We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modern, clean, free wifi/breakfast, amazing location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New York City
Ranked #333 of 467 Hotels in New York City
White Plains, MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Modern, clean, free wifi/breakfast, amazing location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn Express properties, mostly because I find the beds/sheets/linens are consistent property to property (comfortable!) and I love the free hot breakfast. I was concerned that in NYC I would run into problems I hear are consistent with many budget friendly hotels (loud street noise, cramped rundown outdated rooms, rude staff, having to pay for everything - breakfast/wifi).

I was so pleased that none of this true at this property!! The staff were nothing but wonderful and accommodating. Our room, albeit small (you will find this in EVERY hotel room in this city, you want a big spacious room, splurge for a $700/night suite somewhere), was spotless, modern, and the beds were comfortable. We had zero street noise, in fact, I could not even hear anyone in any of the neighboring rooms. Wifi is free and high quality (I noted that in a lot of other hotels you must pay for wifi).

Breakfast was hot (eggs, bacon, sausage, biscuits, pancakes, cold/hot cereal, fruit and yogurt), and the staff worked tirelessly to make sure everything was stocked. The breakfast area is tight, but they have done an excellent job arranging the seating, and my husband and I never had to wait to sit down. Yes people are conversing amongst themselves.... you want a quiet private breakfast, either take it to your room (via the convenient and readily available trays) or go buy it yourself in a restaurant. Good luck finding a free breakfast of this quality at this room price somewhere else.

There were some complaints made by other reviewers, but really I feel they are unwarranted and the writers had a ridiculous notion of what to expect from a hotel in NYC. For the price, and being 1 block off of the center of Times Square, and within walking distance of Rockefellar Plaza, The Theatre District, ect..... this cannot be beat!

Room Tip: Try a lamb gyro from the Kwik Cart on the corner of 46th and 5th (silver cart with a simple green si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jyanick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    530
    202
    64
    50
See reviews for
374
318
71
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

I booked my room the day I wanted it and I was able to get a room with no problem. It was a basic room but I was still very pleased. Excellent bathroom facilities and a very comfortable bed. The TV was great too.
The staff were very helpful and informed me of some of the services that they offered that I would find help full.
The location is perfect for someone whos knowledge of the city is limited. It is only two blocks from Times Square.
Next time I visit NYC this is where I will be staying.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayleigh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and found this hotel was all we needed. It is an easy walk to Times Square and the Theater District. The rooms are small, but in good repair, clean and well-planned. The bathroom works well, but has only a shower. We found the beds comfortable, the views are of nearby buildings. The staff was knowledgeable, friendly and very helpful. They check bags on your last day which is a big help. The free breakfast is typical Holiday Inn Express, but makes it easier to get started on a busy day. Two complaints were that the lobby eating area was really too small for the large breakfast crowd and the "Business Center" is only two older computers next to a vending machines in the basement and it is very hot and stuffy in the small space.

Room Tip: If you plan to spend the day in NYC after you check out, you can leave your bags at at the hotel and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Green1Ma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I would have to start by agreeing with most others on this site. Nice little hotel in a GREAT location and somewhat cheaper that other hotels in the area. Yeah, the rooms are small...but clean. I would probably come back here on a personal trip again, but never again for business.
The WiFi in the rooms is free...but spotty at best. They call it a "business center" but really it's a room with 2 outdated PC's and a printer, and workspace/desk in your room is also home to your coffee maker and ice bucket so there is no place to work.
Breakfast is included, and actually decent food...but the since the lobby is about the size of one of the guest rooms, the "cattle call" situation that it creates is actually quite obscene.

In closing, it's really not a bad choice if you are visiting NYC to see the sites and not break the bank. But if you are here on business...there are much better choices in the area for a few bucks more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chuckw47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Dont prepay the room if you want to have surprises when you arrive. They put me in a very small room( we paid for a room for four) and we could not open our lugagge. They didnt even apologize. They said they gave the bigger rooms already and we could leave if we wanted. Very rude staff. I wont ever step in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mbtripreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed last Thursday night at the Holiday Inn Express on 5th Avenue.

When I checked in the desk clerk said, “I’m sorry, but the only room we have is on the 1st floor.” I didn’t think anything of it but it should have been a red flag. I went to the room and it was only a few feet off the lobby and right next to the elevator.

The room had a very musty smell and the carpet was wet in areas. In addition, the staff was using a very, very loud floor cleaner in the lobby only a few feet away. There was no way that anyone could sleep in that room.

When I went to the desk to get help, I was told there were no more rooms available and I would have to stay in that room.

They sent the maintenance person who told me that the manager had had him change the shower curtain that day and the musty smell would eventually go away. He sprayed some stuff around to mask the smell.

The lobby noise continued unabated until nearly 2 am and then picked up again at 6 am as the lobby began to fill with guests.

I got about 3 hours of sleep, had an allergic reaction and bad headache from the mold.

In the morning I asked to speak to the manager who didn’t arrive until nine. The morning desk clerk acknowledged that this room is a continuing source of trouble and promised me a call back.

At 10:30 I called the manager who basically took a tough luck, that’s a room that we rent approach with me and offered me minor compensation. After an unpleasant argument she agreed to comping the night.

The bottom line is that this is NOT a room that this hotel chain should be putting customers in. Never, not at all.

Based on this experience I will not return to the 5th avenue location and I’m going to generally avoid the Holiday Inn Express chain.

If their quality reviews allow such a room to be rented, I don’t feel I can trust you to provide me with a minimally acceptable experience.

I’m a frequent traveller. Holiday Inn Express is now the horror story I’ll be telling my fellow travellers over evening beers.

Room Tip: Avoid lower floors. If they have you on the first floor go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express New York City, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Dear Vinny L,

Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We take comments such as these very serious and would like to follow up with you. We have sent you a private message in effort to obtain more information.

I look forward to hearing back from you very soon.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

I was reluctant to stay in a Holiday Inn in NYC, but it turned out to be clean, comfy, and ideally located. We had room 1605, so were well above any street noise. Cold AC, comfy king bed, roomy shower. Good free breakfast too, and nice desk staff. No problem to leave our baggage there after checkout while we hit a few more sights. Very nice surprise! Would stay there again and would eat next door at the Turkish restaurant AnTalya again too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gentilhomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#166 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,080 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#218 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#203 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New York City

Property: Holiday Inn Express New York City
Address: 15 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #333 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New York City 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. Built in 2005, the hotel features include complimentary American breakfast, free in-room wireless high-speed internet access and free local phone calls.The Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue is a brand new modern, twenty-two story high rise hotel centrally located within close proximity to numerous restaurants, museums, 5th Ave shopping and the following attractions: Times Square, Rockefeller Center, Grand Central Station, Empire State Building, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Bryant Park, Radio City Music Hall, Carnegie Hall, Lincoln Center, Broadway Theatre District and the Jacob Javits Convention Center. We are also a short cab ride away from Madison Square Garden, Macy's, Lord and Taylor, American Girl, the Modern Museum of Art, NYU, FIT, and the Chelsea Piers. Stay with us if you are in town to see the Today Show which is right up the street from us, as is the David Letterman Show and Good Morning America. Visit New York City, and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Fifth Avenue Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing