We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great treat to start the day!”
Review of Cookshop

Cookshop
Reserve with OpenTable
Cookshop is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #154 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $41 - $80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Corner of 10th Ave and 20th Street
Transit: Both the A, C, E, or L at 14th street/8th avenue or the C, & E at 23rd Street. Also the 1 train is located at 18th street and 7th avenue.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great treat to start the day!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Brunch out is my favorite meal to eat out and this restaurant is really yummy. It's a happening scene...they honor their reservations! staff was friendly

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank didisacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    390
    333
    98
    20
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I wanted a fun, nice, charming place for our last dinner while in NY, and thats just what we got. The place is filled with beautiful people, so A game required. The service was excellent, the food creative and great. Reservation needed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bealight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
313 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“OK... unusual menu”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Four for dinner before a show at Atlantic Theater Company. Seated on time at 6 p.m. Few in the restaurant. Complete full when we left at 7:40 p.m.

Excellent service. Knowledgeable wait staff. Not intrusive but aware of your needs. Music was loud and intrusive at first but melded into background as it got more crowded.

Wines $10 to $14 a glass. three people had wine. Good selection.

Menu was unusual... pork shoulder, lamb shanks, scallops. Pork shoulder with beans o.k. not great. Scallops (two people had) were good. More beans. Lamb Shank fair.

Spinach salad large. Each couple split. Came in round rather than flat plates. harder to eat. Beets and other things.

Overall none of us would go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Chelsea Brunch”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

This modern american place is the best choice for a nice brunch on a Saturday with your friends. Great food, top quality, regular prices, cool environment & friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michalis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Trendy but for a good reason”
Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

We went to this place for Saturday brunch based upon reviews in New York magazine. Yes it's trendy, and yes there's lots of hype. But, that being said, the food was great, the service was tremendous, and the atmosphere was fun. Despite its being Saturday, and our not having reservations, we were seated within 40 minutes. The waitstaff were very accommodating with my two children, aged five and one. We had a pecan sticky buns for the table to start, which were brioche-based, and beyond yummy. I had huevos rancheros, which were a bit heavy on black beans, but otherwise delicious. My wife had a salmon scramble, my mother-in-law a frittata, and both were very pleased. The kids shared an oatmeal brûlée. We ordered turkey and cheese sausage for the table, and all were to full for anything for dessert. The tab was about $120 for the three adults and two children, which wasn't great, but hey, this is New York. Access to the High Line Park is one block west, so afterwards we went for a very nice family walk. I don't know if it will stand the test of time, but for now this is a very, very pleasant place for brunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeakerSan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cookshop also viewed

New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Cookshop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing