We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Ranked #363 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed March 9, 2013

This HIE is conveniently located for walking to the shows on Broadway and the shopping on 5th Ave. You could, compared to nearby Times Square, even call this neighborhood quiet. The king suite was a bit small (for this area what do you expect?), but suited our family well, and the great room was quite busy for breakfast. The staff was fantastic! The reservations manager helped me make changes when my travel needs changed, and the front desk staff was very friendly and professional--even at the busiest times. This was a great family hotel from which to base our activities in Midtown. We'll stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Joseph O,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC! It was a pleasure to view your positive feedback about your experience with us, we hope to have you join us again in the very near future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

451 - 457 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in early 2013 when visiting family who live nearby. Great choice! The rates were extremely reasonable, especially when the breakfast value is factored in. Very convenient to Times Square area, Central Park, Hell's Kitchen, the High Line park, and the subway. Room size was not as small as some other reviews here would leave me to believe - you couldn't play handball in one, but I've sure stayed in smaller rooms, and this one was convenient and comfortable. Also, the concierge, whose services I didn't use, was obviously extremely knowledgeable and helpful based on what I overheard and the feedback of other guests.

I'll stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxBuck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello MaxBuck1,

Thank You for taking time to share your stay experience with us! we have shared your kind words with the staff and look forward to having you join us in the future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Just spent five nights there.
Pros: location, location, location.
Clean and well kept rooms.
Very friendly staff
Relatively quiet
No frills-but effective free breakfast
bathroom in good shape
Cons:rooms are small (midtown fifth avenue , what do you expect?)
Sometimes crowded at breakfast time.
NO PROBLEMS AT ALl WITH THE ELEVATORS - DO NOT KNOW WHY THE BAD REMARKS about this in the past.
Overall: a well functioning machine. Exactly what you need in New York.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Inbar_Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Hello Mr. Inbar_Y,

Thank You choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC. We value you taking the time to tell us about your experience with us, we have passed on your kind words for the staff to view. We hope you join us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel, The first was in June 2008 and was a good experience. This stay was exceptional. We were upgraded to a room on one of the upper floors as Platinum card members at check-in. We had requested an early check-in and the room was ready. When we entered the room it was delightful. The room was good size for New York City. It was immaculate, fresh smelling and as it was a cold February, warm! The heat was perfect during our three night stay.

The continental breakfast was abundant and good each morning. The staff from the front desk to housekeeping and the breakfast room were all kind, helpful and very good at their jobs. This was in contrast with the other people we met outside the hotel , such as several bus drivers, who were brisk and rude. It was always a pleasure to return to hotel and a warm 'hello'.

The location is fantastic. It is close to the corner of 45 and Fifth avenue. It is a few blocks walk to St. Patrick's, the theatre district, Times Square, Rockefeller Center, MOMA and many great restaurants.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to New York City.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank journeymaid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Hello Journeymaid48,

Thank You for taking time to share your feedback in regards to your recent trip to NYC! We're happy to hear that we were able to live up to your expectations. It looks like you got around a great deal during your 3 day stay, we hope you join us again in the very near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Friendly and accommodating front desk staff. We arrived early in NYC and were allowed to check in our bags before the official check in time. Small, clean and cosy room. It is worth the money as this hotel room has services like free wifi and television. Deal includes breakfast. It is also an easy walking distance to 5th Avenue, Times Square, subway options and nearby food shops. It is a convenient place to stay for the night time if you are mostly out and about in the city and just need a place to sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPK-RSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hello LPK-RSA,

Thank You for your positive feedback in regards to your recent to stay with us! We are glad we were able to meet your needs, we hope you join us again in the near future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The three most important things for us in a hotel room are cool, dark and quiet. This Holiday Inn Express on 45th Street, just west of Fifth Avenue provide all three. The in room air conditioning and heating units worked nicely, and we were able to cool things down at night for sleeping and warm things up for during the day. This is not always possible, even at many luxury hotels. The hotel had good light blocking curtains, and a clever plastic "spoiler" to keep the HVAC unit from blowing the curtains about and letting light in. Our room was nice and quiet, facing an air shaft.

The hotel itself is small, with five rooms on each of its 20+ floors, and the lobby and breakfast area are basic, but adequate. As with many hotels in NYC, the rooms are small, but we booked a suite, so we had a comfortable sleeping area and a separate living room with a mini-refrigerator, coffee maker and microwave oven. The Holiday Inn Express chain offers suites at sane prices. The bed, described as king, was wide, but no longer than an ordinary full size bed, so tall people beware.

The staff was friendly and competent. The place was clean and kept in good shape. Equipment was in working order in our room, the lobby and the business center where we printed our boarding passes. Given the tight quarters, our temptation is to say that everything was ship shape.

The location, in midtown, was extremely convenient, so it was a short walk to our Broadway play and an even shorter walk to Rockefeller Center. Subway stops were only a few blocks away. We are big urban walkers, so we like to stay in midtown so we can explore the upper and lower east side, or Central Park, or walk over to the Hudson River or down to the Battery. Despite being in the center of things, the area got pretty quiet at night, but never completely deserted. We've stayed nearby at the St. Regis and at Essex House which cost a lot more and offer more spacious rooms, but we found our suite at the Holiday Inn Express to be just what we wanted, and a good value too.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book one of the suites. The basic rooms are New York City small, so the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaleberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Hello kaleberg,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC. We are glad we were able to meet all of your needs, we take great pride in reading reviews like yours. We look forward to having you join us in the near future.

Thank You!

Front Office Manager
Chavon Staten

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our guaranteed reservation was dishonored. No apology, no regrets, no suggestion the problem was due to unforeseen circumstances; yes, we were expected to honor our side of the guaranteed reservation, yes we were given a “walking letter” and directions to go “down the street.” Down the street we found the satisfactory CassaNY Hotel and Residences. The helpful CassaNY staff explained we owed them no payment as CassaNY and Holiday Inn would settle charges between themselves. How much would we pay that night if we booked direct with CassaNY? $100 less than Holiday Inn was billing us. Did Holiday Inn volunteer to provide us with a $100 credit? No. Now, I’m not a financier, but isn’t this what they call “arbitrage?” “taking advantage of a price difference... the profit being the difference between the market prices.” (Wikipedia). If Holiday Inn can make $100 without providing a hotel room, wouldn’t it want to overbook as much as possible? Perhaps our case was an isolated incident. I would be interested in comments from others. P.S., CassaNY rooms are very small but quite stylish.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
4  Thank KeepOnTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear KeepOnTraveling,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#292 of 469 in New York City
2,184 reviews
Midtown
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hotel
nyma, the New York Manhattan Hot...
#336 of 469 in New York City
2,805 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#260 of 469 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#263 of 469 in New York City
1,249 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#209 of 469 in New York City
1,541 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#196 of 469 in New York City
1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York

Address: 15 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express New York City)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #363 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $120 - $431 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York Located in the heart of New York City, Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York is perfect for one who wants to experience the best of Manhattan and Times Square. You will be spoilt for choices by the wide range of activities surrounding the hotel, from musicals at the Theatre District to exhibitions at the Modern Museum of Art, shops at the Fashion District to strolls in Central Park or Bryant Park. If business is what brings you to the city, you will find major commercial buildings often just a short stroll away from the hotel. The Grand Central Station and subways are also easily accessible, seamlessly connecting you to the rest of the city. Stay productive in our 24-hour business center which offers wireless internet access and a range of business support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Splitty, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing