We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great photo ops”

Top of the Rock Observation Deck
Book In Advance
More Info
$34.00*
and up
Top of the Rock Observation Deck, New York
Ranked #4 of 1,078 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Top of the Rock Observation Deck, the newly opened, 3-tiered observation deck on the 67th, 69th and 70th floors of 30 Rockefeller Plaza, is New York City's most amazing attraction! The unforgettable experience includes a panoramic 360-degree, unobstructed view from the 70th floor observatory, 850 feet in the sky! Hours of Operation: 8:00 AM - Midnight, last elevator goes up at 11:00 PM.Main entrance is located on 50th Street between 5th & 6th Avenues.
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“great photo ops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

bring a good camera as you are only there for the view but its a great view. you can see the whole city including central park. cant imagine a better view and we took a lot of pictures of sky scrapers. nice location dont ahve to go out of way to walk there and easy to get in. nice visit. didnt do the tour but might be nice idea.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank bill555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59,289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43,992
    12,516
    2,246
    349
    186
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“most excellent views of NYC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

amazing 360* views of NYC! prepare for many photo ops! there are interesting facts & photos of building Rockefeller Center as you approach the elevators. photos are taken of your group for optional purchase and one is emailed to you included in ticket price.
a tad pricey but it's NYC, right?

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank dreiBaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Hubert, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great View of New York, mostly Central Park & the Empire State Building, but you can see almost everything. With the Viewfinder Card it's easy to spot everything worthy. We visited the Top of the Rock a little bit after lunch and i'm not sure but it might not be as beautiful at night on the Central Park side.
We did buy 2 Premier Pass (32$) to get the Viewfinder Card and the Digital Photo but i realised on top that we could have saved 5$ if we only bought 1 premier pass and a regular one. As a result we would only have had one Viewfinder Card and one digital photo.
+ There was absolutly no line for the elevators
+ The elevator ride is quick and it's nice to see trought the glass ceiling
- There was only one photograph on duty... took us a while to find him.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maxime T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

An amazing place to see all of New York City without hurting your feet from all the walking!! Amazing views and very peaceful up there!!! A must do when you are in New York!!! Shorter lines than at the Empire State Building and you get to see it from the Top of the Roc!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debrrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Loved the view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We debated between this Top of the Rock and Empire State Building. In the end we went for Top of the Rock because I wanted a view of Empire State Building. We went just before sunset so got to see the changing colour of the Empire State Building. It was crowded at that time with people jostling for position but people were good at letting other people in to take shots. The wait to get to the top wasn't long - lines were managed efficiently. If not going at sunset would need less than an hour but I wanted to see the city in the light and in the dark.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Top of the Rock Observation Deck also viewed

 

Been to Top of the Rock Observation Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing