We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi ... Albeit Expensive”
Review of Nobu 57

Nobu 57
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu 57 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #105 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $40 - $80
Cuisines: Japanese, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th and 6th Avenues
Transit: F to 57th Street Station
Description: The first uptown New York location by legendary chef Nobu Matsuhisa, opened to much anticipation in the summer of 2005. Nobu's co-owners are his longtime partners: renowned restaurateur Drew Nieporent, Oscar-winning actor Robert De Niro, and producer Meir Teper. The restaurant showcases Nobu's signature New Style Japanese cuisine with classic dishes such as Yellowtail Sashimi with Jalapeno and Black Cod Miso, and new creations from the wood burning oven and the hibachi table.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great Sushi ... Albeit Expensive”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Went here for a quick business lunch. Nice surroundings and friendly service. Excellent fresh sushi (just back from Tokyo - and was just as good as in Japan). Skillful spicing and garnishing of some of the dishes. Not cheap - but worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skippy-rates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    781
    304
    120
    58
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NW suburb Chicago Illinois
Level Contributor
144 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So GOOOOOD!!!”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Edamame and hot pepper appetizer-great start! Miso Cod-excellent! Tempura-tasty! warm tofu w/scallop-delish! salmon tartare-yummy! crispy rice-first time treat! wagyu beef-slamming! assorted sushi-sublime! sea urchin? UGH!!! I'm thinking THAT'S an acquired taste!!!

Cucumber martini's-so cool and easy!

House made mochi-outstanding finish!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOMOsan_309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Miso Cod was very good!The Soft Shelled Crab was excellent. Our waitress was a good coach while helping us order dishes we liked.We have always been pleased with the Nobu experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rtm4305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Exquisite dining experience”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My wife and I went here to celebrate our 20th anniversary. We started with a seafood ceviche and tuna tataki, both using very fresh ingredients. The ceviche was sour, but not overpoweringly so. Next we shared a 12-piece sushi platter. My wife, who is Japanese and extremely (and I mean exTREMEly) picky about sushi, was impressed to find such quality sushi in a place she thought would be too trendy for good food. I think the cocktail helped...just kidding, Honey (I drank most of the cocktail, which was an interesting mix of tropical lychee flavors and the spiciness of a Mexican serrano chilli pepper). Our next dish was a plate of vegetable tempura. Now I thought it was good, but my wife raved about the dipping sauce, which she said used very good dashi and had exquisite umami. The big surprise of the evening, however, was a dish of fried Brussels sprouts and ikura (salmon roe). I don't know how to do justice to the soft textures and savory flavors. You will just have to go and experience this dish yourself...you won't regret it, I promise. The ambiance was great, too. Very chic, but not ostentatious. Would we go again. Oh, yeah, we would!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank itstuan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
93 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We tried different kinds of appetizers and meals. Food is delicious but compared to other Nobus , taste of the food is a little bit disappointing . Tempuras were soaked with oil except Scallop Tempuras . They were divine. Rock shrimp was so great . Sushis were good but not outstanding , just average.
Anyways overall it is still one of my favorite restaurants in NYC but it went downhill a bit .

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TorontoHolidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nobu 57 also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nobu 57? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing