We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wee Hotel”
Review of Hudson River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hudson River Hotel
Ranked #375 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Wee Hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

My sister and 3yr old daughter stayed here for 2 nights when taking a city break in New York.

We chose to stay with a chain hotel rather than an independent for assurances of quality and consistent standards. We were not disappointed. The room was compact but well appointed. There was an iron and ironing board, coffee machine and toiletries available for use. The room was immaculate and we were comfy and enjoyed a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was good, a fair selection of cereals, fruit juice, and freshly made waffles, which were very tasty!

The location of the hotel was slightly off the beaten track but still walkable - about 25 mins from Times Square, 10mins from Madison Square Gardens. We really enjoyed walking through area's we may not necessarily have seen.

The only criticism I have is that I felt the hall smelled a bit of damp, though the amount of time we spent in the actual hallway made it insignificant.

Room Tip: We stayed in a '02' room - at the back of the hotel with no rooms adjacent - perfect if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TartanFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hudson River Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear TartanFish,
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Midtown West again on your return trip back to NYC.
Please be assured that your comment an review of the hallways will be addressed.I hope that on your 3rd return trip it will be an after thought. Thank you for thinking of us on your return trip and your comments and reveiw of the Comfort Inn. In apprecation please use or mention LGEMR on your 3rd visit.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    290
    157
    52
    51
See reviews for
142
166
42
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed here four days for our first time to NY. This is NOT close to anything. Times Square is 6 blocks away, and they are NOT Midwest blocks. Think of your local neighborhood block and times it by 2. The hotel is 4 blocks away from the nearest subway station, this is very inconvenient especially if it is raining (taxis do not drive by the hotel very often so if you want a cab you need to walk up 2 blocks to 8th to hail one). DO NOT be fooled by other reviewers, it is in the middle of nowhere, a safe nowhere but nowhere. We walked back from the theater at 12:30 at night and didn't have any issues other than the long walk and slight nervousness that we were two women walking at night, the streets by the hotel were deserted. Also, you must walk down steps to this hotel, there is a freight elevator to take the handicap down into the hotel...it was broken the week we were there (don't get me started about the loud clacking elevator in the hotel).

The breakfast is the same everyday, precooked sausages and eggs, with a waffle maker, bread, and yogurt but at least it is included (try the deli on 9th and 36th for good cheap sandwichs). Our room was small but not overly tiny, the beds were clean as was the bathroom. The state of the carpet and walls though was disgusting, the carpet was ripped in many places and dirty, the walls were literately BLACK with dirt. The TV only got 4 channels and when we called down to the front desk to see if something was wrong we were told that the channels change all the time and 4 channels is normal. But we were only in the room from about 12 am to 8 am. The last day we were there the hotel had no hot water until right when we were checking out at noon. The hotel was nice enough to hold our bags while we walked around on our last day.

Over all the staff was very friendly and helpful, it had a decent breakfast but the condition of the room other than the beds and bath were not up to par. The location was not good but the neighborhood was safe. If I come back to NY I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: I had requested a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor but when we arived they had us on the 14th floor we t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hudson River Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Amanda M,
I like to express to you and your companion during your trip my sincere apology. We are in the process of replacing carpets and renovating our guests to make them more fresh and modern. Our satellite service will soon be replaced with our cable company to provide a much larger selection of channels then the 4 present. At the end we completely missed the mark in your stay, i hope that you will allow me to make up this stay and show you that reveiws and comments from guest such as yourself mean everything to us. Please contact me at midtown.gm@comfortnyc.com.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn Midtown West
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Location was key. Parking was around the corner, was only 25 per day. Continental breakfast had warm and cold food. All around great stay. Staff was uber helpful.

Location couldn't of have been better. Rooms were small but just enough. We were there to sleep not to party in the room.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izabelcka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hudson River Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear kclr16,
Thank you having chosen the Comfort Inn Midtwon West Hotel during your most recent visit to NYC. Your reveiw and comments mean the world us and to express our appreciation for taking the time out. Please use LGEMR during your next return visit. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The reason we booked this hotel was because we didn't want to spend a lot on a very last minute stay. Room was tiny (barely any room to walk), but it's Manhattan, and we understood that. Breakfast was nice. It was in the middle of Manhattan, Times Square about 10 blocks north and SoHo and other fun stuff 10 blocks south. It's just a little far from the metro, but I would recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kclr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hudson River Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear kclr16,
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel during your recent trip to NYC. The hotel is ideally located in commercial/residetial neighborhood, easy access out of the city and
close to Penn Station, Port Authority and many other NYC attractions. Your review adn comments of your stay means alot and reinforces our commitment to complete guest satisfaction. Please use LGEMR on your next return visit to NYC, we hope to see you soon again.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This hotel was similar to we expected for the amount we paid ($228 for two nights before taxes). All around, we were pleased with the hotel staff - they smiled at us and were all very helpful and courteous. The room was extremely small, but this was what we anticipated, given the hotel's location and the price. The breakfast one morning was continental-style, and the next day we noticed the addition of eggs and sausage links as well. Fairly standard budget hotel breakfast. The "cable" in our room was very disappointing. We only got a few channels that worked, even after we did a channel search on our television. Another disappointment was that the second night we were at the hotel, the toilet overflowed after my husband flushed it. The overflow was so bad that it basically flooded the bathroom. A very helpful staff member had to come in to vacuum out the excess water, but even the carpet near the bathroom felt soaked. We requested a different room, and were promptly sent to an identical room two floors up. While this was an inconvenience, we were at least thankful that the staff handling the incident responded to our problem right away, and then moved us to another room upon request. The second room was actually a bit better, since one of the lamps in the first room kept flickering on and off. Also, the first room had an unsightly patch on the ceiling that was discolored and looked like there was some sort of damage (I'm not sure exactly, but it looked really bad). As for the beds at this hotel - the beds were clean, but the pillows were not very firm and my husband had a hard time with that. The comforters on the bed had some pilling, but were otherwise clean and standard for a budget hotel. The location of this hotel was a short walk to Penn Station and all the surrounding attractions. However, it is also very near some trafficky areas that are close to the exits/entrances to the tunnels that lead out of New York, so the area feels less residential and more industrial once you go further west. Overall, we had a nice stay at this hotel and would recommend it for a traveller who wants a place to sleep and shower, and who is looking for an affordable, no-frills stay in New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesshf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hudson River Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Tripadvisor Member,
Thank you for choosing the Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel during your stay in NYC. We are glad that your short Conneticut get away was everything you hoped for. We would to express our appreciation for taking the time out and posting a review of your stay. It means so much to us, a continue process to exceed our guest every needs and expectations. On your next return trip, please use LGEMR, we hope to see you soon again
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2012

much better than i expected. service was great. room was comfortable. free wi-fi. air conditioning. would come again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed for three nights (June 7-10). The location is good (walk to Penn Station, the High Line, restaurants on 9th Ave.). The hotel is modest (tiny lobby, one slow elevator) but I've never encountered such friendly and helpful front desk service (I don't recall the name of the woman who was at the desk most of the time, but she never stopped smiling, always had a greeting for us, immediately helped with the baggage....). There was a good free breakfast (make your own waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, sausage). The room was small but comfortable. Nothing fancy, but for the price, an excellent value for NYC.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nan19711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Hudson River Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Nan19711,
Thank You for chosing the Comfort Inn Midtown West during your recent trip to NYC. We are extremely excited that your stay was memorable. I believe the young womens name you are referring to is LIsa. She is full of energy and always warm and welcoming. We are also excited that you enjoyed our Hot Breakfast, something quick and simple to get your day started. We hope that on your next return visit that you use LGEMR. Thank you for your review and comments.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
36 Hudson Hotel
36 Hudson Hotel
#359 of 467 in New York City
585 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#414 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#334 of 467 in New York City
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
Riff Chelsea
#438 of 467 in New York City
226 reviews
Midtown
Americana Inn
Americana Inn
#371 of 467 in New York City
723 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Stanford
Hotel Stanford
#308 of 467 in New York City
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hudson River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hudson River Hotel

Property: Hudson River Hotel
Address: 442 W 36th St, New York City, NY 10018-6344 (Formerly Quality Inn Midtown West)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#205 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hudson River Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hudson River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Midtown West Hotel New York City
Comfort Inn New York City
New York City Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing