We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the Rock”

Top of the Rock Observation Deck
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York
Ranked #4 of 1,080 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, the newly opened, 3-tiered observation deck on the 67th, 69th and 70th floors of 30 Rockefeller Plaza, is New York City's most amazing attraction! The unforgettable experience includes a panoramic 360-degree, unobstructed view from the 70th floor observatory, 850 feet in the sky! Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - Midnight, last elevator goes up at 11:00 PM.Main entrance is located on 50th Street between 5th & 6th Avenues.
Waxhaw, North Carolina
1 review
“Top of the Rock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Great, great view! I recommend doing this first thing. It is a good way to figure out where things are in the city. The staff we encountered were nice and helpful. Take change quarters for the viewing station.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59,409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44,076
    12,544
    2,251
    349
    189
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
221 reviews
138 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Top of the Rock: Bird's Eye View of Manhattan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are multiple choices of where one could view the fabled city from above. Top of the Rock is the northern most and give the best angles for the Northern Manhattan, while it gives excellent views all around.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zhiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The best view and shortest wait to see the apple from the top down”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Two real advantages to TOR. First, better managed so the waits are shorter and views are spectacular. Second, you are in Rockerfeller Center, a deco masterpiece that has all the charm of the Empire State Building and more to see, the rink and little park, the neatest part of 5th Avenue. A slam dunk choice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jason10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East
Level Contributor
234 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Much better than ESB”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A hundred times better than ESB, organisation is better, view feels more worth the entrance fee (can't really explain why) but having done both this week I would never recommend the ESB over the rock, the whole experience including the shops downstairs before visiting all make the visit a more worthwhile one.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“View by day and night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have been to the Top of the Rock 3 times. Twice during the day and once at night. My kids and I love it and I believe it is even better than the Empire State building. You get close to the edge and the views are amazing. I also enjoy the video before you go up to the top. Very informative. The views at nighttime are just beautiful.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MainevisitorNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Rock Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Rock Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing