We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Brunch”
Review of Cookshop

Cookshop
Reserve with OpenTable
Cookshop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #160 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Corner of 10th Ave and 20th Street
Transit: Both the A, C, E, or L at 14th street/8th avenue or the C, & E at 23rd Street. Also the 1 train is located at 18th street and 7th avenue.
Tampa
2 reviews
“Solid Brunch”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Menu a little unusual for breakfast. Service fair. Great bloody mary!! Good atmosphere. Nice that it's close to the high line

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank TPALJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    387
    327
    98
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Busy Yummy Buzzy Spot”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

After our nice, yet bland, breakfast experience at Sarabeth's, we were looking to try something a bit more adventurous and the fabulous Tenth Avenue Cookshop fits the bill perfectly.

Tenth Avenue Cookshop is an exciting restaurant in Chelsea and you'll need to book, this place is jumping - and deservedly so. These guys are mad for sustainable ingredients, humanely raised animals and supporting local farmers and artisans. Their menu is American with a focus on seasonal availability. The staff are top notch, friendly and passionate, and there are loads of them.

We'd booked in advance, and the line was already forming outside as the doors opened for the day. We were shown to our table by cheery staff and were handed tempting menus whilst our coffee orders were taken. The menu is clever, different and imaginative - no boring hotel breakfast staples here.

I had the cornmeal pancakes with fresh raspberries, and also the beignet special to share, both of which were glorious. The boys had other hot dishes that they raved about. To drink I had a yummy coffee and a Ithaca Ginger Beer, whilst the boys had coffee and BLT Marys.

This place has a real buzz to it and everyone seems to be smiling, both staff and diners. We really enjoyed it, and then went for a walk along the Highline in the sunshine to walk some of it off. Tenth Avenue Cookshop? Go there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank livingitlarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Favorite NYC restaurant”
Reviewed October 28, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Favorite gem in Chelsea. Great for groups, cocktails, or date night, although can get a little noisy. Love the seasonable, fresh, and ever-changing menu with local ingredients. Great wine and drink list too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MRG2032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“My favorite Chelsea spot”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I love Cookshop. This is my go-to neighborhood spot for delicious food using well-sourced ingredients - from local scallops in season to incredibly delicious chicken. Their lunch-time hamburger is one of my favorite burgers in the city. Cookshop manages to to be perfect for any occasion and I have been visiting regularly for more than six years.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank roadtryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The food is fresh, the wine list excellent and and service always reliable. It's a great option if you're near the Highline and want to stop by for a great meal.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookshop also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Cookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing