We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great deal, awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great deal, awesome location”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

I stayed here for 5 nights in February 2011. The location was awesome mainly due to the price and location.

Pros:
1. I got a Friend and Family discount (but the original price was already very appropriate for the location and I would've stayed here either way)

2. Location - Very centrally located in terms of subway stations, right in between Times Square and Grand Central Terminal, very convenient. Close to 5th Ave for buses as well (and a Chipotle couple doors down!)

3. Free Breakfast! I am always impressed with free continental breakfasts that has more than donuts, toast, OJ, and coffee. It was a pretty good variety, there were days with biscuit and gravy, omelettes, sausages. I mean it wasn't an excellent breakfast, but I appreciated starting my day with some food in my tummy!

Overall, I had a great experience, the staff was friendly (not too friendly were it just felt pretentious, but friendly enough that I didn't feel neglected!). They addressed any needs and concerns that we had, informative staff. In terms of the room, yes they are small, but it's NYC! What did you expect?

Only complaint I have is that housekeeping was a bit noisy in the morning, but I think it's because my room was located next to a closet or something. And that's why I sleep with ear plugs, then it's no problem at all!

Room Tip: choose a room higher up or in the back of the building as there are lots of street noises!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrispyRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    539
    207
    66
    51
See reviews for
384
320
73
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Our room was small, and the sink area has no place to put toiletries, but it was clean and the beds were comfortably firm. Service was outstanding. Each request (towels, kleenex, etc.) was responded to with lightening speed. The breakfast was decent and the location couldn't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeHighlandsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

business trip. Not my first choice. However, in December, the hotels are busy. This place is just two block from Times Square and three blocks to the other direction to Grand Central. So the location isn't bad. The room is not the largest. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean.

The breakfast was good...several hot items. The interesting thing (never seen this before), they have this machine that produces pancakes...you push the button, and in a few minutes two perfect pancakes come out.

I am sorry...but I just can't justify $399 for a room. I know if it weren't for business, I wouldn't have paid that much. I questioned if I had gotten the corporate rate...Front desk person said normal rate was $499. ouch.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjrobbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagano Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
225 reviews
173 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2011

You don’t get huge amounts of space here, either in the room or the public spaces. But you get a clean room, that’s comfortable, and everything works. Location is whatever it is for you. NY’s a big city, and the hotel will be convenient or not depending what you need to do. Note that although the Holiday Inn Express sounds like a budget choice, I paid an average of just over US$300 per night.

Check-in (and check-out) was very efficient and quick. The room would have been a good size in Tokyo, but is very small by U.S. standards, especially with a full-size (and comfortable!) bed squeezed in. The view was of a stairwell… but this is New York! The heater/cooler unit is quite noisy, but again, not unusual.

The bathroom is fine, with the right toiletries and enough towels. Note that not all rooms have a bathtub – if that’s important to you, remember to specify that when you book or check in. The in-room internet works well, on multiple devices, although you need to re-login each time you boot up, or walk back in with your smartphone. There’s a tea/coffee maker.

A number of reviews have commented on the breakfast... It’s included but I’d almost have preferred it wasn’t! The breakfast room is tiny and gets crowded to the point of nowhere to sit. The coffee’s good, but most of the spread is very average (reconstituted orange juice, machine-made pancakes, and cooked food with distant relatives in a kitchen in another life). There are plenty of delis and food choices close by which would give you a great start to the day for $10.

Service is about right for a Holiday Inn Express. There aren’t many staff, and those that do try hard to force a smile. Laundry isn’t delivered to the room, and neither are delivery packages. I understand the service model and at a "normal" Holiday Inn Express rate I wouldn't expect much, but at $300 per night it grates.

This is a comfortable, squeeze-em-in, mid-town hotel, offering good basic accommodation at steep old city prices. If you need to be comfortable in New York and need a no-frills bed in a respectable environment, this'll work.

Room Tip: some have bath, some don't; some have a view, most don't... check what you're getting w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMFifthAvenue, General Manager at Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York, responded to this review, December 7, 2011
Thank you for sharing your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Whether positive or negative, comments from our guests are very important to us as they help to improve our service and operations for the future. I certainly understand your frustration about the size and seating capacity of our breakfast area and we hope to renovate our entire lobby early in 2012. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have you as a guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed in this small but comfortable hotel for two days. The room was tiny! It had everything we needed though and was clean, bed was fine. The location was about as good as it gets. Walked everywhere, Rock Center, Central Park, Broadway even a bit further to the Wall Street area. Beware parking is offsite and a little bit of a hassle but if you can come in on the train it's also right there. The staff were also perfect.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssvlaunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Good point is central location, you reach the Rockfeller Center and Times Square within a few minutes walk. Family room definitively too small for 2 adults and 2 teenagers and 4 big suitcases.... but we managed to each have a little space. Breakfast nothing special but at least you do not go out with an empty tummy. As the hall is crowded in the mornings you sometimes have to wait to have a seat ! Overall ok for the price, just be aware of lack of space ! Ok for 3-4 nights, we stayed 8 ! Positive point is good service at the reception, they answer well at all your questions (map of the town etc..)!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaja27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

November weekend getaway for my wife and I. I walked from Penn Central Station, 11 blocks to Hotel. Walked to Grand Central Station to pick my wife up after transfer from LaGuardia. Walked to The Rock, Central Park,MOMA and a block and a half to Times Square. Walked or took subway all weekend, not one taxi! Hotel is in a great location and a great value for Midtown Manhattan. You could pay double for 50-80 more square feet but all we did was sleep and shower there. King bed was better than average and bathroom was great, marble floor.Staff was friendly and excellent on directions and recommendations... Can not wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill-Beany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York City Times Square
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#288 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Times Square South
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan Ti...
#174 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,125 reviews
Midtown
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New York Times Square
Cambria Hotel & Suites - New Yor...
#71 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#221 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn Express New York - Manhattan West Side
Holiday Inn Express New York - M...
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
Midtown
Holiday Inn New York City - Times Square
Holiday Inn New York City - Time...
#200 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York

Property: Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York
Address: 15 W 45th St, New York City, NY 10036-4904 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express New York City)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York Located in the heart of New York City, Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York is perfect for one who wants to experience the best of Manhattan and Times Square. You will be spoilt for choices by the wide range of activities surrounding the hotel, from musicals at the Theatre District to exhibitions at the Modern Museum of Art, shops at the Fashion District to strolls in Central Park or Bryant Park. If business is what brings you to the city, you will find major commercial buildings often just a short stroll away from the hotel. The Grand Central Station and subways are also easily accessible, seamlessly connecting you to the rest of the city. Stay productive in our 24-hour business center which offers wireless internet access and a range of business support services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Central Fifth Avenue New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express New York City Fifth Ave Hotel New York City
Holiday Inn New York City
New York City Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Manhattan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing