We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neat and clean- fab location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Ranked #359 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“neat and clean- fab location”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

the hotel is located on 5th ave - in the heart of Manhattan's shopping district and is a 2 min walk to Times Square. In terms of lacation fab.
Rooms - very clean and cozy with flat palza tv , coffee maker in all rooms really impressed with the housekeeping standards.Free wifi was fast and easy to connect.
The breakfast is good but everything specially the danish pastries and croissants seem to get over by 9.15 am and never replenished if asked they say come down early and eat when breakfast is on till 10am.
they provide guest with 24hrs tea and coffee in the lobby with is great.
most of the staff was very helpful expect for 1 person named Luis who was handling our bags to be very rude .
overall a great experience.

Room Tip: all rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to put guests first and provide a warm and engaging service to all our guests. We also wanted to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered during your check out with the handling of luggage and know that we have addressed this concern so it is not duplicated with any other guests or you if you return as well. We would very much look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back and deliver another excellent service. Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    542
    213
    71
    60
See reviews for
396
325
75
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

This was a totally unexpected result. A clean room, modern, quiet, fully appointed, in the center of the universe, on Fifth Ave and 45th St., with an excellent full menu breakfast, all for about $200 per night. Hard to imagine in New York. The breakfast buffet, though lacking in ambiance, was quite excellent and featured hot and cold foods in a full array. The room is smallish but virtually all hotel rooms in New York are smallish, all the same it is quite adequate and comfortable. All in all a pleasant experience. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for quiet sleep. Be sure to get to the breakfast buffet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MojaveMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to put guests first and provide a warm and engaging service to all our guests. We would very much look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back and deliver another excellent service. Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I stayed here for.4 days and i chose the hotel for its location. It was a few blocks away from Times square and a it has various subway stations nearby so it was really easy to get anywhere and back. The rooms are a bit small but very comfortables the only thing i would add is a mini fridge and the complementary breakfast is AMAZING.. i thought it was going to be only.coffee and bagels but they had everything. Really kind staff and very helpful.
Definitely would recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria Alejandra Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our location. Our goal is to always put our guest first and always meet their expectations. We would very much look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back and deliver another excellent service. Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

In a great location close to Central Park and Times Square. Staff very helpful, good breakfast, rooms and beds very comfortable. If I was picky only fault was A/C was a bit noisy and lobby where breakfast is served is small but you can always bring it back to your room. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Les D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to put guests first and provide a warm and engaging service to all our guests. We would very much look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back and deliver another excellent service. Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosevelt, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Typical NYC room. All space is utlized to the maximum. We had king non-smoking room on 20th floor. The floor height minimized the street noise. There was a narrow walkspace between the bed and dresser holding the TV. Only one person can move in the room at anytime.

We had 1/2 a curtain and luckily we are tech savy because the HDMI cable was unattached from TV to the cable box. The bedroom and bathroom was clean. The bathroom had very little storage space for your personal toiletries if there are 2 people.

We did have a desk with a chair.

The free breakfast included a variety from pancakes, pecan rolls, signature cinnamon rolls, yogurt, biscuits, eggs, and bacon.

The staff were friendly upon checkin and checkout.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor to reduce street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your response. We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue District. We highly value and respect each and every one of our guests so we do appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The location can't be beat as you are steps from 5th Avenue and two blocks from Times Square, as well as close to Rockefeller Center. Subway lines are not that far either. The rooms are very very small and I DO NOT recommend a room with 2 double beds for more than two adults. I shared the room with two teens and it was cramped but we made it work. I know NYC rooms are small but this is perhaps one of the smallest. Comparing it to a dorm room is a good analogy. Free breakfast and wifi makes you forget about the small room. Business center in the basement allows you to print for free. We all agreed they maximize their use of space.

Room Tip: Rooms are very very tiny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FruGlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for this wonderful response and feedback! We know you have many choices when staying in New York City so we thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue. I will absolutely share your awesome comments with our team members. Please let me know the next time you are planning a visit to NYC so that I can ensure another perfect stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed here 7 nights at the end of May. When we first walked in, I have to say it felt a little sketchy...definitely not what you would consider a New York City hotel. But because we were staying so long, the rate ($180/nt) couldn't be beat. It was steps away from Times Square and 5th Ave shopping. After I got over the size of the room (it felt like a European hotel room), I have to say it was pretty comfortable. The customer service is great, the staff is VERY friendly and helpful and we always got a good night's rest. There were four of us in the room (2 adults and two kids) so it was pretty cramped, but we spent so little time in the room that it didn't matter. We only took advantage of the breakfast for the cinnamon rolls and cereal, but others seemed to enjoy the eggs and pancakes...the donuts disappear in minutes so come down early =). If we wanted something more to eat, we would get a sandwich at the deli across the street. There is also a Duane Reade on 5th for all your bottled water and snacks. If my husband and I were to return, we would probably stay here again, but with the kids, I might choose a larger hotel room.

Room Tip: Our room faced 45th ave on the 16th floor and with the AC on, we never heard any street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ambogoger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I'm really glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always strive to put guests first and provide a warm and engaging service to all our guests. We would very much look forward to a future opportunity to welcome you back and deliver another excellent service. Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 466 in New York City
2,122 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#179 of 466 in New York City
1,147 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#79 of 466 in New York City
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#254 of 466 in New York City
1,219 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#264 of 466 in New York City
2,004 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#188 of 466 in New York City
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York

Property: Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Address: 15 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express New York City)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York Located in the heart of New York City, Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York is perfect for one who wants to experience the best of Manhattan and Times Square. You will be spoilt for choices by the wide range of activities surrounding the hotel, from musicals at the Theatre District to exhibitions at the Modern Museum of Art, shops at the Fashion District to strolls in Central Park or Bryant Park. If business is what brings you to the city, you will find major commercial buildings often just a short stroll away from the hotel. The Grand Central Station and subways are also easily accessible, seamlessly connecting you to the rest of the city. Stay productive in our 24-hour business center which offers wireless internet access and a range of business support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing