We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable”

Havana Central Times Square
Reserve with OpenTable
Havana Central Times Square is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #354 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $45
Cuisines: Cuban
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between 6th & 7th
Transit: N,R,W trains at 49th St B,D,F,V trains at 47-50th St's N,Q,R,S,W,1,2,3,7 trains at Time Square
Description: Step through our restaurant's doors in Times Square and find yourself transported to the golden era of Havana, Cuba. It's a vacation complete with flavorful specialty drinks, classic Cuban dishes, circa 1950s decor, a festive live band, and a feeling that you're part of our family -- a true celebration of Cuban culture. Whether you're out taking a lunch break, enjoying happy hour after work, or settling down at the end of a long day of sightseeing, we can't wait to welcome you on a fanciful excursion to this fabled island.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Always reliable”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

Whenever I'm looking for a restaurant in the Times Square area, this is my go-to choice. The food is always delicious, and the staff is terrific and helpful. I've been there pre-theater a few times, and the (incredible) food was always delivered with plenty of time so that you don't have to rushed to make curtain time. I strongly recommend this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,330 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    516
    171
    55
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

This restaurant had absolutely hands down the best Cuban food I have ever eaten. It was incredible. Of the dishes we ordered I would recommend the Ropa Vieja.

Our waitress was very friendly and made us feel comfortable and the setting is beautiful.

They also have an area where you can reserve for special occasions which can be closed off from the rest of the restaurant.

Definitely worth stopping by for lunch or dinner if you happen to be in the timesquare area.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chosenfew321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rego Park, New York, United States
Level Contributor
137 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Black Beans from a can....”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I had a Groupon for Havana Central. I had eaten lunch a few times at their other location on 17th street and enjoyed their food. So when we were able to get a groupon for the uptown location we decided to go.

We made a reservation, as suggested, and were shown to a table in the upstairs dining area. This place is a barn, I mean really big. The customers were packed it at the downstairs bar and the noise level was deafening. The upstairs area was slightly quieter.

I ordered the Pernil Asado. The pork was tasty and succulent and was served with rice and black beans. Well their tasty pork was over shadowed by the fact that their black beans tasted like they were from a can, Goya anyone? My wife ordered the Rabo Encendido. The oxtail was also well cooked but it too was served with rice and canned Goya beans. I mean how hard is it to cook black beans? I deducted a star for serving canned beans.

I also noticed just recently that their restaurant on 17th was gone. If they keep serving canned beans they'll find their uptown location closed too. Once was enough.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank B_Skyscraper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Go cuban!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Decided to stop here on a whim when wondering where on earth to eat! I don't regret the decision at all - one of the nicest (and strongest!) sangrias I have ever had, followed by a very tender steak sandwich with amazing sweet potato fries. My friend's shredded pork with rice was also delicious. Slightly on the pricey side ($40 for a pitcher of sangria), but for the location, I think that was to be expected. The buzz in the restaurant was great too, which added to the experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex10121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Riquísimo!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

It was hard to stay seated as the live band played. The atmosphere is friendly and lively. Service was great. The waiting staff was very cooperative working together for the best service. The food was great as were the drinks. Waiting staff checked to see our preferred language as soon as we entered to ensure good communication and service. I highly recommend checking it out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LosLobosLogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Havana Central Times Square also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Havana Central Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing