We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The very best view of The Big Apple (especially at night-time)”

Top of the Rock Observation Deck
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York
Ranked #4 of 1,098 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, the newly opened, 3-tiered observation deck on the 67th, 69th and 70th floors of 30 Rockefeller Plaza, is New York City's most amazing attraction! The unforgettable experience includes a panoramic 360-degree, unobstructed view from the 70th floor observatory, 850 feet in the sky! Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - Midnight, last elevator goes up at 11:00 PM.Main entrance is located on 50th Street between 5th & 6th Avenues.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
722 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“The very best view of The Big Apple (especially at night-time)”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were lucky to visit the Rockefeller centre after a meal at grand Central Station. What a perfect combination. I suppose that the view would be good by day also but at night it was spectacular and a must visit for everybody.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61,127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45,332
    12,884
    2,341
    367
    203
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The true view of New York”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Top of the rock is. By far the best place to see New York at it's very finest. The view is second to none and the access is fantastic. To one side, Empire State Building and downtown manhattan. To the other, Central Park and the northern districts. The staff were excellent, the price was decent and I will be back again!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank AJadams666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Pure amazement!!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

During the lead up to our trip, as you can imagine we researched everything! Lots of people told us that they preferred Top of The Rock to the Empire State - they were so telling the truth!! The view from the top of the Rockerfeller Centre was pure magic, it was amazing! There are not words to describe it - we were speechless. We had a new york pass so didnt need to que for tickets (although the que didnt look long), we went up around 8am when it opened. It was crowded at all at this time, we were able to leisurly walk around the observation deck and take in all the views. Some of the pictures we have are absolutly stunning. There was two highlights to the view - being able to see the amazing Central Park and also the Empire State Building. We did say after that we would have liked to go again at night, however; our pass didnt allow us to go more than once and we didnt want to pay anymore. Our only critisms of Tock of the Rock would be the pictures that they take of you whilst you are on your way up - if it was busy I can see this causing more of a que and also the price to get this picture is really not nessessery!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucyandscott25052012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“MUST DO!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Aim for a sunset or sunrise viewing and arrive a little earlier/stay later so you can take pics in daylight as well as sunrise/sunset.

Views are quite amazing. Worth it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank 290annies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views Of New York City!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Top of the Rock is probably the best way to see the fantastic New York skyline. The view is very impressive. Tickets cost around $30 each. We went at 9pm and there was almost no queue. There are automated ticket machines which looked really fast too. It takes about 50-60 seconds to get to the top. There are inside and outside views. Make sure you go to the top floor of the experience, that's where you'll find the best views, with no barriers. There are some discount coupons around, so try and find them before you go.

Please make sure you stop and take a picture of the amazing chandelier in the lobby of the experience as you walk in. You will be stunned. Overall, a great experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank DeepakTailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Rock Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Rock Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing