We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome views!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top of the Rock Observation Deck

Top of the Rock Observation Deck
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York
Ranked #4 of 1,068 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, the newly opened, 3-tiered observation deck on the 67th, 69th and 70th floors of 30 Rockefeller Plaza, is New York City's most amazing attraction! The unforgettable experience includes a panoramic 360-degree, unobstructed view from the 70th floor observatory, 850 feet in the sky! Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - Midnight, last elevator goes up at 11:00 PM.Main entrance is located on 50th Street between 5th & 6th Avenues.
Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Awesome views!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wow, busy! It was a bit of a process to figure out where to get tickets and a bit of a wait to actually go up. Once up, just some wonderful views...we were told to go to the Rock instead of the Empire State Building as from the Rock you can see Central Park very well and then even the Statue of Liberty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank rkcleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58,301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43,301
    12,307
    2,185
    335
    173
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Prefer this to ESB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

I actually prefer Top of the Rock to the Empire State Building. I feel the views are better.

The lines are also shorter and admission prices are cheaper.

They also don't seem to let it get so crowded up at the top, so easier to move around / take photos etc.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sweetpea237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“TOP OF THE ROCK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Highly recommend this - great views of the city - especially at night. Only problem is the line up to wait..

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“The View - The Queue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Great view for overlooking Central Park and the waterways (Hudson, Harlem and East River) - much better view in this direction than from the Empire State. Also good to look towards the Empire State Building and lower Manhattan from here, but if you have already done the view from the Empire State, it feels a bit repetitive. I went in the day and would recommend this mainly so you can appreciate the birds eye view of Central Park

The process to get up and down took a lot longer than the Empire State - there are set times you can go up, so by the time I got a ticket, I then had to wait another 20 mins before I could even go back to try to get an elevator up. When I finally got in an elevator, you only go up to a mezzanine level where you have to wait again to go through a security check, then a walk through a history hall, a photo opportunity finally gets you to the next queue to wait for the elevators to take you up to the viewing levels.

You might get lucky and not have a queue, but I did not think it was a particularly busy day when I went.
I recommend you bring your patience just in case and if you have kids, do this early in the day, not when they are tired

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bel90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
101 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“very popular obresvation point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

if you decide to go to the top of the rock get ready for having to buy tickets in advance and spending some time in line. the lines are very efficient and orderly but they do squeeze you tight in one elevator. the view is breathtaking and you have many observation points, some sheltered and some open to the winds. i saw people outside the empire state building begging tourists to go there so you may want to try that observatory instead if this is too crowded.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mctelaviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Rock Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Rock Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing