We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Mansfield(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sofitel New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Iroquois New York(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
City Club Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,289)
Filter reviews
1,289 results
Traveler rating
289
595
243
78
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
289
595
243
78
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe breakfast areathe holiday inn expressrooms are smallrockefeller centerfree breakfasttimes squaregreat locationfifth avenueyogurtnew yorkcentral parktwo blocksking bedempire state buildingbudget hoteltea and coffeeplace to sleep
Filter
Updating list...
504 - 509 of 1,289 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel. I stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 2012 whilst sightseeing NYC.

The location is perfect, right on 5th avenue and less than a 5 min walk to Times Square and Broadway. You can walk to all major sightseeing destinations in mid town. The only time you will need to use public transport is to go downtown (the hotel is walking distance to Grand Central Terminal where you can connect pretty much anywhere in the city)

The staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic given that it is included in the cost. Plenty of choice both hot and cold. The dining area is quite small but we never struggled to get a table.

Rooms are very clean and bigger than I expected and the beds are very comfy. The maids cleaned everyday we were there and left fresh towels etc.

All in all I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel. It was the perfect base for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kerrylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello Kerrylg,

Thank You for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We're so happy you decided to join us, We have shared your staff service feedback with the staff and they're all very thrilled to be acknowledged. We hope you join us again in the future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our 9th time in NYC and this is probably the best located hotel we have stayed at.
A very BIG thanks to Solange (internal reservations) who helpedy us with our booking as we were redeeming PC points and to Maria (front desk) who arranged a late check out.
- Location : very very well located with easy access to everything.
- Rooms : rather small but when in NYC, we hardly spend time in our room anyway.
- Wifi : works very well (login changes every Monday)
- Breakfast : you really need to be there before 7.30 because it does really get crowded later...
- Staff : very helpful
We will certainly stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms : 0 street noise
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Hello PSAVIO,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC! We're so glad the Solange & Maria were able to assist you, They're both amazing assets to our team. We hope your choose us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is quite good by NYC standards. The rooms, while not spacious, are clean, the beds are comfortable and the noise not too bad. The breakfast in the morning is quite good and includes some sort of eggs, pancakes, cinnamon buns (to die for) and other pastries. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and juices are also included. The hotel lobby is horribly small for the amount of guests so be aware that you may not get a seat for breakfast. They do provide trays to take food back to your room. Several restaurants nearby are good. Antalia for turkish/meditteranean food; a British Pub; and great pizza at Little Italy restaurant. All within the block. You are only a couple of blocks from Times Square here and from Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center. As I said in the title, this is a GREAT LOCATION!

Room Tip: Elevators are quite slow and there are only two, so ask for a room on the lower floors.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CJFergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hello CJFergi,

Thank You For choosin the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent stay! We are pleased to read your positive feedback, we are glad you were able to enjoy the restaurants in the local area. We hope you join us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great (amazing!) location. Helpful, courteous, and cooperative staff. Easy access to mass transit, restaurants, shopping. Two snack shops across the street, and one 24-hour take-out place (Smiler's) around corner, offer all the get-and-go food you could need. The rooms are ultra small but comfortable. Bathroom was also small but clean and functional. We've been before and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JEFeinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hello JEFeinstein,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC. It is always a refreshing & motivating feeling to recieve positive feedback from our guest. We truly hope you join us again in the future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family of four stayed one night here during a weekend trip to Radio City. As everyone else has stated, the rooms are small! With a family of four we literally had to move out of each others way to make it around the beds to bathroom. Obviously this wasnt the best situation, but the kids and my wife took in stride. We were there to spend time out in the city, not in the room anyhow.

The room itself was clean,not the quietest, but it really wasnt a problem for one night. We did have the complemtary breakfast which was welcome, but not what I would expect from this hotel either.

One issue did occur. My wife (being pregnant at the time) requested more pillows to better support herself at night. After two calls, no one ever delivered the pillows. We were able to get by, but obviously the staff is not responsive to the customers in this respect.

Check in was pleasant and we were able to check in our baggage early and leave it for pick up after check out to match our travel schedule.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sscott2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2012

Hello Sscott2579,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC. We're sorry we were unable to live up to your expectations for we do strive for excellence, we have taken your feedback into consideration and will be addressing them with the staff.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews