We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view!”

Top of the Rock Observation Deck
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
More Info
$99.00*
and up
New York City Night on the Town Tour
Ranked #4 of 1,111 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, the newly opened, 3-tiered observation deck on the 67th, 69th and 70th floors of 30 Rockefeller Plaza, is New York City's most amazing attraction! The unforgettable experience includes a panoramic 360-degree, unobstructed view from the 70th floor observatory, 850 feet in the sky! Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - Midnight, last elevator goes up at 11:00 PM.Main entrance is located on 50th Street between 5th & 6th Avenues.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
881 reviews
547 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
“Great view!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I love going to the Top of the Rock. I reckon it has one of the best views in the city, and it's definitely not as crowded as the Empire State. When people I know are visiting, I always recommend them to do Top of the Rock by day and Empire State by night, because that way you get a great daytime view of Central Park :) It's a great place to watch the sunrise or set as well!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank KiaOraKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62,803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46,559
    13,215
    2,437
    381
    211
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't beat the view”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Visited with a friend from another country and although I have done many other observation tours in other cities and countries, I had never done this one. We visited on a Friday afternoon. I thought it was rather pricey. We bought our ticket and needed to wait 45 mins before we could even get in line to go up. Once in this line we waited more time and then were ushered into a theater and saw three films of 4 mins each. After reaching the top we needed to get in line again to ride the elevators down. Just stating this to figure this time into your total visit time. Lots of people up there and difficult to get a picture at the railing but the views are worth it, especially on a sunny, clear day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Not so cheap, but landscape by night is amazing!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Tickets are no cheap at all, but landscape from 8.00pm is unforgettable! Nice pictures from the deck.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jccipriano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead,Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Top of the world”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is a fantastic venue- further up in the sky than the Empire State Building. You can see all down the Hudson to the Statue of Liberty and beyond . From that height she looks so small but strangely comforting.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, California
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Spectacular Views”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

While the Top of the Rock isn't as high as the Empire State Building's observation deck, the Views are just as good, if not better and it's not as crowded. We were there on a muggy day, so visibility wasn't that great, but still worth it. Great experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donrosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Rock Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Rock Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing