We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent beer and great prices for NYC.”

The Heartland Brewery and Rotisserie at the Empire State Building
Ranked #493 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Pub, Gastropub, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: New York City's most famous landmark, the Empire State Building, now houses New York's number one brewery, a two-story 450-seat Heartland equipped with two large bars and four giant flat-screen TV's. Our full-service restaurant breathes new life into an area overrun with fast food chains. More than just a watering hole with great beer, we offer both visitors and locals excellent food and a feeling of home that only Heartland can offer.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent beer and great prices for NYC.”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We walked by this restaurant and noticed the brewing done on premise. The food has a southern flair to it and the burgers are well sized. The fries are amazing- cut on premises. The apricot beer (seasonal) had a good balance to it. The Mac and cheese was one of the best we had, and the onion rings with chili dipping sauce shouldn't be skipped. Excellent choice for quality, food, and service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JustHarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    635
    982
    315
    102
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great lunch after visiting the Empire State Building”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Visited the Empire State Building on Sunday of Memorial Day Weekend. After 2-3 hours spent with all the crowds, we were tired and hungry. Decided to see how the crowds were in this restaurant, since it was so close. As it turned out, we had the lower bar area almost to ourselves and it was quiet and inviting. Our waiter was prompt and gave us suggestions and descriptions of the different beers. Sandwiches were good, beer even better. A very nice respite after doing the Empire State Building.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My daughter, grandson and I ate at this restaurant after visiting the Empire State Building. The food was good, the service great, the beer was excellent and not very crowded when we got there, but really picked up around 2:00. Will definitely go again whenever back in New York.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank appsphyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A nice spot for lunch”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had lunch here after going to the top of the Empire State Building. The food and service were very good, and, according to my husband, the beer was excellent. I love their iced tea, which had free refills. We ate at two of the Heartland Brewery restaurants during our 4 day trip and will go again whenever we get the chance.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Atlas53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Wonderful dinner, great staff, good local brews”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The bar staff (lower bar) are top knotch, very helpful with directions. The local beers Indian Pale Ale and Indian light ale did not disappoint. I had a great steak dinner with potatoes. Could not ask for a more medium steak. All in all a great place for dinner and drinks.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Heartland Brewery and Rotisserie at the Empire State Building also viewed

 

Been to The Heartland Brewery and Rotisserie at the Empire State Building? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing