburg Bridge as it peeped over the surrounding blocks. Lower floors would have minimal views, higher floors better views. Of course the price of rooms increases as you move up the floors. The dining room on the first floor is wonderful - as noted above you can watch the world go by outside. While we sat and had our breakfast (the most delicious range of bagels), a number of people tried to come in, assuming it was a cafe, reflecting how inviting it looked from the outside. The staff were friendly and relaxed, and the hotel is small enough to feel intimate, without tripping over fellow guests.
Blue Moon isn’t cheap, and if you want a ritzy hotel with spa, swimming pool, gym etc, then you are better looking further uptown. But if you are looking for an authentic New York experience in a refurbished tenement building, in a part of New York that captures the old and the new, then this is the place.
Special mention to two places just down the road on Orchard St. The first is the Beer Cellar and tasting room three doors down from the Blue Moon. It has around twenty beers for tasting, and while we didn’t manage to work our way through the full range (not through lack of effort), the range and quality of the brews was astounding. The staff were passionate, knowledgeable and pleasant – an unusual mix. And they have hundreds of beers for sale. We checked the Australian ones – they were top quality boutique beers such as Mountain Goat, as well as the best of the more commercial beers, such as Boags. An unexpected gem.
The second was a restaurant a couple of blocks south on Orchard St called Fat Radish. Despite the name, it isn’t a vego joint, but offers delicious modern American food, in a great atmosphere in a big airy room behind a shopfront.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better the view - and the higher the price!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2012

It sounds like you had quite the NYC experience! We can't thank you enough for sharing your lovely description of our Blue Moon Hotel. You truly painted a beautiful picture of what our boutique hotel represents and the level of detail you provided is very much appreciated. Sitting in our cozy dining room and watching the world go by over a warm cup of coffee sounds like the perfect way to relax during a Manhattan getaway and with our ideal location, surrounded by shops, eateries and museums, there certainly are many incredible sights to observe. At the Blue Moon Hotel, we want to create a beautiful and authentic NYC experience for each of our guests and it's nice to read that your stay with us truly captured everything that we strive for. We greatly appreciate you mentioning our complimentary breakfast and delicious variety of bagels, which are from Kossar's, as well as our surrounding attractions. Indeed, we have been recognized by National Geographic Traveler and Allen Sperry’s 100 Best Little Hotels in NYC. It certainly sounds like you made the most out of your NYC experience and the next time you are in the area, we hope you will visit with us again on the Lower East Side. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Our family and friends gathered at the Blue Moon while in NYC for a wedding in March. The staff were friendly, the rooms were charming; we had a lovely experience. Thanks, Blue Moon, for helping make a special celebration even more special.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlueMoonManager, Manager at Blue Moon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2012

How wonderful! Thank you for sharing such a glowing review. It touches us deeply knowing that the Blue Moon Hotel could make a memorable celebration even more special and we are honored that you chose to stay with us on the Lower East Side. After lovingly restoring the Blue Moon Hotel into what is today, and then gaining tremendous recognition from National Geographic Traveler and 100 Best Little Hotels by Allen Sperry, it is our hope that each of our guests receive the exceptional experience that you so kindly described. It was an absolute pleasure to accommodate you at the Blue Moon Hotel and we hope you will visit with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 468 in New York City
4,925 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,560 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#294 of 468 in New York City
1,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#383 of 468 in New York City
642 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 468 in New York City
11,503 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Hotel

Address: 100 Orchard St, New York City, NY 10002-3106
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Lower East Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #399 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $79 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Moon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Moon Hotel on Orchard Street welcomes guests to the Lower East Side. This new, boutique Manhattan hotel leads the resurgence of the landmark old New York neighborhood. The hotel is located along cobble stone streets once occupied by push cart vendors, pickle packers, butchers, and bakers. Now, New York City's historic past has come to life in the authentic yet modern and comfortable neighborhood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Blue Moon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Moon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing