We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Reservation dishonored without regret” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
Ranked #304 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Maryland USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reservation dishonored without regret”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Our guaranteed reservation was dishonored. No apology, no regrets, no suggestion the problem was due to unforeseen circumstances; yes, we were expected to honor our side of the guaranteed reservation, yes we were given a “walking letter” and directions to go “down the street.” Down the street we found the satisfactory CassaNY Hotel and Residences. The helpful CassaNY staff explained we owed them no payment as CassaNY and Holiday Inn would settle charges between themselves. How much would we pay that night if we booked direct with CassaNY? $100 less than Holiday Inn was billing us. Did Holiday Inn volunteer to provide us with a $100 credit? No. Now, I’m not a financier, but isn’t this what they call “arbitrage?” “taking advantage of a price difference... the profit being the difference between the market prices.” (Wikipedia). If Holiday Inn can make $100 without providing a hotel room, wouldn’t it want to overbook as much as possible? Perhaps our case was an isolated incident. I would be interested in comments from others. P.S., CassaNY rooms are very small but quite stylish.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank KeepOnTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear KeepOnTraveling,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are hospitality professionals who pride ourselves on delivering world class customer service and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    488
    168
    53
    43
See reviews for
319
291
63
117
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location if your a tourist. I am on business and it is ok for me. The hotel is the standard blueprint hotel but if you come at the right time the price is good too. Small rooms but standard for NY. I have stayed here at least 15 times.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jim2968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello jim2968,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your trips to NYC. It is music to our ears to hear that you are a repeat guest, we are glad that we were able to accommodate you.We look forward to your next visit, have a GREAT day!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laval, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel 1 night during last holidays. The hotel is a perfectly located, near times square and affortable. I made a reservation for 2 adults and 1 child, but we've endend on a room with only a king sized bed... and it was a smoking room, I know we should have expect an odour...but this was too much, maybe they should clean the rug and the bed-cover even our clothing smelled after that stay. The rooms are small, but it's New York, so be prepare, they all are. The breakfast is served in the lobby near the door, not the perfect spot ...it's cold during the winter days... not sure will stay there again...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Annie B,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC. Please note we greatly appreciate your feedback in regards to your experience with us, we have taken it into consideration and will use it as a training tool. Thank You again & We hope choose to join us again in the future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The place is not family friendly due to the small rooms. The breakfast is a free for all and in new York that means a lot of rudeness. Little room to eat I had to stand one morning and the family was scattered in seats.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Mr1662,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC! We have since began practicing preventive measures to reduce the breakfast traffic. Thank You for your feedback!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel. I stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 2012 whilst sightseeing NYC.

The location is perfect, right on 5th avenue and less than a 5 min walk to Times Square and Broadway. You can walk to all major sightseeing destinations in mid town. The only time you will need to use public transport is to go downtown (the hotel is walking distance to Grand Central Terminal where you can connect pretty much anywhere in the city)

The staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic given that it is included in the cost. Plenty of choice both hot and cold. The dining area is quite small but we never struggled to get a table.

Rooms are very clean and bigger than I expected and the beds are very comfy. The maids cleaned everyday we were there and left fresh towels etc.

All in all I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel. It was the perfect base for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Kerrylg,

Thank You for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We're so happy you decided to join us, We have shared your staff service feedback with the staff and they're all very thrilled to be acknowledged. We hope you join us again in the future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our 9th time in NYC and this is probably the best located hotel we have stayed at.
A very BIG thanks to Solange (internal reservations) who helpedy us with our booking as we were redeeming PC points and to Maria (front desk) who arranged a late check out.
- Location : very very well located with easy access to everything.
- Rooms : rather small but when in NYC, we hardly spend time in our room anyway.
- Wifi : works very well (login changes every Monday)
- Breakfast : you really need to be there before 7.30 because it does really get crowded later...
- Staff : very helpful
We will certainly stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms : 0 street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello PSAVIO,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC! We're so glad the Solange & Maria were able to assist you, They're both amazing assets to our team. We hope your choose us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is quite good by NYC standards. The rooms, while not spacious, are clean, the beds are comfortable and the noise not too bad. The breakfast in the morning is quite good and includes some sort of eggs, pancakes, cinnamon buns (to die for) and other pastries. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and juices are also included. The hotel lobby is horribly small for the amount of guests so be aware that you may not get a seat for breakfast. They do provide trays to take food back to your room. Several restaurants nearby are good. Antalia for turkish/meditteranean food; a British Pub; and great pizza at Little Italy restaurant. All within the block. You are only a couple of blocks from Times Square here and from Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center. As I said in the title, this is a GREAT LOCATION!

Room Tip: Elevators are quite slow and there are only two, so ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJFergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello CJFergi,

Thank You For choosin the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent stay! We are pleased to read your positive feedback, we are glad you were able to enjoy the restaurants in the local area. We hope you join us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#248 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,822 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#140 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison Square Garden
Holiday Inn Express NYC Madison ...
#240 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Times Square
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#71 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 264 reviews
Midtown
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
Broadway at Times Square Hotel
#187 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,841 reviews
Midtown
The Hotel at Times Square
The Hotel at Times Square
#291 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave
Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing