We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bold and flavorful”
Review of Cacio e Pepe

Cacio e Pepe
Reserve with OpenTable
Cacio e Pepe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,320 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: East Village
Cross street: Between 11th and 12th Streets
Transit: L train to 3rd Avenue and 6 train to Astor Place.
Description: Consistently excellent, this East Village gem is known for innovation and excellence in Roman cuisine. While Chef Salvatore Corea creates a seasonal menu, partners Alessandro Peluso and Giusto Priola note that Cacio e Pepe remains faithful to its signature namesake dish: home-made pasta brought to your table and spun in a wheel of pecorino cheese, then dusted with a flourish of pepper. Voted a ‘Critic’s Pick’ by New York Magazine, Cacio e Pepe is celebrated by reviewers as a classic Italian restaurant with a sense of style: A 50-seat garden is set behind the main dining room, there is al-fresco dining out front, and waiters with superior wine knowledge help you select the perfect beverage accompaniment to your meal. The mystery remains whether it is the garden, the cuisine, or the service which lifts Cacio e Pepe above and beyond its peers on the NYC restaurant scene. The answer, however, may best be expressed in French: It has that je ne se qua.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Bold and flavorful”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I've been here twice, and this place has become a favorite of ours in the East Village. The restaurant is cozy but not too tight. Service is very good.

The food is excellent. The next sentence may either be praise or criticism depending upon your tastes (I think it's praise!): The entrees explode with taste. I mean, this place will really get your taste buds going. The signature dish, Tonnarelli Cacio e Pepe, is served out of round of cheese and is almost overwhelmingly peppery (but I love it.) The Ricotta Ravioli with Meatballs in a Sunday Sauce is also very tasty. My wife didn't love the Homemade Fettuccine with Pumpkin Puree, which she found too sweet, but again, the dish was full of flavor (just not one that agreed with my wife).

If you love big, bold flavors, Cacio e Pepe may be for you. My wife and I love exploring the menu, and it's a nice place for a date night or to bring out of town guests. Note: It serves only wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank augieray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“East Village Gem”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The warmth of the NYC air certainly added to a wonderful dinner outside in the garden at Cacio e Pepe!

Appetizers Eggplant Parmigiana, Beef Carpaccio, Shrimp with White Beans were all terrific.
We also shared the dish for which the restaurant is named, delivered and served from a wheel of pecorino cheese which has a nice salty balance to the black pepper. Entrees included the fettuccine with pumpkin puree, the open lasagna, stuffed chicken breast with broccoli rabe and the mixed grill of sausage, pork belly and spare ribs. Nothing remained on any plate!

A tiramisu and a panna cotta, and we were on our way to walk off a fabulous meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WalGreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
289 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Uneven and needs waiting area”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We were seated upon arrival on a Saturday evening around 7:30. Service was excellent. We shared the signature pasta, cacio e pepe, as an app. The presentation was fantastic. The pasta was cooked extremely well. Unfortunately, the sauce, while tasty, was oversalted by half. The entrees were moscardini (baby octopus) and the spuntature di maiale. The moscardini was a study in contrasts. The octopus, chard and mozzarella fritters were also oversalted but were served over chickpea polenta that gave a new meaning to bland. As often said on the top chef shows, don't expect to rescue an oversalted/overspiced dish by serving it with something overly bland and vice versa. The spuntature arrived a melange of split sausage, pork ribs off the bone and something that was advertised as pork belly but which lacked any of its juicy wonderfulness, all cooked in a bland red sauce and served over polenta. The dish could have been inspired, but instead was confused and lacking direction. Towards the end of our meal there were a twosome and a party of six waiting for tables. The waiter had the party of six stand adjacent to our table, so close that when one of the women craned her neck to see if any tables were opening up, her scarf actually fell across our table. I don't blame the patrons; there just isn't any place to stand (much less sit) while waiting for a table.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EastVillageDenizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cozy Italian restaurant in the Village”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good Italian. Cozy outdoor seating out back and in front. Their signature dish is cacio e pepe, pasta with black pepper and pecorino. They serve it in a wheel of pecorino. Kind of a gimmick, but fun nonetheless. It's a great little find.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KateZ1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
149 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“You must have the signature dish!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Cacio e Pepe is justly famous for its signature dish: Tonnarelli Cacio e Pepe. The pasta is mixed inside a giant wheel of parmesan and served with fresh ground pepper. Its a sight to behold to watch them mix the pasta and cheese at table and then serve it to you. The rest of the menu is also quite good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cacio e Pepe also viewed

 

Been to Cacio e Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing