We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“drank here late night”

St. Marks Ale House
Ranked #5,073 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: East Village
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
148 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“drank here late night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

After leaving McSorley's (which closed really early for some reason), we weren't ready to call it a night, so we headed down the street to St. Mark's. We were the only people in there (again, surprised since it was a Thursday night), but that was fine b/c then we had great service. The beer selection was decent, and the bartender was really friendly. I wasn't really paying attention, but I think the beer here was really cheap compared to other bars in New York City.

I've been here before & the place was packed. I can't speak to the food, since I've never eaten here.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenksoccer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level Contributor
109 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

Great service, good food and great value! Good place to watch a sporting event!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank dorismct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Definitly a place worth stopping in”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2012

I lived on St Marks Street and the St Marks Ale House was a constant watering hole. The upsides, great place to watch sports, great for big groups, decent craft beer on tap, and decent food. There is nothing I can say that is "bad" about the St Marks Ale House but I can definitely say nothing is amazing either. I lived two blocks down so I used to go there all the time for a good hamburger and a beer to watch some sports. Even when I go back to NYC I will still stop in for at least one drink. It has a good feel and if you are ever on St Marks I would recommend stopping in for reasonably prices beer and food.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sc2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy American Ale House”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The St. Marks Ale House was conveniently located next to our hotel and offers a wide variety of American favorites. We had spent the entire day walking on Broadway and 5th Avenue and were in much need of some hearty dishes. The food was delicious, with the exception of the "sweet tea" which was definitely not brewed on site. Although our server was pretty slack, we really enjoyed the food and atmosphere.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Your_Traveling_Gnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“This is our favorite pub. It reminds us of a bar (CHT) that we went to at college. The drinks are great, the food is...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2008

This is our favorite pub. It reminds us of a bar (CHT) that we went to at college. The drinks are great, the food is great, and the atmosphere can't be beat! Definitely recommended for college students.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Marks Ale House also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to St. Marks Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing