We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
New York City
Post
Inbox
Search

“NOISY but great food and good service.”
Review of Nobu 57

Nobu 57
Reserve a Table
2
Tue, 10/22
8:00 PM
Ranked #511 of 16,726 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: F to 57th Street Station
Description: The first uptown New York location by legendary chef Nobu Matsuhisa, opened to much anticipation in the summer of 2005. Nobu's co-owners are his longtime partners: renowned restaurateur Drew Nieporent, Oscar-winning actor Robert De Niro, and producer Meir Teper. The restaurant showcases Nobu's signature New Style Japanese cuisine with classic dishes such as Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno and Black Cod Miso, and new creations from the wood burning oven and the hibachi table.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a mixed experience here. I was disappointed to not get seated in the main part of the restaurant, and was relegated to the bar area which was noisy. Service was slow to start and I wasn't greeted once seated for quite some time. Once service began, it was good and friendly throughout my meal. As expected, the food at Nobu was to die for. The sake was good and my drink re-filled throughout my meal.

Overall, one can't go wrong with Nobu.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fzedlach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 1,758 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2019

Always great food and service, never dissapointed. We love coming here when we visit NY. Everyone should experience this restaurant.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank D3524ZGamyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

We try to go to Nobu 57 every time we visit NYC. The attention still is very good, and after many years, the quality of the food is very very good. The prices are high, but the experience worth it.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marielenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2019

From the moment we arrived to the moment we hated to depart, we thoroughly enjoyed our Nobu 57 experience. We arrived right on time for our reservation, and we were whisked to a table immediately. Our server, Giovanna, was very helpful in guiding us in making selections we would enjoy...and she did a fantastic job. We had two teenagers with us, and they are not always easy to please, but she did it! The atmosphere was great...not quiet, but not so loud we couldn't hear each other. And the food...it would be hard to beat the food at any Nobu, in my opinion. We have visited two other Nobu restaurants multiple times, and we were thrilled to find outstanding service and an exceptional culinary experience at Nobu 57 as well. Highly recommend. Make reservations in advance.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
Thank kellymattei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2019

My wife and I love sushi and had an opportunity to go to Nobu 57 during our last NYC visit and it did not dissapoint.

Not knowing exactly was to order from the extensive menu, we both chose the Omakase (chefs choice sampler). At first you may think that $135 per is steep, but for the courses and amount of food, it proved quite well worth it. Each course was fantastic in taste and presentation...and they just kept coming! Just when you thought you couldn't eat any more the whiskey cappuccino showed up. A devine, frothy ice cream with a crumbly center...suddenly you have room. Absolute perfect end to a truly "treat yourself" type dinner. A must experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
1  Thank mike7369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu 57 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nobu 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing