We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic musical !”
Review of Rocky Broadway - CLOSED

Rocky Broadway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The iconic underdog story ROCKY has inspired an innovative new stage production, brought to extraordinary life by a five-time Tony Award(R)-winning creative team, including director Alex Timbers (Peter and the Starcatcher), songwriting team Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty (Ragtime), and book writers Thomas Meehan (The Producers) and Sylvester Stallone (Rocky, the Oscar(R)-winning Best Picture).
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
448 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Fantastic musical !”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I was very eskeptical, it was hard to believe they could adapt an iconic popular movie like "Rocky" into a Broadway musical.
Well, we truly enjoyed the experience, the script was funny, clever and touching. The story of the quintessential underdog is told well. The stage, choreography, music numbers and acting perfectly work and the finale is not to be missed.
I took my two teenagers and my wife. We all had a grand time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azulado_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

584 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    116
    27
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great finale! See it before show closes!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We saw the show when several understudies were performing, but I was impressed that they were able to pull off the final fight scene with such panache! The set is very intricate, perhaps in some ways a little too realistic; however, in the final scene, this realism makes for a truly GREAT spectacle! The ring moves out; the audience moves up; the jumbotron comes down.....WOW....and the choreography/blocking of the actual fight involves not just two, but many performers. This finale is just amazing to see. Apparently the cast runs through this difficult choreography before every performance....this hard work and dedication create quite a spectacle!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jhmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey, USA
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“A total knockout !”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Went with my wife and we loved it. The Rocky & Adrienne actors I thought did a nice job. The music rocked and then during the 2nd act for the final match the boxing ring actually gets moved into the 1st 10-15 rows of the seating ( where before this happens these people are moved out of their seats and up onto the stage to take new seats behind the ring as onlookers ... pretty kool ) The final match includes the "slow motion" jabs like in the movie and ends with a knockout ! Overall a nice play and something different with the moving stage.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank BIGMIKE275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“See it before it closes”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

The show has all the parts of the film you love and much more. Just wait for the finale. It must be seen to believe it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank kanend84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Babylon, New York
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rocky !”
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Just like the movie only live ! Apollo Creed is menacing the final fight the ring comes out into the first 15 rows of the theater the people in those rows are brought onto the stage an sit in bleachers outside the ring you feel like you are an actual boxing match !!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank loski1107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Broadway also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing