We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms too small.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Ranked #357 of 467 Hotels in New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooms too small.”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The place is not family friendly due to the small rooms. The breakfast is a free for all and in new York that means a lot of rudeness. Little room to eat I had to stand one morning and the family was scattered in seats.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mr1662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Mr1662,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC! We have since began practicing preventive measures to reduce the breakfast traffic. Thank You for your feedback!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    542
    212
    71
    60
See reviews for
396
325
75
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

I don't have a bad word to say about this hotel. I stayed here for 4 nights in Dec 2012 whilst sightseeing NYC.

The location is perfect, right on 5th avenue and less than a 5 min walk to Times Square and Broadway. You can walk to all major sightseeing destinations in mid town. The only time you will need to use public transport is to go downtown (the hotel is walking distance to Grand Central Terminal where you can connect pretty much anywhere in the city)

The staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic given that it is included in the cost. Plenty of choice both hot and cold. The dining area is quite small but we never struggled to get a table.

Rooms are very clean and bigger than I expected and the beds are very comfy. The maids cleaned everyday we were there and left fresh towels etc.

All in all I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel. It was the perfect base for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerrylg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello Kerrylg,

Thank You for taking the time to share your recent experience with us! We're so happy you decided to join us, We have shared your staff service feedback with the staff and they're all very thrilled to be acknowledged. We hope you join us again in the future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our 9th time in NYC and this is probably the best located hotel we have stayed at.
A very BIG thanks to Solange (internal reservations) who helpedy us with our booking as we were redeeming PC points and to Maria (front desk) who arranged a late check out.
- Location : very very well located with easy access to everything.
- Rooms : rather small but when in NYC, we hardly spend time in our room anyway.
- Wifi : works very well (login changes every Monday)
- Breakfast : you really need to be there before 7.30 because it does really get crowded later...
- Staff : very helpful
We will certainly stay here again on our next trip.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms : 0 street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hello PSAVIO,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue during your recent trip to NYC! We're so glad the Solange & Maria were able to assist you, They're both amazing assets to our team. We hope your choose us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is quite good by NYC standards. The rooms, while not spacious, are clean, the beds are comfortable and the noise not too bad. The breakfast in the morning is quite good and includes some sort of eggs, pancakes, cinnamon buns (to die for) and other pastries. Coffee, tea, hot chocolate and juices are also included. The hotel lobby is horribly small for the amount of guests so be aware that you may not get a seat for breakfast. They do provide trays to take food back to your room. Several restaurants nearby are good. Antalia for turkish/meditteranean food; a British Pub; and great pizza at Little Italy restaurant. All within the block. You are only a couple of blocks from Times Square here and from Fifth Avenue and Rockefeller Center. As I said in the title, this is a GREAT LOCATION!

Room Tip: Elevators are quite slow and there are only two, so ask for a room on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJFergi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello CJFergi,

Thank You For choosin the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent stay! We are pleased to read your positive feedback, we are glad you were able to enjoy the restaurants in the local area. We hope you join us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Great (amazing!) location. Helpful, courteous, and cooperative staff. Easy access to mass transit, restaurants, shopping. Two snack shops across the street, and one 24-hour take-out place (Smiler's) around corner, offer all the get-and-go food you could need. The rooms are ultra small but comfortable. Bathroom was also small but clean and functional. We've been before and will definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEFeinstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello JEFeinstein,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC. It is always a refreshing & motivating feeling to recieve positive feedback from our guest. We truly hope you join us again in the future.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem PA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My family of four stayed one night here during a weekend trip to Radio City. As everyone else has stated, the rooms are small! With a family of four we literally had to move out of each others way to make it around the beds to bathroom. Obviously this wasnt the best situation, but the kids and my wife took in stride. We were there to spend time out in the city, not in the room anyhow.

The room itself was clean,not the quietest, but it really wasnt a problem for one night. We did have the complemtary breakfast which was welcome, but not what I would expect from this hotel either.

One issue did occur. My wife (being pregnant at the time) requested more pillows to better support herself at night. After two calls, no one ever delivered the pillows. We were able to get by, but obviously the staff is not responsive to the customers in this respect.

Check in was pleasant and we were able to check in our baggage early and leave it for pick up after check out to match our travel schedule.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sscott2579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello Sscott2579,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip to NYC. We're sorry we were unable to live up to your expectations for we do strive for excellence, we have taken your feedback into consideration and will be addressing them with the staff.

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

My sister, Mom & I stayed in this hotel this past weekend for a weekend trip to NYC. We found this hotel to be in an excellent area. Walking distance to all the major hot spots (Time Square, Radio City etc.). It was a small hotel with small rooms but considering you don't usually spend too much time in your hotel when you're in NYC, it did the job!

We had free breakfast that was pretty good considering most breakfasts only include cereal and pastries. This one included eggs, bacon etc.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone :)!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 21st floor which was pretty nice and quiet because it was far off the street :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, Front Office Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Hello Lauren M,

Thank You for choosing the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue for your recent trip. We're so pleased to hear that you, your mom & Sister enjoyed your stay with us! We truly hope you choose us again in the near future!

Thank You!

Chavon Staten
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#293 of 467 in New York City
2,114 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#182 of 467 in New York City
1,146 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#80 of 467 in New York City
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Econo Lodge Times Square
Econo Lodge Times Square
#254 of 467 in New York City
1,218 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#264 of 467 in New York City
2,003 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#204 of 467 in New York City
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York

Property: Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Address: 15 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express New York City)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #357 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York Located in the heart of New York City, Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York is perfect for one who wants to experience the best of Manhattan and Times Square. You will be spoilt for choices by the wide range of activities surrounding the hotel, from musicals at the Theatre District to exhibitions at the Modern Museum of Art, shops at the Fashion District to strolls in Central Park or Bryant Park. If business is what brings you to the city, you will find major commercial buildings often just a short stroll away from the hotel. The Grand Central Station and subways are also easily accessible, seamlessly connecting you to the rest of the city. Stay productive in our 24-hour business center which offers wireless internet access and a range of business support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing