We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Amazing!”
Review of Del Posto

Del Posto
Reserve with OpenTable
Del Posto is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #37 of 13,822 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: 10th Avenue and 16th Street
Transit: 14th Street & 8th Avenue.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Simply Amazing!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The attention to detail at this restaurant is completely mind-blowing.
It was so good with amazing service. If you're in New York, eat here!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Horchattah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,344 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    918
    224
    108
    58
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, relaxing Easter lunch”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I took my twenty something, girl in the big city niece to Del Posto for Easter lunch pretty convinced that we would have a great meal. We were not disappointed. They offered their entire dinner menu with some Easter specials in two different prix fixe offerings. We opted for the five course meal which included an antipasto, two pastas, an entree, and dessert. Del Posto is all about wonderful choices cooked to perfection. between us we had the beef cruda, octopus, 100 layer lasagna, veal agnolotti, lobster, spring lamb, chocolate ricotta tortino with olive oil gelato, and butterscotch semifreddo. Every offering was cooked with pride and rivaled anything you'll find in any Italian restaurant in NYC. One the selection of six petite fours arrived, they had to roll us out.

Yes the price is hefty, but for a celebration, to eat at a Michelin restaurant from Mario Batali andJoe and Lydia Bastianich, it was worth every penny.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“One of the best deals in NYC!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

A Michelin rated (one floret) restaurant that has an incredible prix fixe lunch for $39 served in a very comfortable room with impeccable service whose attention to detail is exquisite. The meal itself was outstanding, actually we were really quite full by the time we dusted up our antipasti, but the flavours were so delicious we wiped down every crumb and morsel. For the serious oenophile they have an outstanding wine service that enables one to take advantage of great vintages. We were on our way to midtown shopping and opted for the simpler choices by the glass to compliment our meal.
The only downside in my opinion is the rather dour decor. The room does not have the sense of style of one of my all time NYC favourites Jean George, but nevertheless it is a must for serious eaters. We were so delighted that we are seriously contemplating the venue for an intimate family dinner in the fall to celebrate our wedding anniversary and they have perfectly sized private rooms to suit most events.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WEQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best of Italy in New York!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This restaurant is a foodies heaven! Everything from the moment you walk in, (best gimblet I have ever had), to the never ending procession of mini dessert delights is exquisite.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirley623
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Exceptional Cusine in Chelsea”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Both the food and the service were increadable. The chef Melisa covered the world standards with what was proposed as a tasting menu. In addition the atmosphere is perfect as well, and last but not least at all the usual creschendo noice typical for american restaurants was not there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RossiSofia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Del Posto also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Del Posto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing