We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn Midtown West

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quality Inn Midtown West
Ranked #363 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Akron, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

The staff were all friendly and helpful! The bed was comfortable and room was clean. About a 10 min. walk to Penn Station, where you can get the subway or trains. The location was a little out of the way but not too bad. Parking lot was very close to the hotel, which was great. I would go back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    287
    150
    46
    50
See reviews for
134
163
42
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brantford, ON Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

The price, location and staff at this hotel could not have been any better. The breakfast that is included is great and filled us up every day for our long adventures. There is coffee, tea and water available all day which is great to come back to and head up to your hotel room. The rooms are not large by any means but they are doable for NYC and for the amount of time spent in the room it shouldn't matter. Our A/C worked great and we had a huge flatscreeen tv. There was only 4 rooms on our floor we were on the 12th. We had a street view which was nice. Once you are in NYC you will realize shortly why the rooms are so small! From what I have heard from friends all hotel rooms in NYC are smaller than average. Our room was cleaned every day during our stay and we were left lots of extra towels every day if we needed them. The staff are always willing to help! Our flight got cancelled the day we were leaving and they let us stay in our room an hour later and they kept all of our luggage in a locked room that no one else could access. I have already recommended this hotel to other people and would def return here the next time I visit NYC.. It is in between 9th and 10th on 36th street. It is not in the hustle and bustle but it is not far at all. It is nice to leave the chaos and end up in a not so busy area. The reason I rated the pool and the fitness centre poor is because there wasn't one :) Thank you to the the staff at Quality Inn Midtown West YOU ROCK & I can't wait to return!!!!!!

Room Tip: we had 2 double beds for friends travelling together!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jaalltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Jaalltheway,
Id like to thank you for staying with us at The Quality Inn Midtown West. Yes there are many hotels to choose from in NYC but our staff does what we can to give that added touch of hospitality that make our guest feel at home. I am also pleased that you found the room to be to your liking. I am sorry that we don’t have a pool on property but with all the rain we have been getting here in the city I don’t see how you weren’t able to swim around town like the rest of us have been. Again thank you for taking the time for your review we appreciate it. The only reason we Rock is because of guest like you. We hope to see you again soon, and again thank you for choosing us.

Thank You
Asst General Manager
James L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The staff at this hotel really made my stay here so wonderful. They were so helpful, made my check in and checkout easy, and even allowed me to checkout 2 hours late without penalty. The room was super clean, and the bedding was very comfortable. I booked a room where I paid in advance so I got a great deal on this room, and the location was great. Its just blocks from Times Square, subway, bus, and train. There is free breakfast, which was great. The selection was good and there was always complimentary lemonade, coffee and tea in the lobby. If you stay on the upper floors on the street side, the views are very lovely as well. This is the perfect hotel for the casual traveler on a budget. I will definitely stay here again. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Stay on the upper floors facing the street if you want a nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetnovemberbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Sweetnovemberbee,
Thank you for staying with us at The Quality Inn Midtown West. It’s wonderful to hear that our staff made your stay wonderful. We do our best to make every guest that stays with us more than just a guest but almost like a member of the family here. We are always pleased to give a late check out if it’s available and occupancy permitted. The holiday season will soon be upon us and NYC is a great place for shopping and taking in the holiday sights and sounds. We hope to see you again during this time, and again thank you for choosing us.

Thank You
Asst General Manager
James L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

hotel staff was very nice and seemed to be very eager to assist with whatever was needed.
the hotel is going through renovations which no one advised me upon reservation. the room was small but comfortable. cleaning people outside my door(8th floor) were making noise at 7.00 am saturday and sunday morning. breakfast was ok but guests were cramped in a very small area which made it very difficult to sit down and eat,,there was a large water stain on the celing, and sink in bathroom had a long crack in it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank yorkale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Yorkale,
Let me start by saying thank you for staying with us at the Quality Inn Midtown West. I am pleased that our staff was pleasant and helpful. I’m sorry for the renovations we were doing in the lobby. We are making some changes to the front desk to update the look within the lobby. We did our best to make it as least inconvenient to our guest as possible. I am also looking into the housekeeping staff and what time they start cleaning on the floors. Normally on the weekends they don’t start until 9-930 so I will have to investigate who might have been cleaning at that time. As far as the bathroom, my maintenance team is going through each and every room as we speak to find that bathroom to address the stain and to address the sink as well. Please know that we are listening to your review and we are taking care of all the issues you may have experienced during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, and again thank you for choosing us.

Thank You
Asst General Manager
James L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We were looking for a hotel to spend the night while touring Manhattan, we chose this one and were not dissapointed. Excelent customer service, clean and with good location.
The bed was comfortable, everything worked well, the breakfast was nice. The rooms are small for family but good enough for a couple.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yosandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

This hotel is a great selection. It's about four blocks from the subway. The room was small but adequate and very clean. I cannot say enough about the customer service of all of the staff. Every front desk staff member was extremely helpful with our every request. They gave us directions to everywhere we asked. They gave great recommendations for restaurants and other attractions. They even hailed a cab for us. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skyebreaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Skyebreaz,
My Team and I at the Quality Inn Midtown West thank you for staying with us during your most recent stay. I am so happy to hear that our staff made your stay that much more enjoyable. I will share with the teams your response to their everyday attitude they take with each and every guest. Once again I thank you for staying with us and your review. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank You
James L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Endwell, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We recently stayed at this NYC hotel and were very pleased with everything about it. The room that we had was very clean and comfortable. Our king bed was very comfortable, the linens were clean and fresh. Our stay included a nice breakfast with make your own waffles, eggs, sausage. Wifi was included free. I was a bit worried about walking in the neighborhood late at night, but my worries were completely unfounded. The staff were all super friendly and helpful. Our room was very quiet too, I slept very well!
We will certainly book this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Quality Inn Midtown West, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Betsy712,
On behalf of the Quality Inn Midtown West we thank you for staying with us during your most recent stay to NYC. We are pleased you found the hotel to your liking and that our team made your stay pleasant. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Thank You
James L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#352 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 574 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#396 of 467 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Comfort Inn Midtown West
#329 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square West
Comfort Inn Times Square West
#244 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
Midtown
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Square South
Hampton Inn Manhattan/Times Squa...
#234 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,273 reviews
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#432 of 467 in New York City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Midtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Midtown West

Property: Quality Inn Midtown West
Address: 442 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Aves, New York City, NY 10018-6344 (Formerly Comfort Inn Convention Center)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#209 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn Midtown West 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free WiFi and hot breakfast. Located just two blocks from the Jacob K. Javits Convention Center, the Quality Inn Midtown West | Convention Center is an ideal place for both business and leisure travelers. .Additional nearby points of interest include: Grand Central Terminal, also known as Grand Central Station Rockefeller Center Radio City Music Hall entertainment venue Central Park Yankee Stadium, home of the New York Yankees baseball team Visitors will enjoy world-class shopping on New York's famous Fifth Avenue. The John F. Kennedy International Airport and the La Guardia Airport are 15 miles from the hotel. A variety of restaurants, entertainment options and cocktail lounges are located in the surrounding area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Quality Inn Midtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing