We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed view”

Top of the Rock Observation Deck
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Viator Exclusive: Empire State Building Experience - Top Deck Express Pass...
More Info
$99.00*
and up
New York City Night on the Town Tour
Ranked #4 of 1,103 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, the newly opened, 3-tiered observation deck on the 67th, 69th and 70th floors of 30 Rockefeller Plaza, is New York City's most amazing attraction! The unforgettable experience includes a panoramic 360-degree, unobstructed view from the 70th floor observatory, 850 feet in the sky! Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - Midnight, last elevator goes up at 11:00 PM.Main entrance is located on 50th Street between 5th & 6th Avenues.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mixed view”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was a little pricey, but the problem was that there was no way to tell what all the buildings were, but I think they do have some sort of map/key at the Empire State Building. You definitely need to do either one though, and this is as good as any.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62,002 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45,980
    13,054
    2,387
    372
    209
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maitland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Better than the Empire State Building”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We did this on a day after we did the ESB and wow what a delightful surprise. The view here is way better. If you have to choose between the two.....do top of the rock!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank NicH_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, interesting building”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Top of the Rock which offers a fabulous view - we were advised to do this instead of the Empire State Building and were pleased with our choice. Our only frustration was that there was so much historical background to look at as you passed through to get to the observation deck that we didn't get time to read - a separate exhibition that could be visited after the observation deck experience would be good.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinetrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Superb view but chaotic”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The view fron Rockefeller center is amazing, there's no doubt about that. We went there by day and on top of the Empire State Building by night, so that we had the opportunity to savour the skyline by day and by night.
When buying the entrance ticket they give you a time slot in which you can use the elevators to go up. But there isn't really any place where you can wait for the elevator. If you try to wait in the hallway in front of the lift, you are chased away. We felt that to be quite annoying.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank ikkiLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Salt Lake, Utah, United States
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Views”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great views from all directions - lower Manhattan, Central Park. Good place to take photos ops of the skyline. Worth the price of a ticket.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Rock Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Rock Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing